Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWER OF THE WORD
What a revelation! This book has given me incredible insight and is a joy to read and to study - like magic jumping out of the pages. As a guide for improving one's life, it is unparalleled. A thorough discussion of the background, lore, history and application of sound in healing, together with Vedic cosmology and the views of scientists, as well as pieces on Karma,...
Published on 1 Nov. 2000 by Peter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good CD
This CD is very well placed together..maybe more aimed at the beginner who has no idea about sanskrit chanting etc, was a little too simple for me and I felt the information inside could easily be looked up on the internet for free. But having said that. If you don't want to be bothered with that then I would recommend this CD to learn pronouciation of the chants.
Published 14 months ago by Angel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars book not CD, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
I love this book - it provides a really interesting insight into the power of sound and its significance to different religions and ethnic groups. The mantras are fun & satisfying to learn and come with background information, explaining the meaning and origin of each. He also gives examples of how they have been used by himself or others & the perceived results. Overall it's a very positive pursuit & gives any reader another tool with which to influence their own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to listen to, 11 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the sound of the voice on this mantra CD, which I think really helps when you want to get into a meditative, centered state. It is very rich and pure. The mantras work for me, and the very act of repeating them creates a wonderful sense of 'being in the now'. He breaks down each mantra into 'bite size' pieces which makes it easy for anyone to follow. This mantra CD is ideal for you if you want to learn how to chant, and if you want to achieve specific things with your chanting (like improved health, abundance etc). I have also read the book which is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is very well placed together..maybe more aimed at the beginner who has no idea about sanskrit chanting etc, was a little too simple for me and I felt the information inside could easily be looked up on the internet for free. But having said that. If you don't want to be bothered with that then I would recommend this CD to learn pronouciation of the chants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly recommended, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
I found this book and the cd quite by accident, but what a happy accident that was. As a newcomer to meditation and mantras this book and the accompanying cd were/are absolutely perfect. Easy to follow, immediately accessible IA am absolutely loving both. Hugely recommended to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really first class teaching CD, 30 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this CD on the strength of the 2 glowing reviews and was not disappointed. Ashley-Farrands certainly knows his stuff and is an excellent teacher.

If I have a criticism - and it seems hardly fair - it is that his voice does not have the incisive 'edge' that make mantras chanted by native Indians so hypnotic. You never forget that he is a white American. Of course this is merely a personal preference and should not detract anyone from buying this otherwise excellent CD. I suppose if I were to draw a parallel it would be Lon Milo Duquette's Tarot teaching deck which tells you all you want to know while not necessarily being the deck you would work with day to day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Om, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
H. J. Rowland "Hilary J Rowland" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
This is a terrific book. Full of interesting information, telling me everything I want to know about chanting and choosing the right mantra for the best effect and purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mantras, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I practice yoga and Ujjayi breathing but this is the first time I have worked with Mantras. I'm already recognising the benefits only after practicing for a dew days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Obviously a specialised work, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
This book gives comprehensive details on various healing mantras and is both a good instructional source, and an easy reference manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mantras, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am working with this - I feel there is a lot to learn but having the mantras pronounced is a great help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Sound Healer /Teacher and absolutely LOVE this book and CD. Highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Healing Mantras
Healing Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand (Paperback - 30 Sept. 1999)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews