Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant bedtime book
This beautifully illustrated story tells the tale of Suzy Sue who goes to bed and finds it full of animals from the farm she lives on all complaining that they don't want to sleep in their own beds because variously "It's too hot, it's too cold, it's too dark, it's too light" so she takes them back to their own beds and tells them how to relax and drift to sleep. The book...
Published 22 months ago by Clare Mccann

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and quirky book with bright illustrations - little content.
A Bed of Your Own is a nice book with large pages and lots of bright illustrations - stacks of pink!. I can't really say much more than that because it's typical of all the other books for children in this age group. What I mean is; it's all about the pictures and not about the story which is basic and really no more than a series of sounds and words rather than...
Published 21 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant bedtime book, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Clare Mccann (Elgin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This beautifully illustrated story tells the tale of Suzy Sue who goes to bed and finds it full of animals from the farm she lives on all complaining that they don't want to sleep in their own beds because variously "It's too hot, it's too cold, it's too dark, it's too light" so she takes them back to their own beds and tells them how to relax and drift to sleep. The book ends by spelling out how everyone (mouse, dog, cat, Suzy Sue!) has their own place to sleep.

It's a really charming story of a good length with a well written and well paced rhyme, and a moral to the story that all parents will be happy to repeatedly share with their children! Definitely recommended and a new favourite in our son's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Illustrated Bed Time Rhyme, 5 Sep 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Funny, easy to read, not too long and nicely illustrated, A Bed of Your Own is a great bedtime book.

My son, aged 2 years and 5 months as I write this, certainly enjoys having it read to him before bedtime and I enjoy reading it. Some of the verse doesn't quite scan, but that's a very minor problem. The concepts and imagery are easy for young children to grasp without being so simplistic that it annoys the adult doing the reading. The ideas of cows in pyjamas and horses with toys are funny whatever age you are. The illustrations, colourful, bold and sometimes surreal (cows in tutus?) also appeal to children and adults alike.

Its also blissfully brief. At the end of a long day with a small, tired child you don't want a book that takes ages to plough through and tests their's and your patience. A Bed Of Your Own is just about the right length.

Finally its the perfect subject matter for a bedtime story, since it deals with the primary subject at hand, and that's always helpful.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Land of Dreams, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely story to read at bedtime with young children. The pages are brightly coloured and as everyone goes to bed it is a nice book which captures the imagination of children. The story has a lovely rhyming text and the illustrations are all bright and cheerful. Something that children look for. This book has led to many discussions of what you might find in your bed or what do you take to bed with you to help you sleep. The children I work with loved this story. I would recommend this story. It would make a lovely present for a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bed of Your Own, 23 Oct 2012
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I absolutely loved this book, it's a bit too old for my son yet but this is definitely going in the keep pile to read to him in a few months time when he's a bit older. There's nothing better than finding a bedtime book which you know your child will enjoy but that you also enjoy reading too. The book is crammed with beautifully bright well drawn, gorgeous illustrations and the subject matter of the book is perfect for bedtime especially if your little one doesn't particularly stay in their own bed. It's written in a rhyming style and I personally really enjoyed it and laughed at a few of the bits of the story such as the pillow part. The story is about Suzy Sue going to bed and finding a goat, a horse, a cow and a sheep in her bed. Suzy Sue has to try and convince the animals to go back to their own bed's. I will definitely be ordering the other books written by Mij Kelly and Mary McQuillan as I can only assume they are as funny and well written as this one. I would definitely recommend this book to other parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bed of Your Own, 22 Oct 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This author has already written two excellent books using the characters of Suzy Sue and her farmyard friends, Have You Seen My Potty? and ATCHOO: The Complete Guide to Good Manners. This third book is about Suzy Sue getting ready to bed - but unable to get to sleep because her animal friends are all in the bed with her. Everybody has a bed of their own and, by the end of the story, everyone will be tucked up tight in the right place. This is a lovely story and ideal for bedtime. The illustrations are vibrant and fun and the story is great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and quirky book with bright illustrations - little content., 19 Oct 2012
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A Bed of Your Own is a nice book with large pages and lots of bright illustrations - stacks of pink!. I can't really say much more than that because it's typical of all the other books for children in this age group. What I mean is; it's all about the pictures and not about the story which is basic and really no more than a series of sounds and words rather than meaningful sentences. My main criticism, apart from it's lack of originality, would be; if you're producing a book featuring illustrations like these, you're expecting a child to hold the book and look at them so; why does it have soft, bendy, chewable covers? They just don't last through the toddler "chewing/mauling" stage and A Bed of Your Own is already creased and torn after only short period of time. This isn't a bad book, far from it, but it's nothing different and won't last unless you keep it away from the children while you're reading the story to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely sleep time book !, 14 Oct 2012
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lovely bright colourful rhyming story just right for bed times , just long enough so it is not tiring to the reader and is very engaging to the littleies ! The text is just right and the story flows well.
It's full of funny animal characters and a great way of encouraging sleeping in the right bed , not in someone else's or downstairs!! Well liked by my niece aged 3 and has become her favourite request at bed time !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic in the making, 15 May 2012
By 
Alison (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Hardcover)
This book, as with the others in the series ("Atchoo!" and "Where's my Potty?") Are some of the most entertaining pre-school reading I have encountered. Up there with the likes of Giles Andreas' ("Giraffes can't dance", and "The Chimps of Happytown"), in terms of humour, quality of writing, warmth and cleverness.

Written, like the others in such a delightful, out-loud readable, poetic form, this story again recounts the tale of Susie Sue, who attempts to go to bed only to find she has a lot of unwanted company in the form of the cow, horse, sheep and goat from previous tales unwilling to tuck down in their own beds.
The story unfolds in the most humorous fashion as each animal appears from under the covers complaining about their inability to sleep due to the thoughtlessness of the others. So Susie Sue leads them back to their own bed, tucks them in and then explains how it is not just going to bed but falling asleep that is the trick, only to fall asleep in their bed as part of her demonstration. The animals return the favour by carrying her back to her own bed, explaining how each creature has their place to sleep.....the final page exclaiming Susie Sue asleep in her own bed........ AS YOU SHOULD BE TOO !

The illustrations are beautiful, humorous and warm and add so much to the story, my two year old can't get enough of this book, well all three of these authors efforts. And I can't get enough of reading them.

These should become children's classics and I can't recommend highly enough.
Not only being great "tools" to deal with toddlers issues (Potty training, manners, bedtimes) they are books that will stay with you through childhood and be long remembered, and I can't think of higher praise than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite bedtime story, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
I bought this to encourage my two year old to start spending more time in his own bed trather than Mummy and Daddy's bed. The book has become a firm favourite at bedtime for my son and it may be a coincidence but he is definitely sleeping better in his own bed. And has actually started to sleep right the way through on some nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bedtime story, 22 Aug 2012
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bed of Your Own (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A Bed Of Your Own by Mij Kelly and Mary McQuillan is a really enjoyable bedtime (or even afternoon naptime) story book. It is about Suzy Sue who cannot get to sleep because her animal friends are hogging her bed. The book makes easy reading and as other reviewers have pointed out, has reall fantastic illustrations for children to look out. My daughter loves this book and 9 times out of 10 falls into a relaxed sleep after (and sometimes during) I have read it to her. And not an animal in sight. I plan to get her the other Suzy Sue books in the series. So all in all 5 stars for this fantastic childrens book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bed of Your Own
A Bed of Your Own by Mary Mcquillan (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews