Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another seamless Sayers from Paton Walsh
I have longed for years to know the story of the Attenbury Emeralds (or, as Sayers aficionados will know, possibly diamonds). Jill Paton Walsh's latest offering is therefore one which I warmly welcomed - and with that confidence which very few "continuations" of famous works can inspire; her previous efforts ("Thrones Dominations" and "A Presumption of Death") were all...
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by bookelephant

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good!
It was sheer dogged determinedness and my love of the original Wimsey books which got me to the end of this book. The story itself is incredibly weak and lacks any form of suspense or intrigue; instead it meanders its way (slowly and without real direction) to a conclusion. The characters of Peter, Harriet, Bunter and the Dowager are very forced and insipid copies of the...
Published on 29 May 2012 by kindlegirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 25 Sep 2010
By 
M. R. Wilson (Washington, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Audio CD)
A great read. Like meeting an old friend that you have not seen for some years. Whilst not normally a fan of pre-sequals (which of course this as it turns out is not,) I purchased this with some doubt. Was carried along with the crime plot and the family developments. No details, read it for your self. Can recommend this highly, and only hope Miss Paton Walsh will publish another soon. My heartfelt thanks to her for such a great book, one which I will reread.
Only downside I find the price has been reduced since my purchase.Lord Peter - The Complete Lord Peter Wimsey Stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Wimsey!!!!, 25 Oct 2010
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Audio CD)
Dorothy L.Sayers was a master at her craft so I approached this audiobook with some trepidation.

I need not have worried!!
It is true to the idea of Lord Peter Wimsey. It is an enjoyable listen through recollections of a case that Lord Peter and Bunter had been involved at the start of their careers.

It has all of the usual characters Lord Peter, Bunter and Harriet Vane(now married to Lord Peter) as well as the Dowager Duchess.....

The story is of stolen emeralds and broken promises, wild youth after the Great War and the beginning of Lord Peter's new career as a gentleman detective.
It mentions his struggles after the trenches and fills in some gaps on the Wimsey and Bunter families in later years.

Sayers would have liked it, I think, she was always a little in love with her character of Lord Peter and here you glimpse his later, happier married life.

Edward Petherbridge is excellent as Lord Peter, although the late great Ian Carmichael, will always be my favourite Lord Peter.

So as an avid fan this is fantastic. An excellent listen up there with the wonderful BBC dramatisations.

Buy it, you'll love the listening about the 20's and its cocktail parties, bright young things and crime.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - can't wait for the next, 2 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Paperback)
I simply don't understand the - admitterly few - critical reviews of this book. If you have read and enjoyed the original Wimsey (and Vane) novels you'll certainly enjoy this. The pacing is the same, the characters are - nearly all - the same, the lack of blood and guts is the same, and the updating is well done. Apart from a couple of neologisms (nobody was "into" anything in that way in 1951) it slips down as smoothly as a pint of warm beer on a hot afternoon. But you won't find rotting corpses, bloody violence, gang warfare or the Mafia . . . . . . . thank goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's not Dorothy L. Sayers!, 6 Dec 2010
By 
F. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Audio CD)
Jill Paton Walsh tries hard, but there is no way this could be mistaken for a Dorothy L. sayers novel. Paton Walsh brings too many contemporary modern views to her interpretation of life in the first part of the twentieth century. As a fun murder- mystery read it's okay, but as a continuation of the Peter/Harriet story things do not gel. The strict master/servant relationship between Peter and Bunter becomes unbelievable, with Peter asking Bunter if he is ready, at last, to call him by his Christian name. Even more ridiculous, Peter's son calling Bunter 'Mervyn', to Bunter's discomfort; no child of Harriet and Peter would be so rude!The first time Paton walsh attempted a 'Lord Peter' book it was with the base layout already in place by Sayers; the book worked. Her second offering, written alone, was a good effort, but my personal opinion is that she should now stop, and concentrate on her own writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Paperback)
she conjures up the various attitudes and manners of the changing times excellently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter Wimsey and the rebounding emeralds, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Frosty (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Paperback)
Wasn't sure if I would like this; a novel using another writers well known characters and ideas. However, although the journey through the book is a departure from Sayers formula, her characters are not so far from her original books to cause an irritation. If you like Sayers, try this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What would Dorothy L. Sayers think, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Attenbury Emeralds (Paperback)
An interesting book, the plot didn't go where I expect and I am unconvinced that the timeline follows the original. For reasons I haven't analysed I can't see Dorothy L. Sayers writing it but it was a good read as a piece of fanfic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent very much in the spirit of Dorothy Sayers , develops as a whole from an apparently episodic tale into a theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter Wimsey, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
**** nearly as good as the original author. Enjoyed it would read more by this author with her own characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read, I could hardly put it down. It brought the flavour of Britain in the fifties and of course earlier. The style of the narration was very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Attenbury Emeralds
The Attenbury Emeralds by Jill Paton Walsh (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews