Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A/S British History.
As a teacher of Edexcel A level modern British History this is the book we have been waiting for. What a great pity the publishers failed to get this out in time for the start of the new spec. in Sept 2008. This is clear and concise with no chronological jumping around other text books are prone to. My students have had to buy the book themselves and all those that...
Published on 30 April 2009 by A Level teacher

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but flawed.
I bought this book as a student studying for an A-level in my spare time. I found the book to be very comprehensive, covering all the major events and themes in adequate detail, and to have very useful example questions and study guides at the end of each section. Disappointingly there was no bibliography or suggestions for further reading but by the time they've...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A/S British History., 30 April 2009
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
As a teacher of Edexcel A level modern British History this is the book we have been waiting for. What a great pity the publishers failed to get this out in time for the start of the new spec. in Sept 2008. This is clear and concise with no chronological jumping around other text books are prone to. My students have had to buy the book themselves and all those that have find it really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but flawed., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
I bought this book as a student studying for an A-level in my spare time. I found the book to be very comprehensive, covering all the major events and themes in adequate detail, and to have very useful example questions and study guides at the end of each section. Disappointingly there was no bibliography or suggestions for further reading but by the time they've reached their A-level most students should be capable of finding their own sources.

What I was less impressed with, however, was some of the content and tone of the writing. There seemed to be rather token efforts at balance and some poorly evidenced arguments. These were most glaring in the final chapter, where the author makes a number of completely unsupported assertions. For example a section on crime says "It was certainly true that between 1997 and 2007 crime and social disorder grew and the streets were less safe". There is very little support for this statement, with the author only quoting gross crime statistics from 2007 and no attempt made to show change over time. In fact most of the available statistics suggest that crime rates stagnated or fell between 1997 and 2007. Similarly, on education the author states that "there was still an underlying feeling that the system had let its pupils and the nation down". There are no sources cited, no statistics quoted and no evidence attached; it appears to simply be the author's opinion.

Most damning, however, is the statement near the end of the book where the author declares "Harriet Harman and Tony Blair himself sent their children to private schools". This is a flat-out factual inaccuracy as neither Harriet Harman's nor Tony Blair's children attended private schools (at least in the specified time frame). Errors like this mean the book reads like an unreasoned polemic rather than a balanced, objective school textbook. The author tends to come across as a libertarian, eurosceptic right-winger and, while there is nothing wrong with writing an academic work from a particular viewpoint, I would question whether it's appropriate for an A-level textbook of this sort. Students should practice appropriate caution when considering the information in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential but a little bias, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Steven A. N. Bishop (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
To begin with, I am an A2 AQA history student who took this exam last week. This book has been essential to my study and it contains a comprehensive history of Britain from 1945-2007, outlining clearly the economic, foreign and social policies of each significant period (e.g. 1951-64, '64-79 etc), which is brilliant for creating essay plans and for general revision.

There are two problems however that I've found with this book:

1) A minor one is that they split the Thatcher rule into two chapters, covering most of her time in office in one and then just the Poll Tax and a conclusion in the other. Thus, partly due to my own fault, it's easy to overlook the Poll Tax during revision as when you read the predominantly Thatcher chapter, you fall into a false sense of security that you've finished her period and thus miss out issues such as the Poll Tax in subsequent practice essay plans you may create.

2) The bigger problem is the bias against Tony Blair. Yes, he is a controversial figure and one can raise issue with a lot of his policies, but the book is overwhelmingly bias against him, to the point that even positive things that Labour did e.g. raise employment by around 2.5 million, the author finds fault in and somehow turns this into a negative aspect of Blair's time in office. Oddly, and perhaps thankfully, the author manages to balance the most controversial aspect of this period, the Iraq war. If you're taking an exam and you believe Blair will pop up, then try and find at least one other source of information which balances this negative review of him.
There is also a running thread of Euro-scepticism in the book, which basically criticises Britain's increased involvement in the EU. Additionally, at the end of the book the author satirises environmentalism and portrays it as a deluded idea, and writes a definition of the BNP as people who have 'personality disorders'.

Aside from these issues, this is a brilliant book (and is on the whole, balanced) and should be the Bible of any A Level History student taking an exam for this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
(Just an FYI - I am the daughter of the account holder)

Michael Lynch creates a book well worth buying for any student, and even anyone just interested in an accessible, easily digestible textbook.

What I found particularly helpful, as a Unit 2, Edexcel student at AS (examined June 2009), were the study guides at the end of each chapter, that includes a practice question. Lynch sets out practical and useful ways to plan essays, as well as a logical plan of all the 'own knowledge' needed to get full marks.

With almost entirely the help of this book (and my teachers of course...;]) I needed to sit the exam only once, and achieved 100%.

To summarise - doing a course in Britain 1945 onwards, or just generally interested? THEN BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
This is essentially all the material I used for my A level histroy exam, it provides detail and is easy to read - I went through and highlighted key bits of it for the exam and came out with 89% so it can't be that bad! Read in combination with Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] to enliven the revision experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
Good quality, great and reasonable buy. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
Excellent supplement to set A level texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
The cover of the book is damaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good text book, 23 Feb 2013
By 
DB "DB" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
This is an essential book for anyone studying this period. Everything is well explained and nothing missed from the period in question. The book is also easy to understand and unlike some text books is not boring to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory purchase, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 (Paperback)
As with previous review on another book - purchased as daughter needs for studies. Arrived quickly, in good condition and will no doubt prove useful. Again, only reason not given 5 stars is can not say she "loves it" but that is no fault of the product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Access to History: Britain 1945-2007
Access to History: Britain 1945-2007 by Michael Lynch (Paperback - 31 Oct 2008)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews