Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Entertaining and a sumptuous feast of knowledge
Imagine entering a room unobserved and listening in to conversations on a host of different subjects ranging from the Calendar, Socrates, the Peasants Revolt, Darwin, Black Holes, Alchemy and The Field of the Cloth of Gold, by a number of acknowledged experts on each particular subject.
This book, the contents of which have been garnered, from a selection of the BBC...
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by Champollion

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why you can't do wireless in print
I am a huge fan of the Lord Bragg chaired wirless discussion programme IN OUR TIME but in collecting transcripts of these discussions into book form, one begins to see the shortcomings of the process.

Other reviewers have commented on the absence of conclusions to each subject. On the wireless, Lord Bragg and his pals seldom have time to fully round out or...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by Mr. Adrian R. Fry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Entertaining and a sumptuous feast of knowledge, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Champollion (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Our Time (Hardcover)
Imagine entering a room unobserved and listening in to conversations on a host of different subjects ranging from the Calendar, Socrates, the Peasants Revolt, Darwin, Black Holes, Alchemy and The Field of the Cloth of Gold, by a number of acknowledged experts on each particular subject.
This book, the contents of which have been garnered, from a selection of the BBC Radio 4 programme "In Our Time' is not only entertaining but accesses the reader to a diverse range of ideas and knowledge.
If you enjoy the programme, and there are many who do, this book is an excellent record and supplement to it.
If you are new to it, this book will not disappoint an enquiring mind and complete the gaps on many topics and provoke thoughts, long after you have finished reading it.
I loved the book and recommend it.
Go on -give your brain a 'work-out!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why you can't do wireless in print, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Adrian R. Fry "adrianfry" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of the Lord Bragg chaired wirless discussion programme IN OUR TIME but in collecting transcripts of these discussions into book form, one begins to see the shortcomings of the process.

Other reviewers have commented on the absence of conclusions to each subject. On the wireless, Lord Bragg and his pals seldom have time to fully round out or sum up. This discursive quality makes for excellent wirless listening - the discussions are oftener than not live - but they create imbalance when read on the page.

Nevertheless, there is some excellent material in here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening discussions from Radio 4's eclectic 'In Our Time', 29 Jan 2010
By 
Moontrane - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Our Time (Hardcover)
'In Our Time' is probably the most intellectually stimulating programme on Radio 4 and several hundred have been broadcast since 1998. Melvyn Bragg brings together leading academics in their particular field to discuss an eclectic range of subjects. This enlightening book selects 26 programmes(listed a-z) which give a fair reflection of the diversity of 'In Our Time' with topics ranging from Antimatter & The Peasant's Revolt to The Origins of Life & Shakespeare's Language. My only complaint is the the omission of the discussion on Karl Marx which seems rather surprising as he was voted the 'Greatest Philosopher' by 'In Our Time' listeners in 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (Paperback)
When listening to the series on the radio I have found Melvyn Braggs's interjections sometimes irritating and unitelligible. As a result of my comments, I was bought this book as a present and, although I have found many of the contributions in the book fascinating and enlightening, there are many that remain as obscure as when I first listened to them. My conclusion is that, while many of the debates are entertaining, there is no substitute (if one is interested) to a properly considered and presented book on the subject. This book is difficult to read as it is virually verbatum what the contributers say and, as we all know, written and spoken language is quite different. The book is quite entertianing but, to get the best of it, one should just pick the subjects of interest and ignore the rest. For an avid book reader, this can be difficult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Our Time archive, 23 April 2010
By 
W. Chrispin "Bill C" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Our Time (Hardcover)
Not really a review of the book, but rather a note that the BBC has now released all the In Our Time archive on its website. A fantastic resource for all to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read!, 20 Dec 2013
By 
newtricks (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (Paperback)
great to accompany the series- good read- may not be everyones cup of tea- but I am very pleased with it-would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant value, 14 July 2013
By 
June Freyne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (Paperback)
No complaints .Everything w a s just absolutely , astoundingly, amazingly, fantastic as I could possibly have dreamt for all my life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 8 Jan 2013
By 
F. Rooney (surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative, interesting and a wide range of subjects.
All panel members are expert in their fields.
Melvyn Bragg keeps the experts on their toes with his searching questions
drawing them out and giving each one ample opportunity to develop a cogent contribution.

I would recommend this book to any seeker after knowledge and at any age. It is easy to follow,
has a varied range of interesting subjects and presents information in an easy to digest manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well liked, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (Paperback)
This is exactly what was wanted as a present for someone who heard and liked the radio series. So allows more careful reading of those programmes that were heard and, of course, catching up with ths missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Our Time by Melvyn Bragg, 10 Feb 2012
I bought In Our Time by Melvyn Bragg In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series (audio disc) for my father who is a registered blind person. He enjoys the radio 4 programme of the same name and has very much enjoyed the discs. It was easy to order and delivery was the next day. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series
In Our Time: A Companion to the Radio 4 Series by Melvyn Bragg (Paperback - 2 Sep 2010)
£10.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews