Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh perspective on the week that changed history, 4 May 2009
This review is from: The Longest Week: What Really Happened During Jesus' Final Days (Hardcover)
The week in which a man was put to death by Roman authorities would not normally attract any attention.
But it did - and does.
Page delves into the historical perspective of this epoch changing week with a fresh and riveting perspective. He manages to combines a wealth of historical research with an exciting narrative.
A book for Christians to understand more about Jesus - the raw, uncensored version.
A book for non-Chrisitians to place Jesus in his historical context - to start to understand why this week really was such a big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith perspective, 9 May 2009
By 
Steven Buckley (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Longest Week: What Really Happened During Jesus' Final Days (Hardcover)
The author Nick Page spoke at a Church retreat I attended recently and I was really impressed with his ability to get across the key messages and themes of the Bible. I subsequently bought this book for myself and a copy for a friend. A few days in and I'm totally engrossed. As the other reviewer comments, this is a book which should appeal to Christians and non-Christians alike. For me, it's bringing a new understanding of the crucifixion story and it is helping me to better understand why Jesus spoke and acted as he did. Not only is this book incredibly helpful, it's a fascinating historical read.

I also bought The Big Story The Big Story which Nick's Church talk was based upon. A much lighter and funnier touch than The Longest Week, but well worth a read for anyone who could do with a bit of perspective on the Bible story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth history, chronological approach that 'splained it good, 23 April 2011
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First of all, this book is an in-depth dissection of the last week of Jesus's life, even down to having a day-by-day timeline. This approach means that Page has teased out of the four Gospels a chronology that otherwise is lost when reading them separately -- things like the raising of Lazarus happening the day before Palm Sunday, and the suggestion that such an episode really tipped the scales when it came to the local leadership getting hot under the collar.

Second, it's a meticulously research history book in terms of what Jerusalem's political situation was like at that time, what a Passover week would have meant in terms of crowds and sacrifices and all that, and what other historical authors, not from the Bible, have said about the situation.

Here's just a little taster of how much his approach has added to the story of Jesus's last week. Most people know the story about Palm Sunday, how Jesus rode into Jerusalem on a donkey. From a biblical perspective, this has been touted as one of the ways that Jesus fulfilled Old Testament prophecy, since Zechariah 9:9 mentions the Messiah's riding into Jerusalem on a donkey.

But what I didn't know is that it was very likely that riding into the opposite end of Jerusalem on that same day would have been Pilate, in all his pomp as he arrived to deliver the priestly clothes that were worn in the Temple for Passover.

So not only was Jesus fulfilling scripture, he was also mocking Pilate and his version of what power was.

Another fact that I hadn't really appreciated was that Jesus's death from crucifixion was too quick to have been caused by the usual means of death by this torture -- that is, asphyxiation. Such a death usually took many, many hours, if not days. Instead, Jesus died within three hours. Page argues that the beatings and whippings earlier in the day had actually caused such massive bleeding that Jesus died of blood loss and shock.

In fact, Page says, Jesus was basically a dead man before he was put on the cross, hemorrhaging inside and little more than a walking corpse.

I found this book engrossing. I loved how the chronology of the four gospels was amalgamated (and where they differed, making plausible suggestions as to why). I liked the inclusion of other sources outside the Bible, to make the contemporary scene really come alive. I appreciated the wider background of what Jerusalem would have been like during a Passover week under Roman occupation.

I can't really judge if a non-Christian would find it as fascinating as I did, but I wouldn't be surprised if its version is more palatable than the Bible itself when it comes to an explanation of what Christians find so interesting about the death and resurrection of the "cornerstone" of their faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good insight into a tumultuous week, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Page takes each day of Holy Week, where Jesus entered Jerusalem, engaged with the religious, the lower classes, the Romans and the rest, before being executed... and raised to life.

Using the Gospels, as well as other literary sources (such as Josephus), we get an insight into what was going on during the week, from the festival and its customs, from the religious and sacrifices, to the people, the place and their hopes and expectations.

I've read it during Holy Week and found it stirring and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Longest Week, 3 Jan 2012
This is the best book I've read in 2011. The ending is a little bit of a shock which only works in the context of the rest of the book. Very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., 16 Dec 2011
By 
D. N. King (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written book and covering a lot of historic details which i found very interesting.

Even coming from a churched background, this book covered lots of details that seem to get missed out at easter.

i would definatly reccommend as a lent book.

I would highly reccommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Easter resource book since The Bible, 5 April 2013
By 
P. Buck "Pezster" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just read and used this great book over Easter to help me follow the man from Galilee's footsteps through Jerusalem at this crucial time.
With insight and compassion towards those living out the events of Easter week, Nick Page creates a wholly convincing narrative that helps explain why some things were as they were and why some people acted the way they did.
In other words, he helps to clarify the Gospel readings with excellent historical references and with a firm grip on 1 st century Judea, its politics and cultural norms. As someone who has visited Jerusalem, Nick also helps explain the sites and enables us to understand the historically accurate locations of the present day from the medieval inventions which now litter Jersualem's streets.
A great book that deserves wide readership - and not just at Easter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for Holy Week, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Longest Week (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating, well researched and easy to follow. Nick Page raises some interesting questions but doesn't pretend to know all the answers. As an antidote to heavyweight theology this hits the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read especially for Christians., 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loads of imaginative insights. Draws a curtain back on the scene of Christs days exposing the corrupted nature of the religious powers at the time. People don't change much, unless they meet Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Longest Week, 2 May 2013
By 
E. M. Camm "student" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt transported to the time and place of Jesus - Page enriches our treasured inheritance in such an exciting and interesting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Longest Week: What Really Happened During Jesus' Final Days
Used & New from: £6.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews