Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As with everythin Babylon 5-Brilliant
The various triology's have all been of a very high standard. Usually, they hold real importance to the Babylon 5 universe. The technomage trilogy is no different. Based around Galen, the wonderfull technomage seen in Crusade, the trilogy began around 2258 and by this book it's around 2259-60. That gives you an idea on the status of the Shadow war. Reading theses books,...
Published on 11 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Passing of the Technomages...': Babylon 5 great show, mediiocre book....
Sadly I did not get all the way to the end of this one.... I was hoping that it would involve more of the B5 crew, alas, it did not. Also, the writing style was a bit too multi-layered: Too much going on at once kind of thing. It was rather tricky to follow the story through. Oh well... thankfully, there are other B5 books in print.
Published 12 months ago by munchkinsraves


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As with everythin Babylon 5-Brilliant, 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
The various triology's have all been of a very high standard. Usually, they hold real importance to the Babylon 5 universe. The technomage trilogy is no different. Based around Galen, the wonderfull technomage seen in Crusade, the trilogy began around 2258 and by this book it's around 2259-60. That gives you an idea on the status of the Shadow war. Reading theses books, secrets will revealed to you. The origins of the mages being the biggest expose, explained in book 2 and gone into more detail in 3. The books are accessiable to the casual fan. There real quality will be missed though. So surprise, surprise these books are awsome. JMS, Jeanne Cavelos, I salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. A. J. D. White - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is simply stunning... the amount of extra infomation given about the Shadows / Vorlons is amazing. Also the way it seemlessly ties in with the TV show I wouldn't be supprised if it had been written at the same time, rather than years later. It doesn't rewrite what happened, just explain and fill in some of the holes from the TV series.
This book continues Galens stroy in a rivetting way, I found this book hard to put down till I had finished it, and was then forced to rewatch my B5 collection and reread all 3 of the technomage books....
This is the 3rd part of a trilogy so do your self a favour and read all books, they are the best of the B5 novels... and that is saying a lot as both the Psicore and Centauri trilogys are excellent...
Now all I say is GIVE US MORE B5 NOVELS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Babylon 5 and Crusade fans, 9 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a brilliant book! Although it is tied in to the Babylon 5 and Crusade TV series, it is not just for fans, being a fine piece of science fiction writing in it's own right (having said that, you do need to read the two other books in the B5 Technomage trilogy...but that's ok because they're great too! Buy them! Buy them for your friends! Spread the word!). The book finishes off the tale of how the Technomages - a group of 'magicians'- were involved behind the scenes in the Shadow war (it's all explained in the books, so don't worry if I've lost you), focussing mainly on one of their order, Galen (seen in B5:Crusade) and how he deals with the knowledge and power he possesses. This is the conclusion to a truly epic trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final triumphs and tragedies of Galen the Techno Mage!!, 11 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
ON the 1st of March this year (2005) J. Michael Strayzinski announced that plans for a new Babylon 5 movie (cautiously titled 'Memories of Shadows') in the near future were to be scrapped due to production problems. How fantastic would that have been and how disappointed am I? Very and extremely. But who needs a Babylon 5 Movie when you have such a magnificent story, as this trilogy has proven to be, also set in that world and probably just as engaging?
Okay...I DO! And so do you too probably, but still...at least we have something new to sink our teeth into while Sheridan, Delenn, Garabaldi and all the rest get some time off our screens.
"Invoking Darkness", book 3 in The Passing of the Techno-Mages trilogy concludes grippingly and beautifully the story of Galen, who began as an eager and powerful young mage and tells how now he must now deal with the true destructive power he wields. At one point in this novel I did feel like I was simply getting the same ending as the last book, but this impression was quickly blown to pieces as the action took unexpected turn after unexpected turn and continued to surprise until the every end. Not all the loose ends are tied up and this feels justified considering Babylon 5's habit of holding information back and preferable also because there is room for (at the very least) a sequel from the author some time in the future (*fingers crossed).
The next Babylon 5 book I plan to buy is "Long Night of Centauri Prime", which apparently reveals all concerning the events that occurred in the last 20 years of Sheridan's life, including his and Delenn's son David and also the legacy of the Shadows. I can only hope Peter David (an excellent author, by the way!) will equal Jeanne Cavelos in style, content and talent for illuminating the Babylon 5 universe and bringing characters to life on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent character development, 16 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
a thoroughly enjoyable trilogy, although not as unputdownable as the Centuri trilogy.
I enjoyed Galen's struggle with his own violent suicidal nature and it is cleverly matched with events in the series. It confirms that Galen was the most interesting character in Crusade.
My only frustration is when oh when! will someone write the Crusade story so we can all find out what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read!, 12 Dec 2001
By 
L. P. Clark "Leesparky" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
I pre ordered this book on the back of the first two in the trilogy. I was definitely not disappointed!
The way the writer makes you feel you're really there is amazing. If you've ever watched Babylon 5 or Crusade and had wondered what happened in other parts of the galaxy while the series was running, this book explains it all! (Well, in relation to the Techno Mages anyway!) The amount of research put into this book must have been tremendous. The way it connects with all the other things going on in and around Babylon 5 is just fantastic. All the way through the book I was saying to myself, " Ah, so that's why.."
Just buy it and see what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Passing of the Technomages...': Babylon 5 great show, mediiocre book...., 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine)) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sadly I did not get all the way to the end of this one.... I was hoping that it would involve more of the B5 crew, alas, it did not. Also, the writing style was a bit too multi-layered: Too much going on at once kind of thing. It was rather tricky to follow the story through. Oh well... thankfully, there are other B5 books in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Babylon 5": Invoking Darkness Bk. 3: The Passing of the Techno-mages (Babylon 5 (Paperback Ballantine))
Used & New from: £0.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews