Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie's winning recipe for life
This book is part autobiography, part cookbook. In the first half of the book we learn of Willie's hard but idyllic childhood, followed by a tough early adulthood that leads to travels that eventually take him to Venezuela. The stories about how he comes across a cacao plantation, buys it, improves it, and decides to move in to chocolate making are all recounted in the...
Published on 15 Mar. 2009 by Adrenalin Streams

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream
After watching both programmes following Willie and his family living the dream, I was slightly disappointed that the first half of the book is all about his journey which if you'd watched the Channel 4 programmes you would already have known.
Second half of the book - the recipes these are great and we have tried most of them after stocking back up on the chocolate...
Published on 16 April 2009 by NAL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Willie's Choc, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
As I had already seen the series on TV I was a bit disappointed that there weren't more unusual recipes in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cant really call it a cookbook?, 21 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook

I love the passion this man shows towards his work.
Its good to encourage this sort of activity.
However I was very disappointed with the book as most of the book is a running narrative of activities in the production of cocoa.

I was expecting a cookbook, quite honestly this book cannot be called a cookbook in the true sense of the meaning.

I dont think Willie is being dishonest here, but he needs to re-label the book like:
"Willie's Chocolate adventures and some Chocolate recipes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
C. Bendersky (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
My Dad in South Africa watched the TV show and asked me to buy him the book to send over to him. I bought it and made the mistake of looking at the first page...I was hooked! I read Willy's autobiography in 1 day and then went straight to Waitrose to buy the truffles and chocolates so I could eat the chocolate and start making the recipes! The book is really good, the recipes really down to earth and it definately makes you excited about cacao!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmh! Chocolate, 29 May 2009
By 
G. V. Keith "Gill Keith" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
A genuinely good read offering a background for the source of the chocolate and its makings. The recipes themselves cover every season and every occasion. Easy to follow, simple to make and truly delicious. They will add an added zest to cooking on a day to day basis as well as for special occasions. Look forward to seeing the chocolate in wider circulation, i had to import from London when my sister visited. Gill Keith, Glasgow, Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
P. Ashley "aka trisha ashley" (Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having managed to miss the tv series I didn't know what to expect with this book, but found it fascinating. The concept of raw chocolate as an ingredient in savoury as well as sweet cooking was a complete surprise. I enjoyed reading about how the family got involved in growing and marketing chocolate and those recipes I have tried from the book have been a complete success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocoholics dream, 23 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a present for the man who has everything but loves chocolate. Plenty of fab recipes with great photos, well worth the money unlike some cook books. The biscuits are wonderful and I have been told the rissotto is too!My friends are vegetarian and there are plenty of recipes for them also.(Willies chocolate available in Waitrose).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook, 26 May 2009
By 
V. E. Cairns "Viv" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a very good book, even if you have seen the series on television. It is interesting to read about Willie's experiences, and all that led up to his factory. His chocolate is excellent and the recipes are fun. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cookery book, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Geek2Geek (Chesham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is an extraordinary and fascinating book. It not only tells you how to cook with this remarkable substance it also gives you a lot of background about it, the man who wrote it and his crazy adventures with his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
I love this book full of great ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cocoa's amazing, 26 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought a whole venison this Christmas and used Willie's Venezuelan Black as part of the sauce it was simply amazing. I've never tasted such good Cocoa.
Get the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook
Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook by Willie Harcourt-Cooze (Hardcover - 19 Mar. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews