Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, unputdownable read.
This is the first book by the author I've read. I intend to get as many more as possible. It's a thriller, part fantasy, but grounded in the world as we know it. It is extremely well plotted, in fact it has so many sub-plots going on you occassionally have to turn back a page, to make sure you haven't missed something. It also explores sex and sexuality and its...
Published on 21 Oct. 2001 by Ms. P. Hall

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fairy porn
My Nan bought me this book, believing it to be a story about happy, helpful little fairies flitting from flower to flower - oh, how wrong she was! On reading the blurb, I realised her mistake but thought I might as well read it even though it isn't the type of book I would usually go for. And to tell you the truth, it isn't that bad. Yes, the characters are a bit...
Published on 24 Jun. 2006 by Ms. H. Hughes


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth more than 5 stars!, 11 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
this book pulls you into it right from the beggining. Hamilton's way of writting is superb and very realistic. the charcters are brilliantly desribed, and seem to jump off the page. the sex scenes in the book are very detailed and even just mild foreplay is vivadly described. a great read, i recommend it, and its sequel, to u! enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My principal grump is that this was just Anita Blake does fantasy. (Meredith Gentry is an almost identical character to AB.)
Also, since the early Blake novels, Hamilton has taken to over-egging the sexual encounters, which becomes tedious.
In short, could do with more plot, less sex and better characterisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant!! Hamilton has not yet failed!!, 11 April 2002
By 
jupitery2k@hotmail.com (Great Britain(God Bless)) - See all my reviews
I have just finished reading the lastest in the Anita Blake series and read Kiss of Shadows a while ago but i'm still amazed by Hamilton's sucess. Merediths complex world is deep and easily draws the reader in. Not recomended if you have too much to do. I can't wait to read the next of Meredith's adventures and im sure it won't fail to deliver the brilliance of Kiss of Shadows. The magic in this book is wonderful and readers will long to be in the world of the fey. I know I do!! A pure and simple must-read!!:->>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very erotic and story doesn't go anywhere, 7 July 2011
I got this book in a charity shop and decided to give it a go. Unfortunately it lacked any real story, I understand it's a series but as the chapters passed nothing substantial happened apart from Merry describing how attractive she is and how men fancy her.

The fantasy world was okay but I found all the rainbow fey a little silly, as she seemed to be trying to base her world on folklore but this didn't fit in. There are also an awful lot of characters, I forgot who half of the characters at the beginning where when they returned to them. The story drags as you expect more to actually be happening, I agree with a previous review in that there is too much pointless narrative. I went through three or four chapters waiting for her to get to the Queen's court because of small talk and insignificant plot development.

I found the whole book highly unerotic, it was more irritating as Merry has an annoying habit of reminding you about her sexual power and how goddamn attactive she was to every male creature. The few sex scenes were uninspiring.

On the whole a trashy book I read to see if it would improve, and it didn't. I won't be reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cant wait to read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy stuff at its best, 6 Jun. 2003
This book just kept me coming back for more! An amazing first in a series with plenty to offer for everybody - sex, political intrigue and polished fight scenes. Being a huge fan of the Anita Blake series i was unsure of reading about a different character, but i soon changed my mind! Merry Gentry, a fairy princess with attitude, has moves that blow lara croft out of the water!!! An intense romp through the world of the supernatural and a throughly exciting read. A must for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fast flowing read, 15 May 2003
By 
D. J. Parkes "Donnella" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had never read any of her work before, but I got a pleasant surprise. This is a fantastical tale straddling two worlds, ours and the land of Faerie. The lead character Meredith is portrayed as a real person, by the simple expedient of making her mortal - unlike all the other Faerie characters you meet. This is an erotic adventure as well as a fantasy intrigue that although not too mentaly taxing, drags you along for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erotically Enchanting, 19 Jun. 2003
This story gives the name fantasy a new twist. Hamilton mixes modern literacy with that of the old supertition that still lurks in closets today.
Following the dangerous life of Merry Gentry, embarks you on a wave of political and family madness as well as fantasy and mysticals that will have you on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of sex, lots less story. Disappointing., 7 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Novels) (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed all of the Anita Blake books and I was looking forward to this, especially after reading the previous review. However, I wish I had waited for the paperback edition then I wouldn't feel as if I had wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Novels)
A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Novels) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - Oct. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews