Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling home from Siberia
OK, I'm also a committed non-Christian but this book is great. The 'faith' aspects do not detract from what was clearly an epic adventure and in no way spoiled it for me. If anything, I knew about these before starting the book and was releived the author had not over-egged this aspect.

You'll have to look very hard indeed to find someone - believer or...
Published on 10 Jan. 2010 by Mr. David C. Hill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little dull
I was disappointed by this book as well. I have nothing against Rob or his religious views (I am am a Christian myself) but I found the book rather dull and flat. As others have said there is very little detail about the lands he passed through or the people he met and the writing style is a bit laboured. Perhaps I would be being a little unfair in comparing this to books...
Published 7 months ago by Matteo_B


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a book I could not put down . Totally absorbed in this amazing expedition. Made me think so many things about life and how the journey would change my out look on life .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As something of a weekend warrior when it comes to cycling I found this a fascinating and inspiring read.A great account of the many challenges both physical and mental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Journey, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Home From Siberia (Paperback)
I loved reading this book. Well written, great stories, great adventure.
I've bought quite a few copies and passed them on as birthday or Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good read, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. It was a good way to travel in my head while doing a boring job. This is about the only way I'm going to do a journey like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read., 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Home From Siberia (Paperback)
My wife fancied this book too when she saw Walking home from Mongolia. She is looking forward to reading this over the winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Home From Siberia (Paperback)
THIS WAS BOUGHT FOR MY ELDERLY FRIEND WHO IS AN AVID READER. SHE LIKES THE WAY THIS AUTHOR EXPLAINS THEIR TRAVELS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost unbelievable!, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really sure why Rob started in Siberia, but then again why not. Problem is will he ever be able to settle ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story. Honest and appealing, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Home From Siberia (Paperback)
A great story. Honest and appealing. My son got some useful tips from read it before cycling down Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the 2 copies was not in as good condition as would be expected from the description, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Home From Siberia (Paperback)
Thanks,but ,1 of the 2 copies was not in as good condition as would be expected from the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great except for occasional preaching, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
C. F. Pielou (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A little like walking into what you thought was an interesting bookshop to then find it was a Christian book shop

5 stars if you are a Christian, 3 to 4 stars if you are a little broader minded. Well written with author trying, perhaps too hard, to be non dominational. In the end I felt that he was partially motivated to write by his faith and therefore it will please believers more than adventurers.

Had to skip occasional paragraphs because I felt I was being preached at, but rivetting good read otherwise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycling Home From Siberia
Cycling Home From Siberia by Rob Lilwall (Paperback - 19 Aug. 2010)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews