Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great personal story from a great man with a great name.
Sir Ranulph Twisleton-Wykham-Fiennes was once described by his prospective father-in-law as "Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know." He is also described by the Guinness Book of Records as "the world's greatest living explorer" and this is the major part of the story of his life. I say `part' because, since this book was published in 2008, Ran Fiennes (as he is known) finally...
Published on 23 Jun 2009 by Ned Middleton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many near misses to feel any empathy
I was really looking forward to reading this book, as I held Ranulph Fiennes in such high regard & I still do. I started of being raptured by his adventures & near death experiances, but then quickly grew tiered of yet another near death escapade. I'm sure it's not a reflection on the man, but it was not the book I was hoping for. I guess I was hoping to find what drives...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by JohnJenner


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Irastorza Patricia (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
An amazing and inspirational human being. I now think twice about complaining when it's cold or hot or if I'm hungry etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, fantastic reading!, 24 Sep 2009
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
Get this if you want to be inspired and motivated to achieve in any walk of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Sep 2009
By 
L. O'Donnell "odoliam" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
The book can start a bit slow and I felt skipped through some aspects of his expeditions a touch too quickly. I'd prefer to hear a bit more about the team dynamics etc that RF lectures extensively about. However, it's only a mild gripe as over-all it's a very interesting read about a truely fascinating life - if only we could all experience a fraction of what he has!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 19 April 2009
By 
J. Milton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
I first heard of this book whilst watching an episode of Top Gear that had Sir Ranulph Fiennes as the Star in a Reasonably Priced Car. Through listening to what he had to say I thought this would be an interesting read and went ahead and bought it.

This book really is one adventure after another and time after time demonstrates not only the limits that the human body can be pushed to but the love one person can have for another. It is little wonder that Sir Ranulph has been used as a motivation speaker as his experiences and determination are something that are beyond imagination.

A highly recommended read! Insightful, funny and inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a hero/inspiring/nutter, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. K. O. Doran (blackpool, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
if you have seen the top gear interview you will understand why i got this book, what a living ledgand, if you think you have pushed yourself to the limit then you have no idea. the only man who has ever made made the sas selection sound like a walk in the park
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ranulph Fiennes- Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know, 26 Jun 2009
By 
P. Andrew (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Give as a Birthday present - recepient described book as exciting and an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my heroes, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Simply a great account of the life of a great adventurer. One of my favourite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know
Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know by Ranulph Fiennes (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£9.29
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews