Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Going back" has been a forward move
The Cherub books have been enormously successful, but perhaps become a little "samey" over the last two books. However,these two "Hendersons Boys" books are really excellent ! The settings( Occupied France 1940) feel authentic and the stories move along at an excellent and exciting pace. There is more violence & cruelty than in the Cherub books and, therefore, definitely...
Published on 8 July 2009 by GB Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for younger readers
Yes it says this on the cover but as a parent you don't know if this is due to the violence & swearing or because of sexual references. In this case it's both - be careful before letting a primary school-aged child read this.
Published 22 months ago by Peg Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Going back" has been a forward move, 8 July 2009
By 
GB Smith "westwingaddict" (Birm. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
The Cherub books have been enormously successful, but perhaps become a little "samey" over the last two books. However,these two "Hendersons Boys" books are really excellent ! The settings( Occupied France 1940) feel authentic and the stories move along at an excellent and exciting pace. There is more violence & cruelty than in the Cherub books and, therefore, definitely not for younger readers. Nevertheless a really excellent "development" by Muchamore. I look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Tasha (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
After reading The Escape (the first of the Henderson's Boys series), it didn't seem like things could get any better but Eagle Day manages it from start to finish. Continuing the story of how CHERUB came to be, this story just gets more and more exciting.

Set during World War II, Charles Henderson and four orphaned children work together in France to sabotage Hitler's invasion of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel from a great author., 6 Jun 2009
By 
L. Jay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
After reading the previous book in the 'Henderson's boys series' I decided to pre-order this book. I was not dissapointed. The author manages to provide a gritty realistic picture of occupied France as well as a good plot and relateable characters. Overall five stars - a definite recommendation - Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, believable- for young and old alike, 14 Jun 2009
By 
A. V. Tran "Book God" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
I've read many books by this author and one things always impresses me. The dialogue. Some authors muck it up entirely and the conversations sound so fake and cheesy you do not want to read on. Now Muchamore, manages a realistic style of dialogue, made even more impressive as most of the conversations take place between children- it sounds utterly like what teenagers would say and react.
He also manages to recreate the atmosphere perfectly, and i can see the book is well researched and thought out. I'm looking forward to the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH YES.. AWESOME, 8 April 2010
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
If I could spell that big word in 'Mary Poppins' I would say that you know the 'Super;istic... whatever.
The book is great, more grown up than Cherub, very informative (Thats a big word) a little bit of humor, I never thought I would say it, but it's better than Cherub, as good as Jason Steed and way better than Alex Rider and Jimmy Coates.
If you imagine the young James Bond books, this is set just after those started but in France. The only bad thing is that like Alex Rider, Young James Bond, Harry Potter, Tom Sawyer, Oliver Twist and all the Cherub characters, these characters are ALSO orphans. Its just Jimmy Coates and Jason Steed who seem to have a parent. I guess it makes them vunrable and us feel sad for them.
So as you can imagine it starts off in an Orphanage run by a big fat guy who eats all the foof, at one point I thought I was reading Oliver Twist again, until it got going.

Overall, a fantatsic book, great story and exciting. I will now read the next two Hendersons Boys books, 6 stars out of 5, lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eagle day, 26 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
i decided to buy eagle day after reading the cherub series and the book met up to my expectations. It is based in ww2 in france and is writen very well, and there is adventure non stop , i would highly recommend it to any one between 10-18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagle Day, 8 July 2009
By 
S. Fairweather (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
Bought this book for my 14 year old son who could not put it down, I think that says it all !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fab read, 16 Aug 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
A fast pace exciting read. Have read all in the series - particularly enjoy the realistic and believable events that are described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eagle day, 6 July 2009
By 
J. press (blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day (Paperback)
brilliant book couldnt put it down just wish they would do this in talking book the action is brilliant you feel part of whats going on also introducing ww2 history in an interesting way next book please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 12 year old son started with the Cherub series and when that was finished he romped through the HB series. Bedtime lights out are challenging as he says "but I'm at a good bit" the thing is he's always at a good bit! Thoroughly recommend both series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day
Henderson`s Boys: Eagle Day by Robert Muchamore (Paperback - 4 Jun 2009)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews