Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWER OF THE WORD
What a revelation! This book has given me incredible insight and is a joy to read and to study - like magic jumping out of the pages. As a guide for improving one's life, it is unparalleled. A thorough discussion of the background, lore, history and application of sound in healing, together with Vedic cosmology and the views of scientists, as well as pieces on Karma,...
Published on 1 Nov 2000 by Pieter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good CD
This CD is very well placed together..maybe more aimed at the beginner who has no idea about sanskrit chanting etc, was a little too simple for me and I felt the information inside could easily be looked up on the internet for free. But having said that. If you don't want to be bothered with that then I would recommend this CD to learn pronouciation of the chants.
Published 2 months ago by Angel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWER OF THE WORD, 1 Nov 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
What a revelation! This book has given me incredible insight and is a joy to read and to study - like magic jumping out of the pages. As a guide for improving one's life, it is unparalleled. A thorough discussion of the background, lore, history and application of sound in healing, together with Vedic cosmology and the views of scientists, as well as pieces on Karma, Astrology and the Chakras. All the important areas of life are covered and the various relevant mantras provided, with phonetic guide to pronunciation and English translation. Throughout, examples are given of healings achieved and problems solved through the use of specific mantras. The author has an engaging style and it's hard to put the book down. I strongly recommend you get the CD at the same time (available here on amazon) as it helps immensely in "getting into" the mantra habit and with pronunciation. It is also very beautiful to listen to. The book has a glossary of Sanskrit and other terms, an extensive bibliography and an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Healing Quality of Sound, 8 May 2006
By 
Zubin (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
This book does not have the sounds, only the 'words' but if you keep repeat them as a chant you will find that a melody may come to you.

Thomas Ashley Farrand has captured much Hindu wisdom and shared it with us in this book. His book Shakti Mantras - Tapping into the Great Goddess Energy Within can also be full recommended.

I work with spirituality and song and these books form an ocean of wisdom and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORDS OF POWER, 2 Oct 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Healing Mantras is a brilliant CD in all respects! It starts with a beautiful invocation, followed by an explanation of mantra and then into the specific mantras and their application. The book Healing Mantras provides more background but isn't essential for deriving benefit from this CD.

The author explains clearly what the mantra is used for, then leads the listener through the mantra to get the pronunciation right: first by saying it slowly, then by pronouncing it syllable by syllable, then he repeats the mantra for about one minute over the enchanting music.

Of course Sanskrit is a very beautiful language and this, together with the music, ensures an inspiring and uplifting listening experience. One can actually feel energies being activated while you listen. Also, the mantras are easy to memorize and flow naturally from your lips after some practice.

What a wonderful way to improve your life. For more information on the healing power of sound, I recommend Sacred Sounds by Ted Andrews. The two other CDs I have found most helpful in this regard are Holy Harmony and Chakra Chants by Jonathan Goldman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening reading into the World of Mantras, 13 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Excellent book as it is both Clear and Concise and explains all the background of Mantras, where they come from, how they are derived, why they are used and benefits of using them. Thoroughly enjoyable read and also a book which can be used in daily life and not just a once read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I couldn't believe how quickly I picked up these beautiful mantras. The CD went through them in an easy to understand way and the last track on the CD is lovely music to play while saying your chosen mantra. Thomas clearly explains how to apply them to any situation. Anyone can use this book and CD to empower every minute of their life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about mantras, 18 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
This book is a very very very good introduction to mantras and how they are done. There is a mantra for every situation e.g. how to attract the right man or right woman, how to heal emotions such as lust, anger, jealousy etc, healing mantras for the body, chakra mantras, planet mantra and so many others. I have gone back to this book often and I have used some and seen results. Use this book with faith. It is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Jun 2009
By 
L. K. Turner (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As well as providing clear instructions for the use and pronunciation of the healing mantras, Thomas Ashley-Ferrand beautifully outlines the history behind them. In my view, this book is an indispensable guide to working with mantras both for maintaining health and for stimulating the healing mechanisms of the body, mind and spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous mantras for all occasions!, 15 Oct 2009
By 
L. Sherlock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this as soon as I played it. It covers many types of situations and each mantra is carefully enunciated by the author, so you can't get it wrong. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Laura De Giorgio "hypnotherapist" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
I am a fan of Thomas Ashley Farrand's books and he has probably done more than anyone else to spread the information about mantras in this part of the world. This books contains many popular mantras that can help you to overcome obstacles and improve many areas of your life. That being said, as is probably the case with most books, every now and then printing errors occur, and so is the case with this book. When you notice a typo in English, that may not matter much because you can guess the correct meaning of the word - when it comes to mantras, unless you know Sanskrit and how the mantra should sound, you have no way of detecting the error.
In this book, when it comes to mantras for relationships, both in mantra where a woman is chanting for a spiritual partner and in mantra where a man is chanting for a spiritual partner - the mantra calls for a "husband". In Sanskrit "pati" is "husband", and "patni" is "wife".
So the mantra for a woman seeking relationship with a man in this book is
Sat Patim Dehi Parameshwara
and the mantra for a man seeking a relationship - the book says with a woman, but the mantra is really chanting for a relationship with a feminine husband (ok it could work great for gay people)
Narayani Patim Dehi Shrim Klim Parameshwari
To some people it doesn't really matter what they are saying, in which case one would wonder why chant mantras in Sanskrit at all if it doesn't matter what you are saying.
On the other hand perhaps this book inspires you to continue your explorations with mantra and eventually learn Sanskrit and mantras from original sources
I do very much enjoy Thomas Ashley Farrand's writing style and find his books easy to read and informative. but when it comes to mantras, since Sanskrit is energy-based language, it would make more sense that the book teaches the correct pronunciation of sounds and that the mantras are also written in Sanskrit, given the fact that there are sounds in Sanskrit which do not exist in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent informative and Inspiring, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Mantras (Paperback)
Being a Yoga and meditation practitioner and also having worked for most of my career with children with sensory impairments, I know how important the use of repetitive sound is for healing. This book confirms my beliefs and is a very informative and readable account of the use of mantras in different cultures, and throughout periods of history. It is practical in its application, and inspires you to start immediately. It empowers you with knowledge (that is sometimes held in mystique) and the tools to try something unique and individual for yourself.
It can have astonishing results for those who follow its suggestions and is a catalyst for change. Prepare to be amazed if you take it onboard seriously or be mildly fascinated if you just read it intellectually and don't want to apply it personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac639e58)

This product

Healing Mantras
Healing Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand (Paperback - 30 Sep 1999)
8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews