Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£23.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2013
Although the book goes into a little more detail than actually needed for the course, I found it to be very useful. The explanations are very clear, and the end of chapter questions are a good way to test your understanding. Aesthetically speaking, it's quite nice to look at, which may seem trivial, but it pretty good for when you have been working solidly in the run up to exams!
I think it makes an excellent companion to the official edexcel textbook- which on its own is most certainly not enough if you wish to access the top grades.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
You will need more then just the book, but a brilliant chemistry teacher.
But with the help of this book, it can and it will give you a minimum 1 grade boost ( I got a A in A-level chemistry from B in As).
80% what you need to pass your exam is in that book, all your need is time and a pair of good eye to spot it ***
Best of LUCK :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Great book. Delivered promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
I'm reviewing this (a bit late in the day given the linear a-level has started!) because one of my students was recommended this by his teacher rather than the Fullick and McDuell text. Given a choice I would have awarded it 3.5 stars. It covers the material thoroughly although as commented elsewhere, there is some syllabus extension material - some of it really useful, eg explaining the disadvantages of using a pH meter to follow a kinetics experiment. The section on exam technique is very handy and overall it's certainly a better choice than the official Edex text. However I feel some of the explanations are rather too long and roundabout without necessarily adding clarity, and on occasion the order in which the material is presented is odd - sometimes omitting more introductory material until later in the chapter. There are some excellent questions at the end of each chapter but no answers - something students tell me they find annoying! I would certainly recommend this, but in places more concise explanations would have been better. And a glossary would have been helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
very good informative book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
helped my sister alot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
First of all, I hate to say it but WHSmith are selling this for £16.00, but they are book specialists I guess.

Second of all, considering the price, you would think this book would have been read through once or twice by editors, well it is packed with mistakes.
Not just little mistakes, serious mistakes that if your already finding Chemistry difficult can really confuse you.

However, if the book had no mistakes it would definitely be my choice of book as it is detailed but to the point with not just bare writing on every page.

Perhaps wait for another edition or just buy this one with mind that some of it is wrong.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Great all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Very useful!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)