Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 17 Aug 2010
An excellant and thought provoking book, which needs careful study to get the full benefit from the ideas and concepts.
This is written in the mould of the puritan writers of the 17th century with application to the modern day theology and questions the erroneous concepts that are being preached today.
Highly reccomended for those who are searching for a deeper understanding of scripture and its contexts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
Life changing book on idols and how they affect us. It helped me invaluably to fight and get rid of idols in my own life! It's a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The way in which we fill our lives with false gods, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
A book that explains so much of our disappointments and provides answers to why so many people are unhappy when on the surface of it they have so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, really helpful, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on recommendation from a friend. Its easy to read and really challenging and helpful. The chapter at the end is especially helpful with practical advice of how to destroy idols.
If you're considering buying this book, just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 21 April 2013
By 
Tendai Horton "Knowledge thirsty" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
Never dissapointed with Timothy Keller. Enjoyed the read and gives a good account of how material things such as cars, houses etc can be thought of a gods. A good and intelligent offering from Mr Keller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here is today's world, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
How inspiring to read easily why this world is in such a mess. God must surely be pleased that so many people are reading this writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Journey of self discovery, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
This is a read that requires facing ones self at the deepest innermost part of our being, and being honest about what is there. A book that helps reveal the hidden idols in all of our hearts and how we might deal with them. The contents are obviously well researched and very informative to an age that appears to have lost any real purpose in life. Tim Kellar has an exciting way of looking again at well known Bible stories and bringing them very much alive into the twenty first century and into the reader's life. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Counterfeit Gods is an excellent book, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
"Counterfeit Gods" really makes you think! It challenges accepted understanding and offers new insights but most of all it asks the reader some difficult questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
Easy to read, thought provoking, good for discussion groups and to augment Bible Studies. It is aimed at Christian believers, challenging the things we put before God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Idolatry Exposed, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down (Paperback)
A superbly instructive explanation of the major forms of idolatry existing in the world. Timothy Keller's purpose is to show that people would rather seek anything else (eg. success, love, family, power) to satisfy their deepest needs rather than trust in their Creator. Good, solid biblical teaching taken from the lives of Abraham, Jacob, Zacchaues, Naaman and Nebuchadnezzar - I think this book would be especially suited for non-christians to help them understand their need of God and lead them to the answer, which is Jesus Christ. Read it and pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews