Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May's Humour Fails To Disapoint
James May's elequent style of writing shines through in this book.

Although it is advised you never undertake any of the tasks outlined in the book, it is undoubtedly a very amusing read.

Topics range from:

How to build an escape tunnel from that unholiest of places, Bultins
How to avoid pointless and expensive litigation by fighting...
Published on 24 Mar. 2011 by Seán Ward

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny in parts
May must be quite off his head! Found parts of it quite funny, how to escape from Butlins and how to invade the Isle of Wight, but others less so. Lots of pages diagrams or pictures so less real pages than the actual page count. Quick to read. But you never know when you might need to deliver twins! Probably the only chapter you might remember something from!
Published on 15 April 2011 by CDW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May's Humour Fails To Disapoint, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Seán Ward (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
James May's elequent style of writing shines through in this book.

Although it is advised you never undertake any of the tasks outlined in the book, it is undoubtedly a very amusing read.

Topics range from:

How to build an escape tunnel from that unholiest of places, Bultins
How to avoid pointless and expensive litigation by fighting a duel
How to deliver twins without making a fool of yourself, or worse, killing anyone
How to drive a Peppercorn Class A1 4-6-2 Pacific Locamotive 'Tornado'
How to invade the Isle of White
How to eat your sadly departed best mate in times of peril
How to defuse an unexploded present from the 'Jerries', i.e. a World War Two bomb
How to woo a woman by playing the First Movement of Beethoven's Piano Sonata in C-Sharp Minor... Opus 27... No. 2... Quasi Una Fantasia... 'The Moonlight'... With no previous experience.
And finally, as the title suggests, how to land an airbus A330

In the course of reading this book, you may get slighlty confused, particularly when he outlines the flight controls for the Airbus, but, by giving James your undivided attention, you will come away from this book feeling happy at the new, so called, "man skills" you have aqquired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny in parts, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
May must be quite off his head! Found parts of it quite funny, how to escape from Butlins and how to invade the Isle of Wight, but others less so. Lots of pages diagrams or pictures so less real pages than the actual page count. Quick to read. But you never know when you might need to deliver twins! Probably the only chapter you might remember something from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, 23 Feb. 2011
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
Great service. And the book is just as you would expect. It's like watching Top Gear when James explains something but Clarkson's voiceover interrupts, only there is no voiceover and the explanation is finished. It's not all a complete joke though, but an enlightening read it certainly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `Do not actually do any of this. This book is intended for male fantasy entertainment purposes only.', 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
Yes, you should judge this book by its cover. And take, very seriously, this advice:

`Neither the author nor the publisher can accept any legal responsibility or liability for any harm arising from the techniques, advice or situations described in this book.'

But if you want step-by-step instructions on how to land an A330 Airbus in an emergency, how to fight a duel, or invade the Isle of Wight then this may well be the book for you. Especially if you are a man who reads (and follows) step-by-step instructions. You may (or may not) be enlightened by the chapters telling you how to drive the Peppercorn Class A1 4-6-2 Pacific Locomotive `Tornado' and how to deliver twins, and I certainly wouldn't suggest defusing an unexploded World War II German bomb, or preparing and eating your best mate. The other two chapters tell you how to escape from Butlins and how to play the first movement of Beethoven's `Moonlight' sonata.

I enjoyed the first chapter most, and liked the underlying idea that the book came about because James May was bored with the portrayal of men as endearingly hopeless and that there was a need for a book like this which showed men how to do really useful things instead of things like tying a bow tie in fifty different ways in less than 30 seconds.

Whether or not you find this book funny will depend a lot on your sense of humour. I found some parts funny but thought that others were too silly to be funny. But, then, I'm not really part of the target audience.

`The chances that you will ever meet with the circumstances outlined here are, frankly, very remote.'

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 2 Mar. 2012
By 
N. Young (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book includes a disclaimer stating that readers should not attempt any of the activities described therein. Which is just as well, as these activities include cannibalism, duelling and (as the title suggests), landing an Airbus A330.

That said, I have zero piano-playing experience and can personally attest that the guide to playing the 'Moonlight Sonanta' without having to go through the rigamarole of actually learning how to play the piano does actually work. As James May's degree was in music, though, I would have expected nothing less.

This, a light-hearted mickey-take of various 'man-skills' books that are on the market, is unashamedly a book to have in the 'smallest room'. It's great if you are a fan of James May's various TV programmes - and not just 'Top Gear', in fact, there no car-related stuff here. Some of the activities described have been shown on the excellent 'Man Lab' though. If you're not a fan of James May, then I can only assume that you are somehow lost on the Inter-web at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read with typical James May humour (though might not have anything useful to teach), 16 Jun. 2011
My review is of the audio version of the book How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man. It's the full version of the book read out by James May himself.

The book is quite hilarious pretending to be a to-do manual of things men should know how to do, except with esoteric subjects. In truth nobody will ever need to do any of these, but James May presents it in a light hearted but quite informative way, talking around the subjects. The only chapter I missed is one regarding eating your dead friend, but I just couldn't bring myself to listen to that, other people might find it funny.

This will appeal to James May fans, as well as people who want a quick light hearted read. It doesn't teach you useful skills. The audio version is quite pleasant to listen to on a card drive. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Slow at his best!, 20 Oct. 2011
By 
I saw the book and it made something tingle, so I just bought it. Obviously before I recieved it wasn't sure what it was going to be like, as I had not read anything from James May. But I went through it in a couple of days, and was positively impressed. Great stories, correct pace, and the typical sarcasm and humor throughout the book that has made May famous on Top Gear.
My preferred stories, how to invade the Isle of White and How to fight a Duel.

Recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sample only - Nice pictures, scant text, 26 Sept. 2011
This book is very much like May's BBC2 series, even including identical subjects such as defusing a WW2 bomb. The pictures are quite amusing and work well in b&w on the Kindle, even if the limitations of the Kindle mean the layout is a little odd at times. Textually, the book skips uncomfortably from amusing to very serious in the space of a few lines at times, which I didn't much enjoy. A very pick-up-able and put-down-able coffee table kind of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and a worthwhile present, 14 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a stocking filler type Christmas present to suit the more mature - say over 30's - this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny and Well Written, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man (Hardcover)
I brought this as an anniversary present for the man in my life... he is not a great reader but enjoys light hearted stuff and with chapters on invading the Isle of Wight and Eatting your Best Mate I knew this would be right up his street...

James has chosen a number of things that interest him as well as the silly (steam trains, music) and provides hints and tips for the modern man including the use of cover bands to aid in your escape from butlins...

It is not the most densely typed book you will buy this year and there are a lot of well placed diagrams and pictures which break the text up even further.... so a good pick up and flick through book...

And you never know when you will need to challenge someone to a dual if they spill their pint on you in the pub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Land an A330 Airbus: And Other Vital Skills for the Modern Man
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews