Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Kind Of Snow, Antony Woodward and Robert Penn - A book for all seasons
There seems to be an insatiable market for compendiums of odd facts, and a huge array of books written to try and fulfil that desire. Amongst such a wealth of competition, it is hard for the authors of such a book to find some unique angle and make it stand out form the crowd.

Woodward and Penn have managed to do just that with this delightful almanac. Taking...
Published on 1 Oct. 2009 by Victor

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Kind of Snow
Recommended by a course tutor. Interesting, but not sure I would have bought it had I got it from the library first.
Published on 25 May 2009 by W. Reid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Kind Of Snow, Antony Woodward and Robert Penn - A book for all seasons, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
There seems to be an insatiable market for compendiums of odd facts, and a huge array of books written to try and fulfil that desire. Amongst such a wealth of competition, it is hard for the authors of such a book to find some unique angle and make it stand out form the crowd.

Woodward and Penn have managed to do just that with this delightful almanac. Taking that perennial British obsession, the weather, as its theme the authors have found an astonishing array of stories, myths and facts linked to the theme. The research is extensive, the writing witty and informative, and the whole thing is a delight.

For each day of the year there is presented some historical weather facts (such as the highest and lowest recorded temperatures), a weather story from history that took place on that date, some weather related quotes from famous personages, and some fascinating general weather facts. Also included is a detailed decoder for the shipping forecast and a series of other notes regarding scales and measurement methods.

A distinctive book which really stands out from the crowd. Great to dip into occasionally, or to read in one go. Recommended for all those who enjoy a magpie approach to collecting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong kind of snow - right kind of book,, 9 Aug. 2009
By 
Paul "PB" (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
This is probably the best and the worst book about the weather you could buy as a gift for someone close to you.

The best because it is packed with fascinating, witty and informative facts, events, stories and quotes without ever getting close to the point of being a 'text book'. Writing in a friendly, non-patronising and non-sensational fashion the authors even make the dullest weather day - 18 March - interesting for being so dull.

The worst? Becasue if like me the person you buy it for likes to share, then you are in for a never ending stream of interruptions as the reader gives you 'just one more' excerpt.

This book just cries out to be shared. Like a packet of sweets, every day of the year is illustrated with perfectly structured morsels of historical interest that are best enjoyed by sharing. And if you are a weather geek, and which Englishman isn't a weatehr geek at heart, weather highs and lows are provided for each day along with an 'average' forecast.

All in all I couldn't find any fault with this book and could go on and on about its good points.

Buy it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Kind of Snow, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
The best kind of bedside or lavatory book. It gives an entertaing account of the weather, fair or foul over the years which has had a lasting effect or left a significant memory to the local people or, on occasion the nation, on a day by day basis throughout the year. Fact and myth are explored equally. Well researched and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service and book., 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
I saw this in the library and then bought it second hand on Amazon for a gift. It arrived in perfect condition. I did tell the recipient it was second hand but they wouldn't have known otherwise. The recipient had kept a weather diary for years so absolutely lived this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
Interesting book. I Bought it as a present for christmas and my husband loves it! Very happy and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Kind of Snow, 25 May 2009
By 
W. Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain (Paperback)
Recommended by a course tutor. Interesting, but not sure I would have bought it had I got it from the library first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain
The Wrong Kind of Snow: How the Weather Made Britain by Antony Woodward (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2008)
£8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews