Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Entertainment!!
Princess Meredith Nic-Essus is a member of the High Court of Faerie. When she lives in Los Angles, however, as she has for the past three years, Meredith assumes the name and identity of Merry Gentry. Merry works as a P.I. for Jeremy Grey, owner of the Grey Detective Agency, which specializes in "Supernatural Problems, Magical Solutions." She left the faerie world, the...
Published on 19 April 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to Hamilton's normal standard
This had the feeling of a draft or outline rather than a fully fleshed out novel; as such it's less engaging than the first book. Merry is starting to think like the queen she hopes to become, and more is learnt about some of her guards, but the "plot" was almost incidental. This is one of Hamilton's weaker books, but will still be enjoyed by fans. New readers...
Published on 4 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Entertainment!!, 19 April 2005
Princess Meredith Nic-Essus is a member of the High Court of Faerie. When she lives in Los Angles, however, as she has for the past three years, Meredith assumes the name and identity of Merry Gentry. Merry works as a P.I. for Jeremy Grey, owner of the Grey Detective Agency, which specializes in "Supernatural Problems, Magical Solutions." She left the faerie world, the mounds at Cahokia, in Illinois, to go into hiding in California when her cousin Cel, the evil heir to the throne, attempted to have her assassinated once too often.
Meredith's Aunt Andais is Queen of Air and Darkness, and has ruled over the Unseelies, (those not of pure fey blood), for over one thousand years. Those who have pure faerie blood are the Seelies, and her uncle Taranis, King of Light and Illusion, reigns over them. Meredith is mortal, half Seelie Court and half Unseelie, (part of her heritage is Brownie). The Queen sent Doyle, the Captain of her Raven Guard, to the West Coast to bring her niece back to the High Court. Meredith was forced to return because Andais finally realized, what was obvious to many, that her only son and heir did not possess the necessary attributes and character to become King. So the Queen placed Prince Cel and Princess Meredith on equal footing. She stipulated that whoever became a parent first would be her successor. Meredith must bear a child before Cel can father one if she wants to wear the crown. The bit about having a child is paramount, although Andais could have handled the situation more delicately. The sidhe have fertility problems. Thus, childbearing is of the utmost importance if the royal line is to continue.
Meredith is finally allowed to escape the political machinations of court life and return to LA. Accompanying her are some of the Queen's hunkiest Ravens, who are instructed to guard her bodily, and to enjoy it. They are to assist her to become pregnant. Wow!! The lucky father-to-be gets to become King. Excellent motivator! Plus Merry is gorgeous, ruby-red hair, and smart to boot. Oh, a goblin is included in the merry mix of immortal men, due to a pact negotiated with Kurag, Goblin King.
Back in Los Angels, Meredith and her firm are contracted, in utmost secrecy, to assist the glamorous, golden goddess of Hollywood, actress Maeve Reed, who turns out to be a Seelie in exile. Ms. Reed once said "No," to King Taranis - thus the exile. She carries a terrible secret, and the King would kill her immediately if the information became known - which is why she is constantly surrounded by bodyguards. To complicate matters, now that Merry and her men have visited the Reed compound, the King might decide they know too much and order a mass assassination.
Just as things begin to get dangerous, in between bedroom interludes with Merry and the Ravens, "The Nameless" are loosed on humanity. They are the most evil elements of Seelie and Unseelie combined, and much has been sacrificed to keep these beings buried and suppressed forever. So, if anyone says that "A Caress of Twilight" is just about S-E-X, they're only partially correct!
The characters, the settings, the Ravens checking-out 21st century America and LA for the first time, Hamilton's take on Celtic mythology, are just a blast - pure entertainment! Of course, I am a major Laurell Hamilton fan and truly enjoyed her entire Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series. Merry is certainly not Anita, but she is fun. As always, Laurell Hamilton writes dark fantasy like no other. Her descriptions really bring one's imagination to life. I'm hooked and looking forward to reading the next novel in the series.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously decedent!, 17 Mar 2003
This book was a fantastic sequel to the first, which I also enjoyed. This is something great to escape from the mundane run off the mill grind. Meredith is an engaging and vibrant character and has life breathed into her by the show of flaws and temperament. She is not untouchable (despite the magical nature of the story) as she remains a witty, sensual and honest character throughout.
I couldn't comment on the similarity with the Anita Blake series, I haven't yet read them but I now intend to. I guessed I feared they would be a poor Buffy the Vampire Slayer spin off (thanks to my friend I who informed me other wise!)
The sex in the book is delightfully wicked not averse to picking on the more kinky aspects. This was a witty, sensual and at times emotional book. This makes a welcome change to the serious and dramatic books I have read lately. For a day and a half I was lost in this sensual world of magic and sex...and I loved it. I just hope there's more and soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much, much better than Kiss of Shadows, 7 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
If the first book (Kiss of Shadows) put you off this series, rest assured that this one is far better. Hamilton seems far more relaxed around Merry now, and while there is still the sensual element that dominated the first book, here it is toned down, and she concentrates more on developing a plot than describing her heroine's sex life in chapter spanning length. The scene has been set and there is more exploration into the complex world of the Seelie/Unseelie Court, politics and the other Courts of the fey world. Peterson crops up again, and i am sure that he will be another notch on Merry's whittled bedpost before the series is over. The reader learns more of Merry's guards/lovers and the implications there would be for the one who finally fathers a child with her.
The only drawback is that the end of this book feels rushed, especially the scene with the Nameless. Hamilton spent so much time and detail over the scenes with and surrounding Taranis & Niceven, and the last couple of chapters feel a little lacking as a result.
It will be interesting to see what other talents Merry develops in the following books. After a bit of a shaky start, Hamilton is getting down to business now, and if the next four are up to the same standard as Caress of Twilight, this will be an excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delicious dose of magic, violence and sex., 25 Mar 2002
Merry Gentry has returned to our lives in another erotically charged adventure. Surrounded by her cadre of handsome and fierce fey guards and seeking to soldify her power base, Meredith must play High Court politics with the skill of a Queen that she hopes to one day become.
'A Caress of Twilight', like it's predecessor 'A Kiss of Shadows', explores a world where magic exists and faeries work for detective agencies. Laurell K. Hamilton likes to mix sex, violence and magic into a complex, believable and extraodinary world .
This novel continues an engaging story that Hamilton began in 'A Kiss of Shadows'. Hamilton has a knack for making faeries and their magical culture utterly real in a world based on our own. As a dedicated fan of Laurell K. Hamilton I would recommend it heartily to others fans.
However, I do find sometimes that Merry Gentry and Anita Blake (from Hamilton's vampire hunter novels) are very similar and Hamilton is not treading very much new ground in these novels that she has not already covered with Anita Blake.
As a fan of both Anita and Merry I am happy to read more of the same in this captivating universe. For the less die-hard fan the similarities could become tiresome.
That said, this novel is a lovely way to lose yourself to a book over a long weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing compared to Hamilton's normal standard, 4 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
This had the feeling of a draft or outline rather than a fully fleshed out novel; as such it's less engaging than the first book. Merry is starting to think like the queen she hopes to become, and more is learnt about some of her guards, but the "plot" was almost incidental. This is one of Hamilton's weaker books, but will still be enjoyed by fans. New readers start with the early Anita Blake books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel, 4 May 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes of this, because I really enjoyed the first in this series, but found it a let down.
We have the standard LKH plotline of monsters, supernatural crime and erotically charged liaisons, but this one is definitely flatter than usual. I think the author is struggling a bit with a heroine who outranks her companions, yet (at the moment) does not pack as much punch. This was reflected in a recurring theme of people not respecting her authority, something that never happens with ole' Anita. They may fight her, but they never ignore her.
A great deal of the action happened sprawled in her double bed back at her apartment with a harem of males scattered about like cushions. There were long conversations with Sidhe kings and queens, all trying to bully each other, one trip to a Sidhe filmstar's house, a scene in the office, and one crime scene. And that was it.
In fact, there was hardly any action at all (except in the bedroom).
The final action sequence did not have enough build up - the big bad baddy had not previously been seen, although it had been talked about - and the whole section definitely seemed hurried. I got the impression that Ms Hamilton had been late for her publisher's deadline, and just filled the last 5 pages with annotations describing how to resolve loose ends.
So, if you want to find out what happens next in the Merry Gentry story, then read it. But if you want a long satisfying read with a glass of wine, a bar of choccy and a rainy afternoon, then go back and reread the first in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, 12 Jun 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved the Anita Blake series and decided to try out the Merry Gentry one. I'm already salivating for the next book! I really loved the descriptions of the court, The Queen and even her evil cousin Cel.
It's witty, original and one of the best pieces of fiction on fairies I've ever read. The other being Artemis Fowl.
Merry is a princess trying to pass for human until circumstances deliver her back to her Aunt's Court. Their her aunt makes a shocking revelation that leaves Merry reeling and in a desperate race to compete with her cousin Cel to produce a child or die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't get enough of these books.........., 26 May 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so I have already purchased No. 3 and No. 4.

In this book, Merry and her bodyguards are asked by a famous actress to assist her. Maeve Reed is a Seelie noble in exile from both Courts. She knows something about King Taranis of the Seelie Court which if was leaked could cause either a war between the Courts or her death. Taranis is Merry's Uncle.

Whilst Merry is still not pregnant she is still working at her Detective Agency. Suddenly a call comes in that a massacre has taken place and then another and another. Who is killing both humans and sidhe? The answer is the 'Nameless'. A thing made up of all the magic that the Ravens and Old Gods once lost. How on earth do you kill something you can't see? The 'Nameless' is after Maeve and probably sent by King Taranis to ensure her silence. Also how did the'Nameless' break through the wards of Maeve's property? Once it has been killed, odd things start to happen to Merry's Guards..........

It is down to Merry and her Guards to kill this abomination before it kills all of them and goes on to kill indiscriminately.

Merry has also made an alliance with the Goblins for six months in exchange for her blood or her having sex with one of them. The Goblin King, Kurag, sends her Kitto who turns out to be afraid of his own shadow and is terrified of the Unseelie lovers that Merry beds. Merry also makes a deal with Niceven so that she can get the cure for Galen.

I am now reading book 3 and looking forward to it just as much as books 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cold "caress", 7 Mar 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Somewhere during the Anita Blake series, Laurell K. Hamilton decided to change the focus from horror/fantasy to sex, all the time and everyplace. With the newer Merry Gentry series, she cuts right to the chase.
"A Caress of Twilight" doesn't bother to follow up on its predecessor's sex-choked promise -- okay, we've got scheming and magic and urban fairies. But the second book only brings up a few interesting plot points, before tossing them away in favour of Merry's latest quickie.
In the previous book, faerie princess Merry Gentry is given a challenge by her aunt, the Queen: If she doesn't produce a kid before evil cousin Cel does, then Cel gets the throne. Outside the bedroom, however, things are getting messy: A mysterious force has left hundreds in California dead, and Merry has to find out why and who.
Coincidentally, an L.A. actress/fay-in-exile is seeking Merry's help for something that might be dangerous for them both, even as Merry learns that a bizarre, ancient power has been unleashed for murder. And what's more, Merry's very presence is beginning to awaken the godlike powers that the sidhe thought they had lost.
There's no point in beating about the bush -- this isn't a sex fantasy for the readers, but for the author. At least 90% of it is about sex in one way or another, and it's all centered on the beautiful, sexy, superpowerful, divinely-chosen Merry. Yes, it's really that bad.
Hamilton does reveal some interesting facets in this book, with a few new twists on the urban fantasy genre. The idea of the Starving Ones is simply astonishing. But none of those ideas are done justice here, because of the lackluster plotting and terrible writing. She repeats her own phrasing endlessly ("Hey, that sounds cool! I should use it again"), especially in the oddly dull sex scenes. They're explicit, yes, but also clinical and weirdly passionless. And sometimes simply weird.
Another example: her sexy male characters look alike -- flowing rainbow hair, odd colouring, poetry-laden powers. This would be okay, if they had individual personalities. Which they don't -- in fact, as her harem grows, the guys blend together even further. For that matter, they don't really do much except service Merry every so many pages.
Merry, of course, is the worst of all. She's an obvious fantasy alter ego for Hamilton. She's also chosen by the goddess, gauns superpowers casually, has every man panting with lust, and is (as Mary Poppins says) "practically perfect in every way." For a better writer than Hamilton, such a character might be appealing -- but Merry's arrogance is just nauseating.
"Caress of Twilight" is a cold caress. With lackluster writing and a heroine you can't help but loathe, the second book of the Merry Gentry series doesn't bode well for the future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this series., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, as always, am struggling to write this review. I feel that what I say will not do it justice. So I will keep it short and sweet and simply say that; I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Novels)
A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Novels) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews