Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doggone fantastic!
Love Martin Clunes, love dogs, loved his recent documentary about dogs - so all good. This book does tally with the tv programme about history of dogs but the bits I actually enjoyed best are his own personal history with dogs and his present day trials, tribulations and joys with them. Just one thing - I'd love to know how Mary is these days.
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by M. Fish

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars poor dogs
how awful that these two bitches were allowed to go on tearing each other apart purely because the owners were too selfish to make the right decision for the dogs.
Published 10 months ago by Ann Trodd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doggone fantastic!, 8 Oct 2008
By 
M. Fish "mofish" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Hardcover)
Love Martin Clunes, love dogs, loved his recent documentary about dogs - so all good. This book does tally with the tv programme about history of dogs but the bits I actually enjoyed best are his own personal history with dogs and his present day trials, tribulations and joys with them. Just one thing - I'd love to know how Mary is these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dog's Life, 13 Jan 2009
By 
J. Richardson "Booky" (Hertforshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Hardcover)
What a lovely book. I never realised Martin Clunes was such a softie about dogs. Comforting to know he has gone through the agonies any dog lover goes through when their favourite pet gets poorly. Loved the chapters on the Wolf pack and the Dingoes accompanied by stunning photos. Was almost sorry when the book came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Clunes and his Dogs, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. J. Palmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
As a dog lover (and a one-time owner of an orange roan cocker spaniel) AND an admirer of Martin Clunes,
I was drawn to this book! It did not let me down!

Interesting, honest, humourous and factual - once having started to read it, I found it difficult to put down! Clunes not only writes about his family and their relationships with dogs over the years, he also writes about the evolution of the domestic dog from wolves - backing up his research by recounting a personal encounter with wolves to compare aspects of their behaviourwith that of "man's best friend".

A fascinating read written by a man who has the ability to "get into the mind of dogs"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars martin clunes a dogs life, 19 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Hardcover)
Dog lovers everywhere will enjoy this book, Martin Clunes takes you on his personal dedicated journey,of his beloved dogs and their story.A real quality read and beautiful photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Present, 19 Dec 2009
By 
B. Ogg "book junkie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
I had actually read this book already, this copy was a present for a friend-I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes dogs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin Clunes, 31 May 2011
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
If you love your dogs and you love Martin Clunes then the two go very well together in this book. Martin has an excellent way of writing and even made me who likes Martin but not keen on dogs look at Mans Best friend in a very different light. Well worth a read and well worth passing the book on as l did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 30 April 2011
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
Being a great Martin Clunes' fan, I was keen read this book and was not disappointed. The book is very informative about the experiences that he had whilst investigating the canine species around the world. Martin's anecdotes about family life with his dogs are very endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dogs Live - Martin Clunes, 5 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
If you saw the Tv programme or not it is a truly amazing book, his love of dogs comes shining through, dog lover or not it will amuse you from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solidly written - heartwarmingly enthusiastic, 21 Oct 2009
By 
A. I. McCulloch (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
The background to this book and the TV series of the same name came from a simple premise - Martin Clunes truly loves dogs. Thankfully his love stops short of the mawkishness that is a hallmark of some recent "doggy" books - he also writes of the impact that dog ownership has had on his life (quite an impact, as it turns out) and intersperses that with the stories of the programmes he made for his TV series.

The book is sound on dog facts and highly informative, blending into a combination of autobiography and factual information that makes entertaining reading. Martin's dry wit and self deprecating sense of humour add to the entertainment factor considerably. My heart went out to him at times as he dealt with the complicated relationship between two of his own family pets and the upheaval that this caused, when heart-wrenching decisions had to be made.

Those who love Martin for his Doc Martin TV series will find a completely different person here, as much a lover of canines as Doc is a hater. Martin must have had a wonderful time finding out about the role of members of the dog family all over the world and this enthusiasm spills over into his writing. Stills from the TV programme intersperse with family shots for a final deft touch. A five star book for dog - lovers (and I'm one, so five-stars it is). If you don't like dogs, I'm mildly amazed you've read this far - but you probably won't enjoy this book quite as much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A dogs life, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Hardcover)
I chose this rating because even though the book was most interesting found it long winded in parts. Martin really knows nhis dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2bb84c)

This product

A Dog's Life
A Dog's Life by Martin Clunes (Paperback - 11 Jun 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews