Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even better than the first two adventures, 18 Jan 2006
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
My whole family are hopelessly in love with Hiccup the Useless and his Dragon Toothless. The Viking nerd is back, trying to learn how to handle a boat in the usual ghastly weather off Berk when they are captured by Romans. Hiccup and his best friend Fishlegs escpae, but poor Toothless is captured, and in order to rescue him the boys have to team up with the daughter of a neighbouring tribe, Kamikazi. The madly funny drawings and great dialogue lie over more thoughtful stuff about what makes a real hero. Absolutely perfect for age 6-13. We can't wait for the audio version, too, read by the new Dr. Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and huge fun!, 25 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is immense fun!

Hiccup reminded me of Artemis Fowl with his plans, his cunning and his fierce intelligence, but he's more positive than Eoin Colfer's flawed (though IMO also very enjoyable!) anithero.

Hiccup, along with his friends, gets into scrapes because he is not that talented at being a Viking - the problems start when he and his friend Fishlegs attempt rather foolhardily to board a peaceable fishermen's boat and pick the wrong vessel, and from then on disasters of hilarious proportions come thick and fast.

The book is full of the kind of jokes young boys find hilarious, but even this (rather older...) lass found much of it funny, sometimes side-splittingly so. Vivid characters and an endlessly inventive storyline had me hooked.

David Tennant must also be highly commended for bringing the characters to life with such immense verve and a highly entertaining range of voices and accents. Favourites of mine (though all of them were brilliant) included Stoick, who sounded something like Sean Connery's elderly granddad, Fishlegs, whose endless incapacity for piracy brought desperation to his every word, and Camikazi, heir to the Bog Burglers, who had me in stitches every time she appeared.

Overall, a wonderful book read with immense talent, enthusiasm and inventiveness by a talented storyteller, this is a must-own. A little too old for my nephew just yet, but it will be no hardship looking after the discs for him until he's old enough to claim them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Sep 2010
By 
A. Edwards "Alix E" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you have reluctant readers in your family - this is the answer!!
these books are great and the kids love them!! especially Toothless the dragon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III, 2 April 2010
By 
F. E. Mcgrother (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a fabulous collection of books....my 6 year old discovered these a month ago and has almost completed the collection. We've now got a collection of CD books to listen to in the car and I frequently burst into fits of laughter. Appeals to children and adults alike. He anxiously awaits any further releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic yarn, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese (Paperback)
loved this booked as does my son who is 6. I often read an extra chapter just to find out how hiccup will escape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 12 July 2010
This gets the ultimate thumbs up, after the childern had listened to this, then my husband borrowed it to listen to in the car! so suitable for all ages :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 26 May 2010
By 
A. D. Bourne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my grandson, as he'd recently seen the film of How To Train Your Dragon, and I hope to buy the complete set for him.He is delighted with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiccup Dragonese, 7 May 2010
By 
A. Merkel (Augsburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's great fun listening to this marvellous story and D.T. telling it. Young and older learners of English find it easy to understand and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Aug 2007
My whole family are hopelessly in love with Hiccup the Useless and his Dragon Toothless. The Viking nerd is back, trying to learn how to handle a boat in the usual ghastly weather off Berk when they are captured by Romans. Hiccup and his best friend Fishlegs escape, but poor Toothless is captured, and in order to rescue him the boys have to team up with the daughter of a neighbouring tribe, Kamikazi. The madly funny drawings and great dialogue lie over more thoughtful stuff about what makes a real hero. Absolutely perfect for age 6-13. We can't wait for the audio version, too, read by the new Dr. Who: David Tennant! He should really bring it to life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Mad, 13 April 2014
By 
H. C. Ainsworth "heezza71" (Swadlincote, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese (Paperback)
My Mum bought the first book for my daughter for her as part of her birthday present. she then kept asking for some more. Thank you for the fast service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabaa5810)

This product

How To Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese
How To Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese by Cressida Cowell (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews