Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great personal story from a great man with a great name.
Sir Ranulph Twisleton-Wykham-Fiennes was once described by his prospective father-in-law as "Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know." He is also described by the Guinness Book of Records as "the world's greatest living explorer" and this is the major part of the story of his life. I say `part' because, since this book was published in 2008, Ran Fiennes (as he is known) finally...
Published on 23 Jun. 2009 by Ned Middleton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves
The first half of the book is great - a fascinating account of survival in the polar regions. The second half: not so great. Mainly for the increasing awareness of third party accounts seemingly copy-and-pasted into the text; it reads lazy.
Published 1 month ago by Stephanie Postman


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great personal story from a great man with a great name., 23 Jun. 2009
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
Sir Ranulph Twisleton-Wykham-Fiennes was once described by his prospective father-in-law as "Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know." He is also described by the Guinness Book of Records as "the world's greatest living explorer" and this is the major part of the story of his life. I say `part' because, since this book was published in 2008, Ran Fiennes (as he is known) finally conquered Everest - at the age of 65!, in early 2009.

Throughout the book there is one single overriding quality which stands out above all others; For all the accolades poured upon this man, few bother to mention the fact that he is an engaging writer with the gift of capturing the reader's attention. Whether he is white-water rafting or walking to the South Pole, he has the knack of including his readers as part of the team and takes them along for the ride. This is why this book is so hard to put down.

It is an honest account of the life of someone unable to sit still. From his earliest recollections and formative years we move on to his service as an officer with 22 SAS and being required to leave after some exuberant exploits with explosives (and a betrayal by the press!) from where he later re-emerges as a Trooper (private soldier) in one the SAS reserve squadrons. An illuminating account of his active service in Oman is followed by an even more exciting narrative in which, his team travelled along some of the most dangerous and uncharted rivers in the world from the Yukon to the USA as a celebration of British Columbia's centenary. He was also considered by Cubby Broccoli for the part of James Bond!

The next 16 chapters are filled with expeditions and explorations too numerous to mention here. They include his circumnavigating the globe via both Poles, his use of an old hacksaw to saw off the ends of two fingers lost to frostbite and so many other achievements and hardships it is difficult to believe they were all undertaken by one man. Liberally filled with anecdotal accounts - such as the briefest explanation of the Royal Scots Greys, this book answers questions I had not yet asked.

Throughout it all, however, there comes across an image of the man himself and of his love for his family. In an excellently crafted autobiography, we meet Ginny, his childhood sweetheart and later the wife he almost never won. We continuously learn of her active involvement and support in his many exploits until we finally discover her own unsuccessful fight against cancer. Her passing is recorded with such simple honesty that no reader will fail to feel her loss as though she were one of their own family. The darkness which followed is such that we find great relief in seeing this fine person eventually able to continue his life as before. Completing seven marathons in seven days on seven continents, he just persists in exciting and astounding those who observe. By the time he finds a new love and a new family, we have become so close to this "central character" that we find ourselves experiencing relief and wishing him well.

On finishing this, quite amazing, story, I was left with the clear impression that somehow this was only the beginning and that more was to come. Already, he has finally conquered Everest but I doubt that even that magnificent feat will be the finale to this man's performance in the role of living his own life. Of one thing, however, I can be certain; Nobody will record his feats better than the man himself and I eagerly await part two of this incredible journey. This book cannot disappoint any reader.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paul d, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
P. Dodd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
I like to read biographies about people who have achieved something and have a good story to tell. Ranulph Fiennes definately fits into that category. I took this book to turkey for a holiday read. I read this book in 40 degree heat whilst reading about Fiennes' travels in minus 40 degree plus temperatures! The man is definately mad, has a cardiac arrest, then recovers and runs seven marathons in seven days! I am not a climber or an arctic adventurer by far, so i was a bit confused by some of the terminology. This aside a very enjoyable book about a modern day hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's mad in a way that only the English can be., 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Greatest Living Explorer in the world (Guinness Book of World Records).

Quintessential English hero, does the unthinkable with a nonchalance that beggars belief. By all rights he should have perished more times than I could count. To me there seems no surer way to die than to face the hostile elements he not only faced, but Raced in. Setting record after record, crossing hundreds of miles of territory where average temperatures will kill exposed limbs in 3 minutes flat. And this is done without support, two men pulling sleds, that's it - no planes, no supply dumps, no rescue.

Just weeks after a double heart bypass, Fiennes completed 7 marathons, on 7 continents, in 7 days. On completeing it he said "I wouldn't do it again. It was Mike Stroud's idea". He was nearly 60 at the time.

At 65 he climbed Mt Everest.

He has circumnavigated the world, via the North and South poles.
Walked to both poles, crossing Antarctica coast to coast, took a hovercraft up the Nile River. . . Well there are so many remarkable achievements, not least of which being raising £14 million for carity. Doctor, Knight and one of the top 100 living geniuses.

Ask him and he will steadfastly refuse to admit that he is anything special, just a guy looking to make ends meet. In his eyes he is just another travel writer. He will I think admit to a certain English eccentricity, that lovable madness behind most great occurrences in English history.

The humble, character filled personality that lurks behind an intelligent steady gaze comes through very clearly in his writing. It is a book that is remarkably frank, surprisingly candid and shares some of the deepest heartache any man can know. There is no fanfare, no self congratulations, no seeking of approval or recognition, just a quiet determination.

Read the book, get the measure of this Man of all men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 10 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. Y. P. Brown (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded a sample of this to my husband's kindle as I thought it was the sort of thing he would like. Lying in the sun I picked up his kindle as I couldn't read my tablet in the sun. I read the sample and had to buy the whole thing, I just simply could not put it down. Fabulous man, great autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, 25 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
MB&DtK is a wonderful read. I had heard of Sir Ranulph Fiennes through various media coverage over a number of years, but my knowledge was generally quite patchy. This book describes his extraordinary life and exploits in breath-taking detail.

The guy is absolutely amazing; a real 'Boys Own Adventure' in the flesh. Not only do we learn about his astonishing Polar exploits and the horrendous hardships he endured, but the various other endeavours leave the reader equally gob-smacked.

The description of his mountain climbing exploits and his amazing 7 marathons, in 7 continents in 7 days simply beggar belief!

If Britain had more men like Sir Ranulph (in politics, in industry) we wouldn't be in the state we are today!

This is an astonishing life told in an immensely readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know, 10 July 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
Ranulph Fiennes has lead a most extraordinary and inspirational life and `Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know' is the autobiography that recounts it for us. He has participated in numerous endurance events and has achieved many world first explorations and to read of his tenacity and determination is at times awe inspiring. From his early days in the SAS, boating the Yukon, the worlds first global circumnavigation via the poles, a desert archaeology expedition, an Antarctic crossing, running 7 marathons in 7 days across 7 continents, his attempt at climbing Everest and finally his Eiger climb, this book offers up adventure and explorers spirit on every page. This is written in a clear and engaging style, although I did find it lacking in real emotion at times. It is a rich, description of his various exploits, but you never truly know how he feels about them. There are two sections of photos, but these aren't on the glossy paper typically used for these sections in books and they are in black and white. Never the less, they illustrate the various expeditions and events from his life well. All in all this is an interesting and inspirational book and if you enjoy adventure/survival books then this is well worth reading. Other polar books worth reading if this has piqued your interest are `Mawsons Will' (which is one of the best Polar books I have ever read) and the account of James Cracknell and Ben Fogles Antarctic race.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good British inspiration, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A formidable character who constantly challenges himself and never gives in.

Well written, I've read it 4 times now and know it wont be the last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful mix of personal narrative and technical detail., 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book on the life of one of Britain's foremost adventurers and explorers. This book details a life spent engaging in arduous challenges of many types all over the world. There is an engaging mix of personal accounts of hardship on expeditions against a back drop of upbringing, schooling and significant relationships. This was such a good read that I was sorry when I had finished it. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy is one tough cookie!, 21 Nov. 2007
This man has been there, done that, and already has the T-shirt! From Mountain climbing some of the worlds toughest peaks to traveling overland to both poles Fiennes has lifed life at the extremes. This one is as page turning as any modern fictional thriller, though even more exciting ast it actually happened. For more mountain adventures I highly recommend "Across the High Lonesome."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb autobiography by a remarkable man, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know (Paperback)
One of the most enjoyable autobiographies i have ever read, which inspired me to read two more books by Ran Fiennes which I have greatly enjoyed too.

He has led the most remarkable life, and accomplished so much more than most of us could ever dream of - yet he has experienced real hardships too - the loss of his much loved first wife to illness, his heart attack near the top of Everest to name but two - all covered here with honesty and considerable charm.

But what a life - 7 marathons in 7 days on 7 continents - after heart surgery anyone? How about climbing the sheer north face of the Eiger despite a deep seated fear of heights? Fiennes covers these adventures, his truly remarkable polar exploits, his early life including his experiences in the SAS, and much more here.

a truly enjoyable account of an amazing life so far.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know
Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know by Ranulph Fiennes (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews