Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie's winning recipe for life
This book is part autobiography, part cookbook. In the first half of the book we learn of Willie's hard but idyllic childhood, followed by a tough early adulthood that leads to travels that eventually take him to Venezuela. The stories about how he comes across a cacao plantation, buys it, improves it, and decides to move in to chocolate making are all recounted in the...
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by Adrenalin Streams

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream
After watching both programmes following Willie and his family living the dream, I was slightly disappointed that the first half of the book is all about his journey which if you'd watched the Channel 4 programmes you would already have known.
Second half of the book - the recipes these are great and we have tried most of them after stocking back up on the chocolate...
Published on 16 April 2009 by NAL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic all round Chocolate Cookbook, 16 Sep 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
We were recommended to this book by a relative. My son made the chocolate biscuits with his cousin (he is only 10 years old) and felt that we should add the book to our collection of cookbooks. We have since made a number of things (brownies and chocolate cupcakes) which were all a chocoholics heaven. Could not recommend this book more highly. Recipes extremely easy and do not fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Soo Broo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Watching the programmes about the setting up of the chocolate factory was absolutely exhausting! The man is a human dynamo of boundless energy and endless enthusiasm which is a trait I really admire and not many people on television truly have; David Attenborough, Tony Robinson and the late Steve Irwin have/had it in buckets and love 'em or hate 'em, they are totally engaging.

I, contrary to some of the other reviewers, found the autobiographical section of the book really interesting, if a little brief in real detail which was a shame. I admire the get up and go attitiude some people have -being someone who considers everything from every angle - and his determination that he would succeed at all costs. The receipes are lovely and once you've tasted his caco, you'll find ordinary chocolate super sweet and sickly.

Lovely photos, a real success story and a really inspirational character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 23 Feb 2010
By 
C. Bendersky (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
My Dad in South Africa watched the TV show and asked me to buy him the book to send over to him. I bought it and made the mistake of looking at the first page...I was hooked! I read Willy's autobiography in 1 day and then went straight to Waitrose to buy the truffles and chocolates so I could eat the chocolate and start making the recipes! The book is really good, the recipes really down to earth and it definately makes you excited about cacao!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cookery book, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Geek2Geek (Chesham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is an extraordinary and fascinating book. It not only tells you how to cook with this remarkable substance it also gives you a lot of background about it, the man who wrote it and his crazy adventures with his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cocoa's amazing, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought a whole venison this Christmas and used Willie's Venezuelan Black as part of the sauce it was simply amazing. I've never tasted such good Cocoa.
Get the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocoholics dream, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a present for the man who has everything but loves chocolate. Plenty of fab recipes with great photos, well worth the money unlike some cook books. The biscuits are wonderful and I have been told the rissotto is too!My friends are vegetarian and there are plenty of recipes for them also.(Willies chocolate available in Waitrose).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening, 3 Jun 2009
By 
P. Ashley "aka trisha ashley" (Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having managed to miss the tv series I didn't know what to expect with this book, but found it fascinating. The concept of raw chocolate as an ingredient in savoury as well as sweet cooking was a complete surprise. I enjoyed reading about how the family got involved in growing and marketing chocolate and those recipes I have tried from the book have been a complete success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmh! Chocolate, 29 May 2009
By 
G. V. Keith "Gill Keith" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
A genuinely good read offering a background for the source of the chocolate and its makings. The recipes themselves cover every season and every occasion. Easy to follow, simple to make and truly delicious. They will add an added zest to cooking on a day to day basis as well as for special occasions. Look forward to seeing the chocolate in wider circulation, i had to import from London when my sister visited. Gill Keith, Glasgow, Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook, 26 May 2009
By 
V. E. Cairns "Viv" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a very good book, even if you have seen the series on television. It is interesting to read about Willie's experiences, and all that led up to his factory. His chocolate is excellent and the recipes are fun. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present , it has a good amount of text introduction to Willie's project as well as some mouthwatering recipes and great photo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook
Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook by Willie Harcourt-Cooze (Hardcover - 19 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews