Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a milestone
Book 10 (WOW...what a milestone) in a long running series that just seems to get better and better the characters keep growning and flowing with their ever expanding plot lines and movement into the ever larger arena of their times, as they and their careers / fortunes grow so do the scale and power of the troubles they encounter. The whole story and leaves the reader...
Published on 28 July 2011 by Parm

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing addition to a great series
First of all, I love these books so maybe a bit harsh only giving 3 stars. As with the rest of the series the book is well written tells an interesting story, however for me didn't really advance the story along at all. Essentially the first half of the book is fine Kydd gets transferred from the Channel Islands to the Downs squadron and fights in several ship actions,...
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by D. MCDAID


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a milestone, 28 July 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Invasion (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
Book 10 (WOW...what a milestone) in a long running series that just seems to get better and better the characters keep growning and flowing with their ever expanding plot lines and movement into the ever larger arena of their times, as they and their careers / fortunes grow so do the scale and power of the troubles they encounter. The whole story and leaves the reader with a shanty lilt to their speech and a roll to their gait.

This is a book where i think we start to see a lead up to climactic book 11, it does have an element of a bridgeing book for me, but it does it with style and invention and in this case the submarine, i learned so much in this book and in the authors notes about the early sub, and it was as usual so well told you didnt know you were being educated while entertained.

All of this coupled with Julians obvious passion for the sea and all things nautical, this is a series that does rank up there with Forrester and O'Brian, every year i look forward to my new instalment of Kydd...but to get there you have to start at the beginning dont spoil it and come in part way.

Well recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Kydd Adventure, 3 Nov 2009
INVASION is another brilliant read by Julian Stockwin. His faithful attention to historical detail in this fast-paced tale places readers in the moment, as his narrative unfurls. The facts behind Robert Fulton's activities during the war are relatively obscure, compared to his invention of the commercially successful steamboat. But this authenticity is what I've come to expect from Stockwin. The particulars of Kydd's world, so well drawn in Stockwin's words, add texture to the fabric of his prose. It is the authenticity and human sides of Kydd and renzi that continue to draw me back again and again. Invasion is yet another master stroke from Stockwin's pen. I look forward to the next chapter in Kydd's life, VICTORY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing addition to a great series, 18 Oct 2009
By 
D. MCDAID (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, I love these books so maybe a bit harsh only giving 3 stars. As with the rest of the series the book is well written tells an interesting story, however for me didn't really advance the story along at all. Essentially the first half of the book is fine Kydd gets transferred from the Channel Islands to the Downs squadron and fights in several ship actions, however after that gets attached to an inventor of a submarine and the rest of the book apart from one action covers the machinations of various parties to support, build or destroy the sub. So overall whilst interesting, it just feels the book didn't really move anything on. I'd really like to see Kydd making a bit more progress in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disjointed and it seemed as if the author kept loosing track of his own story line. Definitely not one of his best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invasion, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You. Can only. Give a 5 star rating, the story as many different sections of duty for Kydd to carry out a great look into life as a sailor in the 18 hundreds well done and thank you Julian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars high sea adventure, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
yet another top notch tale from the new grand master of the age of fighting sail, this series gets better and better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
I started at the beginning of the series and I am going through them in order. I do like the descriptions relating to sea and ships. Some of the plots are a little bit suspect but are balanced out by some really good ones and I do find them compulsive reading and will continue to work through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submarines !, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Owen Dunsire (Athenry, Galway, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Julian Stockwin and his Kydd series of books are right at the top of the list for books of this type (Historical Naval) alongside Dudley Pope's Ramage series. Stockwin has again managed to introduce the life between decks to the story while still concentration on the main characters at the stern. This time we have Submarines and Torpedoes in Napoleonic Naval Warfare - no, the author has not lost it ! This is actually based on true events and the demonstration of "Nautilus" the first ever submersible ship (in France, before Napoleon). The torpedoes however are more like mines and unpowered, being towed into position.
The plot, in general, revolves around Renzi trying to lure the inventor (Fulton, an American) away from the French to Britain and then Kydd being assigned to help Fulton devise his new "toys" of destruction against some very strong opposition from the Admiralty. Finally they are used against the French invasion Flotilla but with very little success.
No major engagements but a few skirmishes, perhaps a little too much diplomacy but overall a good read. Overall mark 8.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars submarines against napoleon?, 11 Dec 2009
By 
M. Smith "History fan" (Buckinghamshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This latest instalment of the kydd series is one of Stockwins finest. The author really gets across the feeling of imminent doom that must have been prevalent during this important part of European history, with Napoleons victorious, seemingly unstoppable hoards waiting to cross the channel and take the old enemy.
'It's been done before' I hear you call, waving copies of Cornwells ' Sharpes Trafalgar' and any of O' Brians Aubrey/ Maturin series.But here the author has had a moment of genius and lights upon an obscure bit of naval history as the American inventer of the first ' plunging boat' called Nautillus ( yes there was such a beast, and Nemo would have been proud) attempts to persuade, firstly the French and then the Admiralty to fund this creation way ahead of its time.
Carried off with the usual pluck and derring do, this instalment is a welcome addition to my bookshelf...encore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Accuracy, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On reading about Robert Fulton's submarine, I went onto the internet and there it was, a whole raft of information about the demonstration to Napolean of a submarine. Also Torpedos and their failure against the French Fleet.
I do enjoy the narrative accuracy of Julian's novels and the trials and tribulations of Kydd as he moves from the lower to the quarterdeck. A different perspective from other writers whose characters tend to start at the quarterdack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invasion (Thomas Kydd)
Invasion (Thomas Kydd) by Julian Stockwin (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews