Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lude-icrously Likeable
I bought this book as I really enjoyed the movie and wanted to understand the fact from the movie-fiction. Thankfully, it didn't disappoint, but this review is based from the movie first point of view.

As you would expect, the movie draws on specific episodes which are all documented in the book (bar the exchange with Agent Coleman on the yacht), plus plenty...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. James Seale

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rake's Progress
This is the lengthy tale of the first career of Jordan Belfort, creator of one of the most successful penny share boiler rooms and an inveterate consumer of pharmaceuticals. He recounts his excessive spending, copulation and drug-consumption and the impact on himself and his family of this (and his illegal share dealing) ranging through divorce, jail and a lot of hospital...
Published 6 months ago by Charles Vasey


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rake's Progress, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Paperback)
This is the lengthy tale of the first career of Jordan Belfort, creator of one of the most successful penny share boiler rooms and an inveterate consumer of pharmaceuticals. He recounts his excessive spending, copulation and drug-consumption and the impact on himself and his family of this (and his illegal share dealing) ranging through divorce, jail and a lot of hospital time (Belfort has the constitution of Rasputin). It may sound like a mixture of Fear and Loathing and Liars Poker but the author is stuck between being maudlin, half-proud and half-shocked by what he did. In this he is probably correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saw the film first then read the book., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Paperback)
I saw the film without having read the book. It was a fairly good film - typically Scorsese with the music selection and the cinematography although I thought it was a little too long. Di Caprio was very good, as were the supporting actors, many of whom I hadn't really seen before.

I instantly bought the Kindle of the edition and ploughed straight through it. To cut to the chase, it is the autobiography of a guy who makes his millions through a stock broking / investment banking set-up which was immoral at best and downright illegal at worst. I was hoping that it would be a rags-to-riches and back to rags sort of book and fill-in some of the blanks that you expect from a film. It was however somewhat missing - you get the drug abuse, parties, debauched behaviour by his peers and employees and the illegal trading, but you don't get the story of how it all happened - in fact it gavies less of a picture than the film, usually it is the other way around.

Many of the anecdotes from the film are included in the book but they tend to become a little tiring repeated time and time again. When he describes his Rolex or cars, parties, houses, conquests in the bedroom (or wherever it takes his fancy!) it is without any sort of irony or sense that it will wear thin to the reader. It doesn't feel that there is any remorse from the author for the lives that his company ruined by selling worthless stock, the pension funds that might have been hit etc.

I wouldn't suggest reading if easily offended due to the bad language it contains - it doesn't bother me but each to their own. Overall it was OK, perhaps as a tale of greed and debauchery it was interesting - not greatly written but if you enjoyed the film the chances are you might enjoy the book. I don't think passing a moral judgement of an individual is a valid category on which to judge a book - the 3 stars represent that is is an interesting read and I've not read any accounts of broker millionaires before, if I was to award a points based on the antagonist/protagonist Jordan Belfort it would be a 1 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lude-icrously Likeable, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. James Seale "James" (Royal Arsenal, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I really enjoyed the movie and wanted to understand the fact from the movie-fiction. Thankfully, it didn't disappoint, but this review is based from the movie first point of view.

As you would expect, the movie draws on specific episodes which are all documented in the book (bar the exchange with Agent Coleman on the yacht), plus plenty more sordid tails.

The chronology overlaps and the tale takes a different turn in the 2nd half of the book. Whilst the 3-hour film feels full, the book provides further detail to complex history of the Strattonites and the Lifestyles of the Rich and Dysfunctional, for instance with the Demented Chinaman's rival business and Steve Madden's starring role.

There are further insights into The Wolf's personal life with the trauma of his 2nd child and rehab. Whilst the book comes to an abrupt end, the lack of detail with the SEC settlement and eventual conviction reminds the reader that the author is being selective/bound by a confidentiality agreement to a degree that the movie is not.

Overall, the book is an enjoyable read, and a real page turner. If you loved the film, you will enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst book I have ever read, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw the film first and thought it was really entertaining so thought I'd give the book a try.

What a mistake - it has to be the most repetitive, boring and appallingly written book I have ever read. Even though it's only around half the length of a lot of the books I read I found it really hard going, mainly due to how badly this book was written. He repeats himself many times, talking about the same old things - things which on many occasions are just not interesting; Really, I didn't care how much your silk sheets cost the first time you told me, and I care even less after you've then proceeded to tell me again another couple of times. This is something that he does frequently throughout the book, as well as refer to people he encounters with - mainly derogatory - nicknames for pretty much everyone he encounters, including his own wife (loamy loins, I ask you!)

After finally getting to the end I formed the conclusion that here we have a book written by a person who has absolutely no morals at all, totally no understanding or remorse for the lives he's destroyed through his pursuit of sex, drugs and money. This book is simply 500 pages of bragging about how much better he is than practically anybody else (heaven forbid you go to work and earn an honest living for a modest wage packet because in his eyes you'd be nothing but pond scum). He also seems to remember conversations and events in almost exquisite detail and considering most of his time was spent high as a kite I fail to see how that can be possible so I believe that a lot of what happened in this book is embellished to an extent - I am left wondering how much of it is actually true and how much is his own imagination.

It's nothing but self indulgent rubbish and I certainly won't be reading his second book and throwing more money at him. He truly is a despicable man. He looks down on everybody else when in reality it is he who is the lowest of the low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fast pace, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Admire the guy for turning it around and clearly very intelligent. Funny and sad. What happens next? Entertaining read though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the film!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Paperback)
Not often you hear that the film is better than the book yet sadly that's true for this stinker!

Jordan Belfort seems to remember exactly how much he paid for everything he's ever bought, jewellery, cars, hookers, drugs, clothes, the lot. He also remembers the exact amount of pills (mainly Quaaludes) he consumed during each night out.

Absolutely full of himself. In my opinion he needs a swift kick in the tits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WOLF OF WALL STREET, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Paperback)
"I had lots of nicknames: Gordon Gekko, Don Corleone, Kaiser Soze; they even called me the King. But my favourite was the Wolf of Wall Street, because that was me to a T. I was the ultimate wolf in sheep's clothing: I looked like a kid and acted like a kid, but I was no kid. I was thirty-one going on sixty, ..."

So says Jordan Belfort in the book of the film. It first appeared in 2007.

An often shocking book but Belfort writes engagingly. So, despite the material, it's a real page turner. I'm not surprised that Scorsese wanted to make the film version of it.

Jordan Belfort forms his own brokerage company called Stratton Oakmont. It's a great name which suggests solidity, continuity and oak lined paneling. A tradition of financial service to discerning clients. But it was all smoke and mirrors. And Belfort essentially ran an illegal bucket shop operation. So, to state the obvious, this book should not be compared with books on investment and finance!

"The Wolf of Wall Street" is more of a boisterous, lecherous, and venal hedonistic romp. (Leonardo DiCaprio has compared Belfort to a modern-day Caligula). Belfort clearly subscribes to the "Reality is due to a deficiency of good drugs" theory.

So seven years down the road and his wild story finally goes mainstream. Get this book if you want all the fine details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insanely amazing, excessive beyond belief!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't pit it down because i couldn't believe what I was reading. A ludicrously entertaining read, one of the best books I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing book! Definitely worth reading! Better than the film as well. The fact it's true makes it even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story just not particularly well written, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jordan has a very interesting story to tell and I'm sure Leonardo will do a great job bringing it to the big screen, it is just not particularly well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolf of Wall Street
The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews