Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buckle up me hearties, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Having loved Marks first novel in the series, The Pirate Devlin, I really couldn't wait to sail the high seas for further adventures. Whilst this title continues the tale of Patrick, Mark has taken a different angle to keep the reader just as engrossed by further expanding the characters within. It's beautifully descriptive, the characters are magical and whilst the tale is still full of daring do, Marks creativity gets to take the reader to new heights as his great control of prose and pace really won't let you put the title down.

Add all this to a great overall arc, enemies both new and old which when backed up with dangerous situations where the author plays for keeps leaves the reader with a tale where you hope that your favourites live. So shiver me timbers me hearties, splice the mainbrace, swash some buckles and prepare to sail the high sea's with a crew of dangerous vagabonds, adventure is to be had with gold to be treasured...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Sharpe" of the High Seas, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a real pirate yarn, the second in the series, following Keating's "Fight for Freedom" This is a must read for all pirate fans, those who enjoy a good "ripping yarn" )love that phrase". From lessons learned the hard way to a struggle that carries our hero Patrick Devlin who has now become one of the most feared Pirates in the world.

This stars all our favourite heroes (?) and villains (?) depending on which side you take - from Edward Teach - Blackbeard, rumoured to be an ancestor of mine, Captain John Coxon RN Governor Woodes Rogers who endevours to rid the Caribbean of all pirates and their lawlessness. The chapters better each other page by page.

This is a great story, well written to be enjoyed by fans of sharpe, Bernard Cornwell and authors who want to entertain us rather than drab writings of depression, takes of abused childhood, gross expressions of crime and murder or" cheery chic lit" - this is FUN as page to page journies over the seas in search of secrets and treasure. Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2) (Paperback)
I have to say that this sequel certainly meets the high standards of plot, interesting characters, seamless flow from scene to scene and brilliantly descriptive wording of The Pirate Devlin, the writing is free from overly nautical terms which I for one wouldn't understand.Although whenever I think of pirates these days Jack Sparrow inevitably comes to mind, Devlin does come across to the reader as a similarly loveable rogue, though it seems to me the author paints him, and pirates in general, in a better light than his Royal Navy adversaries! Were all their captains and admirals uptight twits who deserve ridicule at best, animosity at worst? Maybe, I don't know. Anyway this book is very hard to put down, easy to read, and has for me proven that this genre is well worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our flag the sceptre all who meet obey..., 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent excellent excellent...read first book Flight for Freedom, very enjoyable pirate romp. Was eager to read this next book .... even better than the first...intrigue sub-plots twists and turns aplenty...aye! Pirate Devlin and his crew's story continues with each page and each page could be their last... the mix of fiction and history blends well. Recommend to anyone who enjoys naval fiction but hates the tedium of some that are over long series. No bodice ripping or romance...just plenty of swash n buckle. About to read Blood Diamond next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Imaginative & Intelligent Adventure, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second of Mark Keating's novels following the adventures of pirate Patrick Devlin. If you haven't read the first one, Fight for Freedom (Pirate Devlin 1) I would recommend doing so before tackling 'Hunt for White Gold'; otherwise the relationships between characters and their individual backstories will lack resonance.

If you're expecting a rollicking adventure in the mode of Sharpe or similar characters you'll also be disappointed and possibly put off too. Devlin is not a contemporary character dumped into a historical setting; he and all his pirate friends behave in ways and hold attitudes that are very much true to the period. There are no easy 'heroes' and 'villains' delineations on offer in 'White Gold', the story does not follow a straight forward path and Keating's writing style, whilst clear and fluid, requires the reader to pay attention. Although I have only read a couple of Patrick O'Brien's books I would say that Keating is closer to him stylistically and in terms of being true to his period than he is to Cornwell or Iggulden.

That being said there is plenty to enjoy about 'White Gold'. The plot engages from the start and twists and turns in ways that constantly surprise. The interplay between characters is wonderful and the action, when it comes, handled with verve. The historical background to the story is fascinating and entirely novel (how many other adventure stories use porcelain as their hook?).

If I have any reservations it is over the book's pacing, which does flag in places, and its overall accessibility. Although I have congratulated Keating on his refusal to make any one character a clear cut 'good guy' this lack of a single figure to associate with and fully root for made it hard for me to really love 'White Gold'. I admire it certainly and can recognise the quality of Keating's writing, but it never really warms the heart as well as the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid adventure, 7 Jan. 2012
By 
I. B. Pitbladdo "jacandian" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this follow up to the excellent title 'The Pirate Devlin', My only criticism is that there were perhaps too many threads in this one which tended to hold the story up a bit. Nevertheless, it is a good solid adventure worthy of your time and I will certainly be looking out for the further adventures of Patrick Devlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hunt for white gold, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2) (Paperback)
arrived very quickly and well packaged. excellent conditon. loved the previous storyline about pirates, something a bit different so looking forward to reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2)
Hunt for White Gold (Pirate Devlin 2) by Mark Keating (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews