Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2008
I read this book during the first year of my Geography degree and can tell you that it was absolutely priceless. It was also referred to, though not as much during my second and third years. A really good book for an introduction to, as the title suggests, environmental issues.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
A great introduction to Geographical issues for the new century. The revised (1999) edition is an important source for anyone studying Geography at University level, and will add both breadth and depth to any course. Each chapter provides further references and a genuine and unbiased approach to global environmental problems.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
I bought this book as it was on my university reading list and it was definitely a worthwhile investment. I used it as a starting point for many of my essays an for exam revision; but it must be noted that this is very much an introduction. It is however, an excellent spring board for further reading as it is full of up to date references and some very interesting examples. Particularly important, I think, is that the book is presented in logical chapters seperating what is an infinitely complex earth system, with little bias or agenda. Recommended for students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
Nick Middleton's Global Casino proved priceless for my A-Level work. It was useful as a secondary source for coursework in Environmental Issues which are becoming more and more of an issue in the modern age. It was also a good read which opened my eyes to the realities of our fragile planet. Well done Nick!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Nick Middketon is a great writer & provides a really well structured text.
The book was in great condition & arrived really promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
very helpful for first year university level geography, covering a wide range of topics great for general knowledge too. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This book is useful for university students studying geography. I found it useful and it aided more than one of my modules.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
It is a good book for anyone who desire to have a general knowledge about environment and how things work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
I found that this became invaluable for my international development course... my modules that included natural resource management were haevily linked to subjects in the book.

Although great background reading, i found that some information was not necessary and bits I found difficult weren't covered in great detail... swings and roundabouts!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)