Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars study made easy
NIV Study BibleIf like me you may be having difficulty in understand the meaning of the written text,this book is a great help.
Under the chapter and verses is an explanation of what each verse means,and what the author is trying to tell you.
Also before each book the authors origins are explained.
It is truly a very informative bible.
Published on 4 April 2011 by jim

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not bad but not as good as the NLT Study Bible
Published 8 months ago by A1987


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars study made easy, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
NIV Study BibleIf like me you may be having difficulty in understand the meaning of the written text,this book is a great help.
Under the chapter and verses is an explanation of what each verse means,and what the author is trying to tell you.
Also before each book the authors origins are explained.
It is truly a very informative bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bible ever!, 3 Aug. 2011
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
Being a christian for over 20 years I have seen/read loads of Bibles. I have really enjoyed reading this 1984 version of the NIV Study Bible and I have found the study guide invaluable. The introduction to each book sets the time, place, author and much more so the book can be read in context so I am now understanding more than I ever have. I was recently in a bible study class with quite a few 'mature' christians and a couple of new ones, having read a passage one of the youngsters asked what a specific verse meant and we were all stumped -however the study notes explained it all and we actually understood the whole passage better having this information! I would highly recommend this 1984 version and have actually bought eight for friends and family and everyone agrees that it is so much help. Go on buy one! God bless you as you read His word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
I am not qualified to judge the accuracy of the translation of this book - or indeed the accompanying commentary/notes - so this review is purely to do with quality and presentation.

The book replaces one from the same publisher, purchased more than 15 years ago. It is well made and the paper quality, whilst thin, feels hard-wearing. My 63-year old eyes can read the text without the aid of glasses and the open book lays reasonably flat for a volume of more than 2000 pages. There are useful maps and timelines which help with the history and geography of the Bible lands. All in all a good quality publication with a useful concordance. If this edition lasts as long as the well-used one it replaces I will be well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent aid to Bible Study, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
There are many commentaries on the Bible. This one is very good both for a general reader as well as anyone making a serious study of the themes, people, history and essential message of the Bible. The extras - maps, diagrams, concordance etc - make this a very detailed reference book as well. The print size is good, and the pictures very helpful. Very good value. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best study bible available, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
Rev. John James (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
The NIV Study Bible was bought for my Grandson who is a student and he has been thrilled with it. He had found it comprehensive and detailed. The Maps and the diagrams, such as the chronological graph, have been most helpful. It is a necessary addition to the disciple's tool box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bible, 17 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
I use it to prepare and discuss during our Home group Bible study. I must say I have enjoyed using this Bible. It is large yet not heavy. Good quality print and paper. A great buy. I hope to buy some more as presents for family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIV Study Bible, 7 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
I already had one of these but in "pocket size" format. The pocket version had been well used, was falling to bits and well stuck back together with elephant tape. It looked awful and uncared for, and not treated with the reverence that Holy Bibles deserve - maybe! But it had been loved and cherished and had fulfilled many a useful purpose in the pursuit of biblical knowledge and study. Then I discovered that deteriorating eyesight made reading it difficult - it was in such small print! So it was replaced by this larger print version - exactly the same words and information, but now readable. Highly recommended for those of advancing years.

The old one, dare I say, has been sent for recycling - but that's what ought to happen to God's Word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
I am very happy with the purchase of my NIV study bible, have seen an older version and this one is much improved - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great study aid, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband and he loves it. He has spent many an extra hour or two reading it; which is exactly what I hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nice gift for the studious, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIV Study Bible (Hardcover)
bought this book for my studious boyfriend who isn't really relgious, but would love to study anything. he found it an amusing present and been enjoying reading the bible and its history behind it. wonderful gift (though a little big so isn't really portable)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NIV Study Bible
NIV Study Bible by Hodder (Hardcover - 15 May 2008)
Used & New from: £17.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews