Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars romance - suspense, what more could you want?
With her first originally published in hardcover romance/suspense novel author Lisa Jackson introduces an over the top psychopathic villain who not only murders but does so in grisly scenarios, leaving scenes that appal even the most jaded investigators. Who he is and why he's doing this is the pivotal question in Shiver.

Set in pre-Katrina New Orleans a...
Published on 9 April 2006 by Gail Cooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shiver
I have read lots of books by this author and usually enjoy them. But this one literally made me cringe. There is a serial killer on the loose, connected to the hospital and to Abbey, she finds an unlocked window and a missing gun. Why would she think it's a good idea to go to an abandoned mental institution in the middle of the night on her own. Sheesh.
Published 1 month ago by Debra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars romance - suspense, what more could you want?, 9 April 2006
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shiver (Hardcover)
With her first originally published in hardcover romance/suspense novel author Lisa Jackson introduces an over the top psychopathic villain who not only murders but does so in grisly scenarios, leaving scenes that appal even the most jaded investigators. Who he is and why he's doing this is the pivotal question in Shiver.

Set in pre-Katrina New Orleans a prologue paints a terrifying scene. The place is Our Lady of Virtues Mental Hospital where lovely 35-year-old Faith Chastain is incarcerated. She is told that she's delusional, and now she's beginning to believe that's true as the sisters stare at her with "compassionate, disbelieving eyes......And the doctor, cold, clinical, with the bedside manner of a stone monkey, talked to her as if she were a small, stupid child."

Still, she knows someone is in the room and that he will touch her. She panics and tries to escape as she feels his hands upon her. There is only one avenue to freedom - out the window and to the ground below. It is her birthday, and her young daughter, Abby, has come bringing a gift only to see her mother plummet to her death.

Segue now to 20 years later. Abby and her sister, Zoey, are adults - the same age as when their mother died. Abby has married and divorced. Luke had been a confirmed womanizer who even had an affair with Zoey while engaged to Abby. Thus, the sisters are estranged. Abby lives with her cat, Ansel, and makes her living as a freelance photographer. She is haunted by memories of visits to Our Lady of Virtues and her mother's sudden death.

Detective Reuben Montoyo, whom we met in Hot Blooded and Cold Blooded, appears when he is called to one of the most gruesome crime scenes he has ever encountered. Two people are dead - Luke has been shot and a young woman dressed in a bridal gown lies on top of him. Some would like to consider this a murder/suicide, but Montoyo knows better - and so does all of New Orleans when another double murder scene is found.

The detective's only clues lead him to Abby, Luke's widow, and the now deserted mental hospital. Who or what could be capable of such heinous crimes?

Voice performer Joyce Bean delivers a taut, tension filled reading, especially in the opening scenes where Abby is alone in her isolated home and feels that someone may be watching her.

Author Jackson keeps listeners and readers on the edges of their chairs, totally engrossed by a compelling plot line. She's a pro at blending romance with suspense, which continues to earn fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 13 Sep 2006
Totally disagree with the other reviewer. I really enjoyed this book and have read many of Lisa Jacksons books and have enjoyed them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of twists, like it promises, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Juliana Apopei (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shiver (Paperback)
Great book, loved it, loved the plot, loved the characters, I wish I could come up with such ideas!
I don't think is necessary for me to go into detail, as other readers have done so, so I can only say I agree with most of their comments and I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shiver lisa jackson, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Shiver (Paperback)
this was the first book that i read by lisa jackson and i loved it, it even led to me buying more of her books and collecting the entire series of the montoya and bentz collection. i loved the story and the people in the book and i also loved the romance in the book, i like the fact that it wasnt just another book that only focused on the killer and the killings, i loved getting to know the people in the story abby, montoya and bentz being the main players. i found the story both chilling and scary but i could not put the book down and was a little sad when i finished the book. so i went out and bought alot more of lisa jacksons books and curled up on the sofa and got stuck in and i have not been disappointed with any of her books... i am a big fan x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shiver, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read lots of books by this author and usually enjoy them. But this one literally made me cringe. There is a serial killer on the loose, connected to the hospital and to Abbey, she finds an unlocked window and a missing gun. Why would she think it's a good idea to go to an abandoned mental institution in the middle of the night on her own. Sheesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good book well worth reading have read a lot of her books and have enjoy every one will read a lot more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shiver, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good and exciting story. Breathtaking plots. Full of twist and turns. Plenty action through out story. Would recommend this book to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Thriller, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Lisa Jackson has excelled herself - kept me on the edge of my seat thrilling. Great thriller what a writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shiver (Paperback)
Couldn't put it down from start to finish, excellent book, recommend this author, hopefully all her books are this good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 27 April 2012
By 
E. Fuge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lisa Jackson at her best.I love her characters and the same Detectives appear in several of her books.It is a real edge of the seat story that is a proper puzzler.Never did i ever guess the twist at the end.In all a terrific read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shiver
Shiver by Lisa Jackson (Paperback - 20 Mar 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews