Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny - and brilliantly eye-opening to boot
I don't read The Daily Telegraph, so I'd never heard of Max Pemberton until I started to hear the gentle murmurings about this book. I picked it up on a whim when it arrived in a box of books at our shop, and it turned out to be well worth a read.

It's a kind of diary of Pemberton's first year as a junior doctor, fresh out of medical school, terrified, and...
Published on 18 Dec. 2009 by Miss E. Potten

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging enough, but not ground-breaking
Max Pemberton has written an engaging account of his first year as a junior doctor, which I enjoyed reading, but there's something all too familiar about the trials and tribulations he runs through here. Any casual viewer of medical dramas such as "Casualty", "Holby City" , "Cardiac Arrest", "Bodies", "E.R." (etc, etc, etc) will be aware that junior doctors are...
Published on 16 Aug. 2008 by unlikely_heroine


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and thought provoking, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
B. Fisher (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is hilariously, if sometimes painfully funny! At times you wonder how anybody gets through the training to be a doctor in the first place. Max highlights the feelings and experiences of a junior doctor in his first year in hospital; sometimes terrifying, sometimes rewarding - often farcical!
Although it is very funny - it is also very thought provoking, and Max ranges from government targets to local bureaucracy, always highlighting the effect these have on patient care. This is definitely not just a book for those working in the NHS. It opened my eyes as to just how hectic and chaotic it must be for doctors and nurses. Max obviously cares deeply about the NHS and his patients. For all the scrapes he gets in to - you'd certainly want him as your doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and honest depiction of the struggling junior professional!, 19 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
This book had me gripped from the beginning and I had many 'laugh out loud' moments, which no book has ever done. Maybe it's because I'm a nurse and I could relate to the lovely Junior Dr Max. Whether you're in the medical profession or not, I still think anyone with a sense of humour will find this book enjoyable and fact filled. Brutally honest about the struggles of the professionals working for the NHS (had me nodding my head a few times) and very insightful for those who aren't employed by the NHS. I've just bought 2 copies for my friends for Christmas and I guarantee they'll love it! I just hope they're reading this review...maybe I should have waited til after xmas but I couldn't wait to praise this wonderful book! Well done Max you genius xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
I saw this book in a second-hand bookshop and bought it, even though I'd never heard of the author. I've no friends or acquaintances in the medical profession (now I know why - they're all too busy working!) and know little about it, so this book was an education. It's a diary of the author's year as a junior doctor, nicely written in an easily readable style. The impression given is that junior doctors spend long hours at work, continually on the go and making life-or-death decisions on their feet - time off is mainly spent sleeping. Reading the book is quite an emotional roller-coaster: you're laughing one minute and fighting back tears the next. I loved the book, and am looking forard to reading Dr Pemberton's new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insight into life as a new doctor - an honest, heartfelt account of his first year., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
I read this book before I started medical school and I thought it was amazing. Max Pemberton writes candidly about life as a junior doctor - the good, the bad and the ugly! It gives a brilliant insight into how it really feels to finally be out of medical school and trusted as a doctor. The thing I liked the most about Max's wonderful account of his experiences is the way he doesn't leave anything out - he writes about the doubts, the long hours and some of the...more interesting characters you'll encounter while working on the wards. It's truthful and heartfelt, and I think this book could be enjoyed by anyone, whether you're in the medical profession or you stay as far away from hospitals as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
This book is laugh out loud funny, but it is also touching and sad. It is a real slice of human life, and shows doctors as human as their patients. It also makes you realise that we expect 100% perfection from doctors even though they are human and as prone to make mistakes as anyone else.

It restores one's faith in the goodness of human nature as well - something that sticks in my mind is the priest who sat with a patient who was dying because the doctor felt unhappy leaving him on his own. There are some marvellous unsung heroes out there and this book is a salutary reminder of their existence. Better than reality TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CARRY ON DOCTOR, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
Thomas Rayfield "book junkie" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
Don't go to hospital if you can possibly avoid it. This book and its sequel 'Where Does It Hurt' are accounts of the first and second years of a new doctor. In the first year he knows very little and gets not much help in treating his patients. In his second year he has learnt quite a lot, but his patients now have more serious problems.

These apparently real-life stories are in parts alarming and iin parts encouraging, but always a very entertaining read.It is amazing how much responsibility doctors are given and how little support they get.

Well worth buyinh in paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Insightful, 20 Feb. 2008
After hearing that radio 4 rated `Trust me I'm a Junior Doctor' as book of the week I bought a copy to find out an insight into the life of a newly graduated doctor. I Found Max's depiction of his life as a junior doctor highly amusing and entertaining, but at the same time it gave a lot of details into real issues within the NHS. Excellent read, well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 25 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor (Paperback)
I'm not normally a big reader but after being recommended this book I thought I would give it a go. This has by far got to be the BEST book I have read in my teenage years so far! There were moments when I laughed out loud, moments when I smiled and moments where I genuinely felt quite upset and angry. This book really does take you through many different emotions and the way in which Dr Pemberton writes in a diary like style works SO well! I cannot recommend this book enough, I've never felt so sad when coming to the end of a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories..., 28 April 2008
This book is scarily accurate. Scary, in that it reminds me of my house officer days, and scary in that it reveals to the layman (and woman) the enormous naivety of the junior doctor on the first few days and weeks at work. However, this is not something to be hidden, and the author is to be commended for his brutal honesty. (For the record, we're not related, and I've never heard of him before, let alone met him!)

I'm not sure if this will appeal more to fellow doctors, who will remember everything Dr Pemberton all-too-well recalls, and laugh and cry at it, or to members of the public, who will see behind the eyes of the terrified junior doctor, facing disease, expectation and impossibility all at once.

I'm not sure what is meant by the contributor who thought House of God more representative of the NHS. For one, House of God is a much older book. Two, it is set in the USA. Three, it is a satire, whereas this, I promise you, is as real as life (and death) gets.

Buy it for your doctor friend, and he or she will thank you. Then borrow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious and touching read, 29 Feb. 2008
What an excellent read, I thoroughly enjoyed Max's hilarious but touching account of life as a junior doctor. We often read about the NHS bureaucracy and red tape but luckily, for most of us, we do not have to cope with this on day to day basis! That said, it is clear that Max values the NHS greatly and the service it offers. It was so refreshing to read an amusing diary account (akin to Bridget Jones' Diary) but to have Max's thoughts on the wider social and political issues that doctors face with on a daily basis.

You do not have to be a doctor to appreciate this book - I could certainly identify with Max's trials and tribulations in his first year. As a recently qualified solicitor I know that feeling of fear when you magically 'qualify' and are expected to be the all knowing legal brainbox but thankfully, unlike Max, I have not had to face life or death situations.

Well done Max on an excellent book ... more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor
Trust Me, I'm a (Junior) Doctor by Max Pemberton (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2008)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews