Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars american civil war (Alan Farmer)
On oldish textbook recently expanded and turned into today's obligatory bullet-point form, but also with maps and photos.
This is a sound A-Level textbook, though the student would still need a full term to work through it.

It does make a fascinating subject come over as dull--a student did tell me. Also I'm not too keen on the "exam tips" sections: I...
Published on 7 Feb. 2011 by a Flynn

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic
This book is really designed for A-level students of lower ability. It is frankly too basic. The language is deliberately dumbed down. The book limits itself to a simple synopsis of the period. It does no more than mention the really significant issues of the American Civil War. You will find absolutely no decent analysis in questions such as the secession movement as a...
Published on 29 Sept. 2009 by W. Beetson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars american civil war (Alan Farmer), 7 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
On oldish textbook recently expanded and turned into today's obligatory bullet-point form, but also with maps and photos.
This is a sound A-Level textbook, though the student would still need a full term to work through it.

It does make a fascinating subject come over as dull--a student did tell me. Also I'm not too keen on the "exam tips" sections: I think this is best taught by teachers, and the "tips" do seem a half-baked afterthought.

However very well laid out and unfailingly accurate. Farmer does know his subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
W. Beetson "beets" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
This book is really designed for A-level students of lower ability. It is frankly too basic. The language is deliberately dumbed down. The book limits itself to a simple synopsis of the period. It does no more than mention the really significant issues of the American Civil War. You will find absolutely no decent analysis in questions such as the secession movement as a planters' conspiracy, the significance of the Emancipation Proclamation or how significant the moral question of slavery was in the outbreak of hostilities.

The book explains words such as 'conscription' and 'inflation' in the margins! It is so basic it almost patronises. It posseses no line of argument and does not conclude anything whatsoever - nothing more than a timeline with a few insipid paragraphs of discussion.

Really only useful for a desperate cramming session the night before an exam.

A much better starting book for students and general readers that is both analytical and accessible is Adam I. P. Smith's The American Civil War.

I'm sure the author is a good historian but he has been constrained by the the task given to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well it is an A-Level book, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
Another reviewer slates this book for catering to an A-Level audience, a harsh criticism considering that is its exact purpose. Of course, there are far more authorative books on the subject but this book is designed to help students understand the period and it broadly serves this purpose.

As an educational book, a key aspect is literacy and familiarisation with key terms and people. This is so students who have no prior knowledge of, or probably interest in, the American Civil War can access the period. If a student doesn't know a term, it'll be invariably explained in the margin. Some students do not know these terms, they need them explained. It's a sad indictment of the education system for sure, but you play with the cards you're dealt. It's better to explain terms and mistakenly be interpreted as patronising than, in effect, tell the students to f*ck off because they're not smart enough.

To satisfy the keener mind, it recommends numerous titles at the end of each chapter and introduces further reading explicitly throughout with analysis of key texts such as Uncle Tom's Cabin and Hilton R. Helper's, The Impending Crisis of the South. It provides a complete, if not exhaustive, history of the period 1803-1877 and, as said, it is designed with students in mind and, therefore, tries to make it as accessible as possible. This meaning that more gifted students will read additional material to further their understanding. Or just stick to the book if they're lazy so-and-sos.

The books limitations are obvious. Some of the period is covered briefly: Andrew Jackson by way of an example. A figure of such distinction that merits a word or two in this book. In other places, it really falls down in what it is supposed to be doing. The war itself is covered in a right half-arsed way. Swaying from Virginia to the West and back again like a drunkard, it is poor stuff. Very confusing and complete with maps of which even the Pathfinder, John Fremont would struggle to make head nor tail. There's some ok stuff on Grant, Lee, Jackson, Sherman and McClellan but how you can write a book on the Civil War and barely mention figures such as Nathan Bedford Forrest - Fort Pillow???? and JEB Stuart - I think he's mentioned once in reference to John Brown's Raid where he served under Lee, to name but two is pretty poor form.

Another problem of the book is that it is dull. The ACW is my favourite period of history but the book, whilst having its merits, hardly grabs the student and twirls them around. A sprinkling of panache would get more attention and affection for the subject to the A2 student. Give them Sheridan's quote, "If I owned Hell and Texas, I'd rent out Texas and live in hell", tell them John Bell Hood had his hand mangled by an arrow by the Comanches in Texas, had his arm incapacitated by a shell at Gettysburg and his leg amputated at Chickamauga before leading CSA troops at Atlanta (to be fair, the book does say that Lee said of Hood, "All lion but none of the fox", a very good quote although apparently he never actually said it). Still everyone's a critic, eh? It does a job but must be read with other volumes to have any deeper meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
This was a very thorough and helpful textbook. My son needed it for his A Levels, thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my book from amazon, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
exactly what i wanted, right price, delivered on time, perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
Great book that helps me with my AS - A-LEVEL History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History) (Paperback)
A good study guide and reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Nov. 2005
This book is absolutely brilliant for anyone who wants to know more about the American civil war and the people who are involved with the civil war. I would reccomend this book with 100% confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The American Civil War: Causes, Course and Consequences 1803-1877 (Access to History)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews