Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted to Laurell!!
You know when you're becoming slowly addicted to an author when you buy their books sooner and sooner. You know what I mean - you find one in a second hand book store and really enjoy it. You buy a couple more in the series in a Buy One, Get One Free Offer; you buy the rests of the series in one go just 'cos it makes sense'; to buying the large paperback and then, oh...
Published on 20 Mar 2004 by Skargasm

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Plot?
I have to say I wasn't as entertained by this volume, as I was by the previous two. There was a distinct lack of plot. It felt more like filler, something to get out of the way so the author could get on with the story, something she's been doing with the Anita Blake series for how many volumes now? (I won't get into how disappointing the big finale at the end of the...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by helloprograms


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted to Laurell!!, 20 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
You know when you're becoming slowly addicted to an author when you buy their books sooner and sooner. You know what I mean - you find one in a second hand book store and really enjoy it. You buy a couple more in the series in a Buy One, Get One Free Offer; you buy the rests of the series in one go just 'cos it makes sense'; to buying the large paperback and then, oh no, you HAVE to buy the Hardback cos you can't wait any longer!!
I am addicted to Laurell.I bought this book because I am also addicted to Merry. And Darkness. And Frost. And Rhys (God, what I would give to meet a real life Rhys!!!) And it didn't disappoint. From the time I opened the first page, I literally fell into the world of the Sidhe - the rest of this world ceased to exist as I devoured the latest tale of Merry Gentry and her path to, well, who knows where?!
It was a stupendous read - lots of sex, lots of magic, amazing energy. it takes you another step further along the road of this magical realm, and leaves you begging for more.
If you haven't read the first two in this series, get them NOW. But I know that I will be buying the next Laurell K Hamilton as soon as it comes out here in the UK, and I congratulate Ms Hamilton on such an intensely pleasureable series.
WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonlight is magical., 31 May 2004
By 
J. Glen "Jeanette Glen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
This is the third book in this series and I am already looking forward to the fourth. The plotting is superb and keeps the reader in page turning mode right up to the last. The only problem that I had with this book is that it left me wanting more and that is not a bad thing.
Even although this is a fantasy world Ms Hamilton makes the reader believe that it is real. Her characters are real people not cardboard cutouts and as a result we care about them and what happens to them.
I thought the Anita Blake series was good but the Meredith Gentry novels outshine them by a mile. Why is this? Perhaps because there is less angst and soul searching in the Gentry novels, whatever the reason, read and enjoy. It will undoubtedly add to your enjoyment/understanding of this character and her world to read the first two novels in the series, not only that but re-reading them is a delight too.
I have read the books four times and they are still fresh and entertaining. If you want an entertaining read that transports you to a different more magical world then I thoroughly recommend these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
I liked this book more than Caress of Twilight. Unlike the first two books, there's no mystery or investigation in this book. The first half of the book is filled with new and regained powerful magic for Merry and her men in Los Angeles. The latter half of the book takes place at the Unseelie court and is full of ten new guards, two new goblins, politics, a duel, assassination attempts, more scary Andais, and a great ending. My favourite part of Laurell K. Hamilton's books is that the heroine, by being an honorable, protecting, courageous person, gets ahead in life. Merry's responsible, humble, sheltering nature turns more and more guards to care for her more than the Queen. I liked the ending in particular because it was very tender and shows Merry's old guards easing the new guards into the very different culture of guarding Merry, which the old guards seem grateful for as a reprieve from the Queen's tender care. The book heavily hints that the next books in the series will cover their visit to the Goblin Court and the Seelie Court, and Merry keeping her bargain with Sholto. I've read it 3 times in 2 days, and now I'm re-reading the entire series again. I can't wait for the next one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT READ, 4 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
When I bought the first book in this series I instantly fell in love with it so I went straight out to buy the next one. I fell in love with that too but the problem was I've had to wait for over 8 months for this book!

Luckily the wait was worth it! This book takes us back instantly into the world of Meredith Gentry without too much of a struggle but you get into the book so well you end up feeling that it ends too soon! Most likely a clever plot by the publishers!

This book brings the mystery, suspence, back-stabbing politics and of course magic from the two previous books and makes a completely new story. We have Meredith once again sleeping with her guards in the hope to get pregnant but with an added twist to it this time! Also we have her returning to the Unseelie court which brings the reader plenty of information on court politics and the Queen herself!

This book in it's summary is a fantastic read with all the intensity from the previous books and with plenty new twists to keep the reader on their toes. Although you could read this book on its own and enjoy it you would probably benefit from buying the 2 previous books for background information and also just to enjoy. All there is left to say is BUY THIS BOOK AS IT'S AN EXCELLENT READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey in to the fantastic Faerie., 23 Mar 2004
By 
claire Julian (Newton Abbot, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
This book transports you back in to the world of Merry, Doyle Frost and Rhys, along with all the other memorable characters.
The story twists and turns and opens your eyes to the unseeilie way of doing things... I cant wait to read the next one!
Doyle the ever imperturbable dakness- my god is he sexy? And Frost the sweetheart- aww so cute makes you just want to cuddle him. A brill book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry is back, 29 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
This was a great read as long as you have read the first two books a kiss of shadows and a caress of twilight. Merry is back with her gorgeous hunks definately unput downable and it left me wanting more. (now please).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fertility, Power & Shrewd Alliances To Restore Faerie Might, 29 April 2005
"Seduced By Moonlight" is the third novel in Laurell Hamilton's Princess Meredith Nic-Essus/Merry Gentry series. If you have not read the other two books, this is not the place to make your acquaintance with Merry and her fey friends for the first time. There is much to fascinate and intrigue between these pages, but not for novices to the High Court of Faerie. I would suggest beginning with "A Kiss Of Shadows."
Princess Meredith is still in Los Angeles with her elite bodyguards, each a potential father to the child she has been challenged to bear, and each a potential King to the Queen she may become. For if Meredith does prove fertile, and bears an heir to the throne, she will indeed inherit the Unseelie Crown, not her cousin Cel, the Queen of Air and Darkness' only child.
This novel is not a stand alone book. I look at Laurell Hamilton's tales of Merry Gentry as effective serial fiction - an epic story which is told over a number of separate installments. All Ms. Hamilton's novels, in both her Anita Blake and Princess Meridith series, are well plotted. Sometimes, however, the reader needs to take a step back and look at the big picture, because issues are not always resolved between the pages of one book. The epic's bottom line is that faerie is dying - Seelies and Unseelies, all. The sidhe rarely have children anymore, which is why Merry must bear a child in order to reign. Their custom is that marriage is not permissible unless the female becomes pregnant. Queen Andais is almost convinced that her son would make a rotten king, which is why she made Meredith co-heir, with the crown going to whoever becomes a parent first. Merry has a 6 month head start because Cel is imprisoned for a variety of heinous crimes he committed. He is fortunate his mother loved him too much to do the just thing and sentence him to death.
"Seduced By Moonlight" deals with the acquisition of power, the consolidation of alliances, Meredith's preparation for two crucial meetings, one with Queen Andais and her court, the other with Taranis, King of Light and Illusion, and his Seelie nobility. The dramatic events which occur at the Unseelie banquet also unfold here, quite vividly. The consequences of these assemblages could be critical to the entire future of the fey. Politics amongst the immortal is extremely tricky. There are numerous factions, various combinations of allies and enemies, supporters and detractors, neutrals, all the above, none of the above, and various permutations of the above - in the Seelie world, and in that of the Unseelies. If Merry comes into power, the good guys win, the fey folk survive and thrive, with their old magic restored. If they lose, I don't want to be around to watch.
Meredith and her Merry men conference via mirror with Kurag, Goblin King. It is important to have his support and that of the slaugh, (nightmarish monsters which all the fey fear), for the upcoming events. They must negotiate all this. As part of the deal struck, the Princess' entourage is richer by two, the twin goblins Ash and Holly, who will be made sidhe. And for every goblin "turned" sidhe, Meredith's alliance with Kurag will accumulate in length of time.
The Princess' powers increase significantly here. Danu, the Goddess whom the Tuatha De Danaan are named after, appears to Merry in a dream, and she is given a sacred chalice. Other ancient and powerful Unseelie relics are also acquired, including the heavy silver octagonal ring, given to her by Queen Andais. These sacred objects have their magic restored, as of old, through Meredith.
The Princess and her guards, (she picks up several new ones at the Queen's behest), attend the feast at the Unseelie court, after an assassination attempt is made on her life. The action-packed narrative chronicling this gala is outstanding. It includes: pageantry and processions, duels - verbal, physical and violent, introduction of new characters, revelation of Unseelie political groups, unveiling of 2 assassins, the first battle in Unseelie court involving the royal succession, etc.. I loved it!
The pace is fast, although it may not carry anyone further than a few days forward in time, the dialogue is superb, often humorous, and hip, per usual. There are flaws, but I was so busy enjoying myself, I didn't bother to count them.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read - Not a stand alone though, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
I found Laurell's work last year with a Kiss of Shadows. I finished that and went straight out and bought Caress of Twilight. Then I found Anita Blake.
I love all of Laurell's books, some more than others, (The Laughing Corpse can be a bit nerve wracking, and I miss the usual characters in Obsidian)but they all stand above a lot of other writers, as books than can be read again and again because of the characters. Seduced is more of the same but with a word of warning - This is not a stand alone book and seems to finish early compared to her others. To enjoy it at its fullest read it in sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost magic regained., 26 May 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After killing the 'Nameless', Merry's Guards suddenly find that they have gotten back the powers they lost when the Seelie and UnSeelie Courts bound the 'Nameless' eons ago. Merry has also come into a new power.

Kitto has become something that he wasn't before and a lot of the Guards have regained their old Godheads.

Andais is still as mad as ever and as sadistic. Her son, Prince Cel is still in Ezekial's Chamber being tortured by Branwyn's Tears.

This wasn't my favourite book but it still deserves 5 stars. Loads of sex as usual which should make you feel like Merry is a right old tart but in the world of the UnSeelie such words do not enter their vocabulary. To have sex is pleasure and also power.

When will Merry become pregnant though and who will the Father be? She doesn't have much time left now before Prince Cel is released and she knows that if he hasn't gone insane because of the torture he will most certainly come straight for her with only one thing on his mind.........to kill her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 30 Jan 2005
This book rates a little better than average in romance and intrigue. It is an entertaining and quick read. It would have gotten a higher rating if it had heated up a little more in the right places. If you like your romance a little spicy, I would recommend instead "Devil to Pay" by Liz Carlyle or "Bedtime Stories for Women" by Nancy Madore - both sizzle with above average romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa33b8444)

This product

Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels)
Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Novels) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - Feb 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews