Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the stuff we have been waiting for.., 8 Mar 2006
By 
C. Russell (reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
just as you thought his work couldn't get any better he rolls out this one. This is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Because he is a poet/ pastor/ academic/ spiritual director/ prayer-er/ theologian he conveys not only his meaning, but the sense of that meaning in what and how he writes. His profound understanding of who God is and how this God deals with us is so vital to the church today - saving us from a God who has been captured and controlled by the church or a God who is diffused and lost in the inert vagueness of anything goes.
Buy it, pray it, preach it, give it away, live it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a UK mission worker in Brazil, 19 Feb 2008
By 
Mrs. Daveen Joy Wilson (TrapiŠ, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wish I knew how one person can write so many excellent books, as well as translating the Message... This is the first in a 5-part series, and I have now read the first three (so far, all that's been published)and am now reading this first volume for the 3rd time - it is definitely a book worth digesting thoroughly. Read it first for the poetically beautiful way he writes; secondly to understand the ideas, and at least one more time to be able to explain them to others.

In this book, Peterson's stated aim is to "provide the ...spirituality of our time with structure and coherence by working from a scriptural foundation and with a Trinitarian imagination." That's what I love about it - solid Biblical truth expressed in imaginative ways that help the reader not only to understand deep truths, but to be inspired by them - and to want to live them.

The title comes from a sonnet by Gerard Manley Hopkins:
"For Christ plays in ten thousand places/Lovely in limbs, and lovely in eyes not his/ To the Father through the features of men's faces".
Peterson says this sums up what he is trying to do - not to give us more information, but to get us more in on the 'play' of living in all we do for the glory of God

The book is divided into 4 parts:
Clearing the Playing Field - where he deals with all the false spiritualities around today, and establishes the basic Christian stories.

Christ Plays in Creation - where he explores the sacred in all creation, including people.

Christ Plays in History - where he explores the real meaning of history, and how to enter history as Christians.

Christ Plays in Community - how to enter into Christ's holy community as full participants.

It is not an easy read, but it is a beautiful and worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Personal ways to do it the Jesus Way', 13 Mar 2008
This review is from: Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology (Paperback)
Thought-provoking yet accessible sections, grounded in Scripture, on Christ in Creation, History and Community, and the place of worship, hospitality, meals, ritual, sacrifice, etc, in deepening our understanding of Christ's presence in the world and in the serving, loving Church.
Worth reading and re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly excellent writing, 6 July 2007
By 
A. J. Scholes (Grantham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
how does eugene peterson keep producing such excellent writing? this is really good stuff. touches on so many significant issues and always manages to break through to the heart of these issues. i am a big fan of his work and this doesn't disappoint. every minister, correction - EVERY CHRISTIAN - should have a healthy helping of peterson in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eugene at the top of his game, 22 Jun 2009
By 
S. Benham (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those not yet in the EP way, this is an excellent introduction to what all the fuss is about. Eugene doesn't write books. He invites readers on a journey with him, where as a guide he points out the obvious points is a fresh and unique way. It's the sort of experience, where you feel 90% surprised, elated, and convicted, that you hadn't seen it before. But 10% envy, that, yet again, his pen has done it. If you haven't read any EP books, you are living in an impoverished state. There is no other author who delivers it large, every time. This one will have you thinking, praying, refocusing for months after reading it. Especially, if you desire an integrity between what you believe, and how you live your life. Don't take a chance - read this book - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Wonderful Author, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Gordon A. Elliott "A 60's man" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology (Paperback)
I have a copy of this book myself, so bought this for a friend. There were just a few pages paricularly relevent to her on Hosptiality and the use of food in Evangelism. It was worth buying it for that alone and the encouragement it brought to her in her ministry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing, 8 Mar 2013
Peterson provides an excellent book, both well written and truly powerful. He manages to look at so much with a fresh perspective that causes me to stop and think. If you don't want to be challenged don't read this book, but if you are up for a challenge then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and Convincing, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eugene Peterson is a gifted writer whose experience as a teacher and a pastor shines through in a book that is full of fresh insights that give Christian teaching relevance and authenticity to a world that has lost sight of what it is all about. His book deserves to be widely read. The title might suggest it is a dull and heavy read: far from it! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology (Paperback)
One of the best theological books I've read in a long time. Peterson's content is both biblically directed and culturally relevant. The timeless gospel (good news) of the Judeo-Christian tradition is explored and explained with reference to the created world, human history, and community. Peterson draws upon his linguistic knowledge, personal experience, and a theological tradition which is existential in practice but Calvinistic in nature - with emphasis placed upon the sovereignty of God.

Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology
£8.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews