Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In life, everything counts
An unconventional love story, Grace has a form of OCD that makes her count everything and ritualise her life in numbers. This makes doing anything out of the ordinary worrying, and Grace is no longer able to work as a teacher. She lives on her own in a small flat and a set routine for her daily life and limited contact with the rest of her family. The only real escape...
Published on 16 July 2009 by Annabel Gaskell

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OCD meets chick lit in this quirky, quick little read
A nice quick little 'chick lit' read. This one sets itself apart with its unusual leading lady - an obsessive compulsive 30-something 'counter' called Grace. The gentle romance blossoming in the background takes second place to the turbulent inner workings of Grace's mind as she obsessively counts and measures out every aspect of her day to day life, from visiting the...
Published on 6 Mar. 2009 by Miss E. Potten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite a 'comedy', 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Floyd O'Doyle (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
This was an interesting little read, about a woman named Grace who suffers from a rare form of OCD where her life revolves around numbers. We see, through her eyes, what problems this throws up for her, such as working, eating... and romance. The novel is split between her day-to-day life, her relationship with Seamus, and little 'tit-bits' about Nikola Tesla.

The book is easy to read - I easily got through it in a day - however I did feel that it wasn't funny enough to be classed as a rom-com. A good book if you have a few hours to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great - Like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.., 19 Mar. 2010
By 
D. R. Armour (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
Written at a simple chick-lit level, the theme is creative.

It really gets under the skin of how there are no happy endings to the compulsive afflictions that permeate so many lives.

The story is almost as much about the extraordinary unhelpfulness of our standard "treatments" for anything, particularly behavioural problems.

It inspires understanding and compassion, and every human being has their own version whether or not as seriously inconvenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and funny, 21 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Addition (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely little book. The main character, Grace, is engaging and I laughed out loud in places. Sometimes all the numbers and measurements and parts of Nickola Telsa history were hard to take in but I was carried along by Grace's voice and her humour. Not a lot happens in this book but yet it feels full. Unlike another reviewer I didn't see the end coming, in fact I couldn't put the book down because I wanted to find out what the outcome would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars count me in, 8 Mar. 2008
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
"Addition" is a very funny novel. It's also witty and clever and moving. It is insightful about OCD and also about life in general. "Addition" made me laugh (a lot, out loud), it made me cry, and it made me think. Oh, and just to round things off nicely, there were a couple of hot sex scenes. I was so sorry to reach the end that I read it again, and I hope we don't have to wait too long before Toni Jordan writes another novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book.....brilliant message, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
Kerrie Creelman "Marge" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
Couldn't put this book down. I laughed and I cried. This book is like a beautifully wrapped gift....inside is a clever and moving message about tolerance and understanding wrapped up in a history lesson and heart warming love story. Jordon delivers much, don't miss the opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quirky read!, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
It's a quirky book that can easily be read in a few hours or day about an unusual subject. It's fascinating to see how Grace and Seamus come to terms with her condition, and hold down a relationship and also what Grace's life is like in general with her OCD. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
I was really impressed with this book. I bought it quite randomly, looking for something light-hearted but not traditional 'chick-lit', and I really enjoyed it. It's a different read - quirky, comical, short, a perfect holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok holiday reading, 13 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
This story is interesting but shallow and the story does not stay long with you. A good, quick read for a holiday, but sadly, not really one to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addition, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
Very interesting and educational book. Easy to read and I can recommend to any one who work with child with SEN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmm undecided!!!, 14 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Addition (Paperback)
I REALLY REALLY WANTED TO LOVE THIS BOOK AS THE IDEA AND CONCEPT IS VERY ORIGINAL AND HAVE NEVER READ ANYTHING LIKE IT, BUT AFTER REALLY TRYING I AM LEFT FEELING BIT INDIFFERENT TOWARDS IT! GRACE IS EASY TO WARM TO AND SEAMUS IS VERY LOVEABLE BUT FEELS LIKE IT DONT EVER REALLY GET GOING! WAS ALL A BIT SLOW AND SKIPPED PAGES AT TIMES TO FIND MORE INTRESTING PARTS!! WORTH READING JUST FOR THE FUNNY ONE LINERS BUT WOULDNT BE TOP OF MY RECOMMENDATIONS SORRY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Addition
Addition by Toni Jordan (Paperback - 12 Jun. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews