Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH
Not only is the story of Brother Andrew impossible to put down and very well written, but it is a real inspiration and challenge to those seeking to live for God, or those who doubt the existence of God. Andrew grew up in Holland during world war 2 and afterward joined the army. This sparked a series of events which led him to question the value of life and become a...
Published on 30 Sep 2005 by Ben Britton

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christian Book club review
This book was chosen as book of the month for a Christian Book Club. Brother Andrew is well known in Christian circles, for chosen vocation of taking Bibles behind the Iron Curtain to Christians to people who do not have the opportunity to buy one of their own or who cannot afford to buy one. As such it is a fairly standard first person biography, beginning with the...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Mrs. N. G. Tweddle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH, 30 Sep 2005
By 
Ben Britton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Smuggler (Paperback)
Not only is the story of Brother Andrew impossible to put down and very well written, but it is a real inspiration and challenge to those seeking to live for God, or those who doubt the existence of God. Andrew grew up in Holland during world war 2 and afterward joined the army. This sparked a series of events which led him to question the value of life and become a committed Christian. Starting with small trips here and there Andrew ended up risking his life time and again to share the Gospel and take Bibles beyond the Iron Curtain, setting up an international organisation which at one point smuggled 1 million Bibles into China! Time and again God led Andrew and his colleagues through impossible situations, allowing forgotten Christians to feel the love of the body of Christ and to savour God's word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be religious to enjoy this book, 27 May 2001
By 
A. Arnold (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had this book read to my class when I was young. It was facinating, thoroughly enjoyable and addictive to read. I am not a religious person but having just discovered it again I have to sing its praises so to speak.
At this price don't hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it, 12 Jun 2000
By 
E. Charters (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very easy book to read and will keep you coming back to it at every opportunity.
As a Christian it has made me feel very humble and challenged.
Brother Andrew and Brother David (Gods Smuggler to China) both heard Gods call on their lives and simply obeyed.
Try it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books you could ever read, 5 Feb 2007
By 
phillyman (Cookstown, Co Tyrone) - See all my reviews
This review is from: God's Smuggler (Paperback)
God's Smuggler is the story of Brother Andrew, founder of Open Doors. In it, he tells us of his experiences in life, with the main focus on him, along with a few dedicated God-fearing, Christian friends, risking imprisonment and perhaps even their lives, smuggling Bibles beyond the Iron Curtain, so as to support his persecuted brothers and sisters who couldn't publicly worship their Lord and Saviour, and to reach out to the non-Christians in those countries. His experiences really show that there is no limit to what God can do, and no task is too small for Him. The book is easy to understand and easy-read, and it should force us all to look at our lives, and ask ourselves just what we are doing for Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Smuggler (Kindle Edition)
Restores your faith in God and man. Shows someone who puts everybody before himself, and makes you feel humble.

Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: God's Smuggler (Paperback)
This is a story I read many years ago which has not lost its appeal down the years. A true story about how God can guide every one of us even in impossible situations if we are quiet enough to hear Him. Delighted to regain a copy which actually turns out to be a signed one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read of a great man, 11 Jun 2010
By 
MJMcIntyre (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God's Smuggler (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, I have had three copies of it and passed them on to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent story that all should read., 16 Feb 2006
a great read for young or old. wonderful true story with adventure, excitement and even humour with the greatest of messages, that he brings forth.
I put off reading this book for a long time because I thought it would be labourious but not a bit of it and have read it a couple of times and my sons, used to ask me to read it again to them because of the things he got up to as a youngster! ita a pity that the cover on the book, doesn't convey how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Sequel, 7 Feb 1999
By A Customer
If you are interested in this book, be sure to also order "For the Love of my Brothers", also by Brother Andrew (with Verne Becker.) (1998 copyright).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a TEN STAR book!!!, 1 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This is an incredible book about an incredible God. The theme and heart of this book is that God can be trusted--what a timely and desperately needed lesson for mdern America. This book profoundly affected my faith. Best of all, I discovered that God can be trusted. Thanks Brother Andrew for your help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God's Smuggler
God's Smuggler by John Sherrill (Paperback - 15 May 2008)
8.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews