Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars57
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£20.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2011
Having studied up to BSL stage 3 I have managed to have seen a fair amount of BSL books based around self-study. The vast majority of these do not have much information regarding BSL grammar/structure/other aspects (e.g: facial expressions) and are essentially dictionaries of BSL vocabulary - Imagine learning a foreign language such as french without any information on grammatical constructs! This book is very thorough in introducing BSL and basing the majority of the book around the structure of the language, with key vocabulary included en route and there is information regarding what exactly BSL is aswell as those people who use it, the D/deaf community. The layout is particularly easy to use with short snappy paragraphs/exercises and the illustrations and accompanying DVD are very clear and incredibly useful to aid the teachings. As another reviewer mentioned, this is not simply a book for beginners but also one that more advanced BSL learners would find useful, brushing up on key concepts of BSL which are key to use to convey messages accurately and expressively.

This is the book to buy if you are considering learning BSL.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
As a long-standing tutor of BSL, with many years experience of teaching BSL Levels 1 and 2 as well as short courses and taster courses, I thought, not another book on BSL. However this comes from the excellent firm Deafworks (its founder, Laraine Callow, has just got the MBE in January 2011 for services to Deaf people - well deserved and well done!) so I thought I would buy it and see what it is like. It is by far the BEST on the market now. Up to now, Cath Smith's books A Sign Language Companion,and Signs Make Sense have been good at trying to explain some aspects of grammar. However this book by Paul Redfern is outstanding in that not only is it linguistically correct but it EXPLAINS things which is lacking in many books and DVDs. I will be putting this book on my mandatory reading material for all my BSL Level 1 learners and those doing short courses from now on. Well done Paul, on filling a much needed gap in the market! This book has been written in exactly the same way that I teach my own learners and it will reinforce what they have done in the classroom. I am really pleased to have found this book for my learners. Amazon's price also makes it very affordable. Free shipping postage excellent too and it came very quickly.
11 comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
As a beginner learning BSL,I have found this pack to be an excellent resource. The text is clearly written and the illustrations - along with the video clips on DVD - support the learning process throughout. The content perfectly complements a beginners course in BSL (which I am currently undertaking), and the compact size of the book means it is easily popped into a handbag for any reminders/reassurance needed. A 'must have' purchase.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
This book has a good introduction, explaining about the difference between d/Deaf people. However I found actually learning BSL from the book to be difficult – the diagrams are very difficult to understand and the actors in the video clips sign far too quickly. I found myself having to look up videos online to watch better clips of people signing in order to learn. There are lots of really good videos on Youtube etc which have helped me to learn much more than this book – a shame when considering how expensive it was!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
At the moment I am learning BSL Level 1. This book and DVD was recommended by my teacher. This book is very helpful. I am a mature student and I do find it harder to remember things. This book goes into great detail which helps me and the DVD is nice and clear. I would recommend this book and DVD.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Is a great learning resource for anybody starting to learn British Sign Language (BSL). A wonderful multi tool, students get to learn using the book and DVD (which is also mp4 compatible!) side by side. You can work in course sections or work through the book, as it gradually introduces the learner to the starting blocks of BSL, learning everyday signs and the alphabet.

One of the books many strengths is the way it introduces BSL grammar as it really gives the learner a head start in thinking in BSL and not in English which is key to learning BSL! The book also gives the learner an insight into Deaf culture and BSL etiquette which is invaluable when approaching that most important step of how to start a conversation. Handy tips and reminders throughout the book help you to learn the right way!

It is the best BSL learn to sign course I have seen!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Good practical guide to teaching yourself BSL. The illustrations and explanations are clear and concise. The early introduction to word order and other aspects which make BSL unique are wisely introduced early on in the book. This makes it different to the dictionary style sign language books. This is a great book for any beginner of BSL.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
This dvd and book combo is extremely successful in its aim to comprehensively teach the user how to learn the basics of sign language. I loved it because it fully covered the areas that most books I have tried missed, such as facial expressions to accompany the signs, as well as word ordering- just learning individual signs for words is no good as a rookie! As a hard-of-hearing person, I really recommend this product, and champion the fact that it has been orchestrated by deaf people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2011
I was thinking when I bought this item that it may not be as good as I thought it would be. But it turned out ot be very informative and easy to learn, especially with the DVD to help.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
Teach Yourself British Sign Language (TY Complete Courses)
If you have ever thought about learning British Sign Language (BSL) but always thought it was too difficult or even thought that BSL is all made up - by flapping of hands; then think again. This is a really good quality book created from A to Z by professional Deaf people; there's also a DVD to help show the way as well. This book is a beginner's first book and will enable learners to learn the grammar of this beautiful language (it's not like English at all!).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse