Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie's winning recipe for life
This book is part autobiography, part cookbook. In the first half of the book we learn of Willie's hard but idyllic childhood, followed by a tough early adulthood that leads to travels that eventually take him to Venezuela. The stories about how he comes across a cacao plantation, buys it, improves it, and decides to move in to chocolate making are all recounted in the...
Published on 15 Mar 2009 by Adrenalin Streams

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream
After watching both programmes following Willie and his family living the dream, I was slightly disappointed that the first half of the book is all about his journey which if you'd watched the Channel 4 programmes you would already have known.
Second half of the book - the recipes these are great and we have tried most of them after stocking back up on the chocolate...
Published on 16 April 2009 by NAL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie's winning recipe for life, 15 Mar 2009
This book is part autobiography, part cookbook. In the first half of the book we learn of Willie's hard but idyllic childhood, followed by a tough early adulthood that leads to travels that eventually take him to Venezuela. The stories about how he comes across a cacao plantation, buys it, improves it, and decides to move in to chocolate making are all recounted in the recent TV series but here are much more interestingly told, and in more detail. I could recommend the book just for the first half. However, the second half of the book, Willie's recipes, is also very rewarding. When I watched the TV series my attention was always held by Willie's cooking, and in particular the ways he could find to add chocolate into his dishes. Well, I have already tried out a few of the recipes in the book (for Hot Chocolate, Cacao Bread, and Chicken Mole) and found the results delicious! He may look a bit crazy but there's no doubt that Willie is a force for good in the world of fine chocolate. He was a deserving winner of the Academy of Chocolate's Personality of The Year Award in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2009
My girlfriend bought me this book and we're both hooked! We've tried most of the recipes and I've never tasted chocolate like it; even when you can't get hold of the special 100% cacao stuff they taste absolutely delicious. One problem - you'll never be able to go back to Cadburys...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly brilliant, 9 April 2009
Absolutely brilliant. Willie's passion is evident throughout the book, and what a wonderful tale of triumph over adversity. I love how use the chocolate can be used in both sweet and savoury recipes - congratulations Willie on a superb book. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream, 16 April 2009
After watching both programmes following Willie and his family living the dream, I was slightly disappointed that the first half of the book is all about his journey which if you'd watched the Channel 4 programmes you would already have known.
Second half of the book - the recipes these are great and we have tried most of them after stocking back up on the chocolate. Still struggling to get a bar of Willie's new range of chocolate but we will not be defeated.
Willie and his family are a true inspiration in never giving up regardless of what life throws at you and living the dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Crappy book, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook (Paperback)
I expected a few different ideas for how to use some of Willies cacao that I received as a gift, the whole book consisted basically of: Chocolate sauce, spicy chocolate sauce, orange chocolate sauce, chocolate sauce to dip churros into, brownies, and chicken mole... Really unoriginal and disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Willie's Choc, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I had already seen the series on TV I was a bit disappointed that there weren't more unusual recipes in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, and recipes too, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Willie has written his life story here, and it is fascinating. You also get some great recipies using chocolate. It is quite hard to find the products in normal shops, Waitrose sell the chocolate bars but seem to have discontinued the raw cacao block for cooking, however you can buy it from Willie's web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Chocolate Lovers, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely easy recipe book if you like cooking with chocolate which I do with some surprising savoury recipes in - fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bout this as a present, it was accurately described, it did not look new (as described) but it was in a perfectly good enough condition for me to give as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Soo Broo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching the programmes about the setting up of the chocolate factory was absolutely exhausting! The man is a human dynamo of boundless energy and endless enthusiasm which is a trait I really admire and not many people on television truly have; David Attenborough, Tony Robinson and the late Steve Irwin have/had it in buckets and love 'em or hate 'em, they are totally engaging.

I, contrary to some of the other reviewers, found the autobiographical section of the book really interesting, if a little brief in real detail which was a shame. I admire the get up and go attitiude some people have -being someone who considers everything from every angle - and his determination that he would succeed at all costs. The receipes are lovely and once you've tasted his caco, you'll find ordinary chocolate super sweet and sickly.

Lovely photos, a real success story and a really inspirational character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook
Willie's Chocolate Factory Cookbook by Willie Harcourt-Cooze (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews