Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first fantasy series!!
Ah the belgariad, i first read this many years ago (late 80s i think) and i was hooked. Even now i reread the whole series when i'm waiting for something new to come out. (like the new wheel of time)
Some reviewers say its not as complex or "adult" as the wheel of time and/or anything by Feist, this is quite true, but if it hadnt been for the belgariad i wouldnt have...
Published on 28 Nov 2004

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start to a mediocre series
The beginning of the Belgariad definitely makes for good reading. Most characters have an air of mystery about them that makes you desperately want to discover more. Especially the first instalment, the Pawn of Prophecy, promises a good fantasy epic.

But alas, the series can not make good that early promise. Unoriginal plotlines and predictable character...
Published on 11 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first fantasy series!!, 28 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
Ah the belgariad, i first read this many years ago (late 80s i think) and i was hooked. Even now i reread the whole series when i'm waiting for something new to come out. (like the new wheel of time)
Some reviewers say its not as complex or "adult" as the wheel of time and/or anything by Feist, this is quite true, but if it hadnt been for the belgariad i wouldnt have read the wheel of time or Magician...
This is a must for any Fantasy fan, especially a young fan. I was roughly the same age as garion when i first read it and i travelled with him on his adventures... I like these books so much i recently gave copies to my nephew who is just starting to be into books as an intro to fantasy!!
I highly recommend this to anyone who hasnt read them yet (why not?). Admit it all you fans, you all want a grandfather like belgarath!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am still thankful that this series caught my eye..., 2 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
This volume includes the first three books in David Eddings' well-known "The Belgariad" series. Those books are "Pawn of Prophecy", "Queen of Sorcery" and "Magician's Gambit", and I can sincerely said that they are excellent, so good that I still enjoy them even though I first read the series more than 12 years ago.
"The Belgariad" brings a strange world to the readers, a world where magic is a reality that is accepted, even if it isn't overly common. Eddings somehow managed to bring to life a whole world, with different countries and plenty of political intrigue, as well as deities that take a close interest in mundane affairs.
The main character is Garion, a very level-headed young orphan who will suddenly find himself in the midst of action when a magical stone, the Orb, is stolen. Strangely enough, our very common teenager will involuntarily become involved in a quest to retrieve it, along with his Aunt Pol, a storyteller and some very interesting characters from diverse parts of the world. The fact is, the retrieval of the Orb involves very ancient prophecies that must be fulfilled, and Garion and his companions are part of it all.
Garion will discover that his Aunt Pol is no other than Polgara the sorceress, and that the old man who from time to time drops by and tells him stories is both his grandfather and Belgarath the sorcerer. Garion will be eager to know more, specially what he is supposed to do in the grand scheme of things. Despite that, nobody tells him a thing, the excuse being that he will learn everything when it is time to do so.
All in all, I can tell you that I am still thankful that this series caught my eye many years ago. "The Belgariad" is pretty popular in USA, but that isn't the case in Argentina, and I could have overlooked it. Fortunately that wasn't the case, and due to that I am in the position to highly recommend "The Belgariad" to you, knowing very well what I am saying.
Please take into account that "The Belgariad, Vol. 1" only includes the first three books in the series, so you will do well to buy it at the same time than "The Belgariad, Vol. 2", that compiles the last two books. That is likely to save you time, because as soon as you finish the first volume you will be so full of curiosity regarding the rest of the story that you will probably run to a nearby bookstore to purchase the rest of the series, if you hadn't already done so. That having been said, happy reading :)
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab new world, 26 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
This series of books (along with the mallorean ..and yes there is another 5 in that too!) are wonderfully funny, wonderfully humorous with endearing characters and feel like a family once you've got to know everyone - and as everyone is introduced slowly you suddenly realise you have stumbled (or been recommended!!) upon a rich and vibrant and delightful world. Garion is the lead character, and like other books there is prophecy (which kinda helps everyone work out where they are going) intrigues at palaces, chivalry, knights, a few love interests for most of the main characters - even a dragon! But most of all it's about the will and the word - if you will something (stones livitating, roses out of thin air)and you have the 'knack' you too can save mankind...or in this case, save the entire planet from an interstellar accident that happened a very long time ago.
I loved this series of books and have been rereading them for over 10 years (does that make me sad?). Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unbelievable MUST read for all fantasy fans!!!!, 3 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
The first three books of a magic, exciting adventure which enables you to follow the young boy Garion through lands of new family and friends, enermies, sorcery and fulfilment of the prophecy. Laughter, sorrow, fun and truimph fill every page of Eddings' work. It entraps you in a world from which you will never want to leave! And by having the first three books in one means you won't have for a long time!! Luckily, for Eddings fans there are two further books to conclude The Belgariad and another five books in The Mallorean which continue the adventure! not forgetting the additional biograghies of Belgarath and Polgara. I consider Eddings to be the best means of escape from the real world and a must-read again and again and again.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the belgariad: Volume One, 25 Aug 2003
By 
S. Grist (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
I have tried to get into fantasy before with out much luck. Then i tried David Eddings. AMAZING!! Hi fresh style made me unable to put the book down. His style of writing (or should i say theirs!)is such that i felt part of his world. The book is funny and interesting with lots going on, but not too much as to loose the reader. I have since read all his other books and have never been dissapointed yet! This is a good book for people who are wary of fantasy to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great, 8 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
I was suspicious about the books, but when I read the first one it took me about 3 weeks to finish the Belgarion and Mallorean sagas. All of the characters are well described, the story is humours with a unique humor, and it is simply great in every fiction readers eyes, because it isn't some cheap story, it has a lot of twists and it really can suprise almost every sentence. If you like fiction you have to read these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
I have read and re-read this book so many times, im totally in love with the story and the characters. I believe that it is a must read. It is a book appealing on all levels, from theology to science to love and romance. Very highly recommended. It is comparable to Robert Jordan and his epics, yet it has the advantage of noy dying out as a story, whereas Jordan flounders in the later books, letting down the brillance of the first four books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it as a kid, still enjoy it now!, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
OK, it may not have the literary merit of other series, but the characters are such fun you don't care by the end of the 2nd book! They're a bit overstated and obvious, but they're fun. And they do start to feel like your friends. His writing draws you in, and if you're not careful will take over your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the BEST series of books in the history of fiction, 1 Jun 2004
By 
Lucy Bailey "Terwra" (Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
A real joy to read, cunning plot, teamed with good humour made this series my all time favourite!!! Eddings has exelled himself in this feat of fictional engineering!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Belgariad, What a Read!!!, 21 July 2005
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
I first read the Belgariad series in the early eighties, I read them to my fiancee when we were house sitting for his mother. In a way we kind of grew up with the main character Garion.
Each book put us further onto the edge of our seats!
David (and his wife Leigh) have got to be two of the best fantasy writers that we have today. Not only do you become enthralled with the story, but you cannot help falling for each character on the quest. Like all good reads there are sad, funny, and scary moments, even unlikely love. I cannot recommend this series of books and the second series, The Mallorean, enough. It's perfect for the younger teenager, as it has magic, love, fighting and intrigue, lots to keep them reading. If you want to try to read some fantasy, then look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit
Used & New from: 8.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews