Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Burning wire
I've been a Jeffrey Deaver fan for years; I particularly like the Lincoln Rhyme series. The idea of a paralysed man solving murders for his bedroom is far fetched. However Deaver's novels are written with a skill that makes it believable. Rhymes character, as a tetchy, frustrated, slightly intolerant criminal scientist is brilliant.
I will not spoil the story by...
Published on 22 Aug. 2010 by Mrs

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow, boring, predictable.
Although a big fan of Deaver's Rhyme books I have to warn you, this one is dreadful. Slow plodding plot and the characters have become so one dimensional. Suspenseful chapter endings no longer intrigue as you just KNOW that Rhyme will have figured it out and send a SWAT team (which in Deaver land are instantly available) to stop the baddy in his tracks. Time he stopped...
Published on 20 Sept. 2010 by Henry. Partridge


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Burning wire, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs "Addicted book worm" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a Jeffrey Deaver fan for years; I particularly like the Lincoln Rhyme series. The idea of a paralysed man solving murders for his bedroom is far fetched. However Deaver's novels are written with a skill that makes it believable. Rhymes character, as a tetchy, frustrated, slightly intolerant criminal scientist is brilliant.
I will not spoil the story by referring to the plot, other to say twenty years ago it would have been ridiculous, the fact that it is possible adds to the pace of the book.
The book is, as with all Deaver's novels, good, well constructed and gallops along, with a brilliant twist in the tale.
I refer to the book, however this was an audio book, I feel I cannot give a review of the story without commenting on the reader. Kerry Shale is an excellent reader; the variety of tones, dialects and accents is superb. All in all a jolly good read (or listen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Deaver classic, 6 July 2010
By 
As soon as I see a Jeffery Deaver book i have to have it, and fortunately for my addiction I have to fly alot and so get to buy the airport exclusives.

The Burning Wire is another part of the Lincoln Rhyme series - mixing together an old story of the watchmaker and also kathryn Dance. The story itself is rather different to the usual murder mystery, and the subject of electricity and how deadly it can be is just a fascinating thing to leaen about at the same time as keeping the story suspenseful and on edge.

It is written in true Deaver style, with the twists and turns happening a plenty.

For any Deaver fan, I would say that this does not disapoint in the slightest - and as for people who are new to Deaver - although you would probably be better off having read some of his earlier work to know the history and stories behind the characters, the book is still readable and enjoyable even if you havent done so - as Deaver manages to give enough detail without being repetitive for fans, or too light on the details for newbies.

As for the ending - if you see that one coming then you should be a writer yourself! (or at the very least a detective!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rhyme and reason, 27 July 2010
By 
John Grimbaldeston (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
The twists and turns are there as usual, though not quite so many in the middle section as the "unsub"/"perp" seems to be getting the better of Rhyme: is the omniscient criminalist, trapped in his room and his crippled body, losing his touch? In the course of the book we learn rather more than we need to know about electricity and how it can kill us, several new acronyms - and in case we complain we are given a precise definition of the word "acronym" which might at least make any such criticism of the author more precise - and the unfinished fate of the watchmaker from a previous book. Tremendous fun, with at least two surprises for us at the end, though Rhyme's second guesses of the criminal's intentions for much of the book are less brilliant than we are used to, hence four stars rather than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it - very typical Deaver, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
This was absolutely typical Deaver fare - I like it alot and learned quite a bit about electricity that I didn't know !! The only quibble I have is that the end got just to convoluted but again it is what we expect from Mr Deaver.

It will keep you page turning and the relationships in the previous books all move forward and develop at a gentle pace that is reassuring for future novels.

Well worth the price ticket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow, boring, predictable., 20 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
Although a big fan of Deaver's Rhyme books I have to warn you, this one is dreadful. Slow plodding plot and the characters have become so one dimensional. Suspenseful chapter endings no longer intrigue as you just KNOW that Rhyme will have figured it out and send a SWAT team (which in Deaver land are instantly available) to stop the baddy in his tracks. Time he stopped churning these out and write something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deaver at his most cantankerous..., 30 May 2013
Having been underwhelmed by the couple of Rhyme/Dance books that preceded this one, I no longer feel the same need I once used to enjoy in rushing out to buy and read the latest Deaver/Rhyme/Dance novels.

Where Deaver once used to be original and compelling, he's now sadly becoming a carbon copy of himself with originality and excitement now in somewhat scant supply. To me, Deaver has become very age-ist over the last five years, channeling his real life bigotry against the younger, more IT savvy generation through his character - Lincoln Rhyme's - own cantankerous and increasingly tiring rants and opinions. Ron Pulaski - who has now been in the novels for years and in that time must surely have become very experienced in his own right, is still aggressively named 'the Rookie' while another young FBI character is contemptuously referred to simply as 'The Kid'. In latter day Deaver novels, it now seems certain that in his opinion, anyone under the age of thirty clearly knows nothing about nothing. Is Deaver so angry with the younger generation of writers who are now arguably more cutting edge than he is and stealing his once unrivalled thunder? It appears so.

The sheer predictability of this novel was another low point, less the cat and mouse style plot that once graced 'The Coffin Dancer', more like below par 'Jonathan Creek'. Just how many more times is he going to instruct Amelia Sachs on walking the grid when she's been walking it for the last ten or more years? If she - and Pulaski too - don't know it by now they never surely will. As another reviewer's also said, this and the evidence charts are now simply being used as padding to disguise the fact that Deaver is running out - or in my opinion already has run out - of fresh ideas to fill a 400 plus page novel.

As for his killers, well the antagonists for his novels become more and more bizarre and unbelievable with each new episode and it puzzles me what 'wacky' killing method the next one will adopt... a psycho clown causing death by comedy inflatable balloons maybe? I'd actually probably welcome that though even then, the killer would also still undoubtedly possess a genious level IQ but has inexplicably turned to crime... and obviously no match for Lincoln, easily the cleverest man that's ever lived on the face of the earth.

The Burning Wire is at best average and at worst a complete snoozefest... I'm genuinely wondering whether I'm actually reading the same story as other Deaver fans who seemingly gushingly rave about each new work. Maybe I'm just getting more demanding in the intelligence of my reads while they're getting less, a controversial statement I know.

I can't give it one star - it filled my time even though it took an age to read this book - but certainly nowhere near the heights he once used to hit. Two stars I think is appropriate, just below average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THIS WILL OVERLOAD YOUR BRAIN CIRCUITS, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If a fast moving, exciting suspense thriller is what you're seeking, steer clear of Jeffrey Deaver's latest offering THE BURNING WIRE.

The ingredients necessary to infuse the story with drama are there. We have Lincoln Rhymes, a quadriplegic criminalist who lives in his mind once again matching wits with his nemesis, The Watchmaker. There is also a perpetrator attempting to bring an electrical company to its knees using electricity and arc flashes as his weapon of choice (particularly frightening when one considers that he attacks at random and his weapon (electricity) is in every home, office and commercial building). Added to the mix are some fairly interesting secondary characters like FBI agent Fred Dellray and inventor Charlie Sommers. Unfortunately, the story is cluttered with a plethora of peripheral information that inhibits its flow. Subjects like the electrical system in New York City, the use of regional grids, the symptoms and treatment of autonomic dysreflexia associated with spinal cord injuries, the pros and cons of "green energy", not to mention the repeated and never-ending practice of "walking the grid" and reviewing of evidence. Granted, little background information is always helpful, but Mr. Deaver has taken it to the extreme. After reading this book I could probably re-wire my house plus give a half way decent presentation on the care of spinal cord injury patients and the various treatments available to them.

Mr. Deaver in the future please give us more story and less instructional "filler". 2 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much information, 29 July 2010
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
After reading the Roadside Crosses I was happy to see Lincoln Rhyme back with a bang after reading the first few pages of the Burning Wire at the back of the book.
However getting further into the book I kept thinking I needed some sort of degree in electricity and the laws of electrocution. Where as the book is enjoyable enough there is too much unnecessary detail about the dangers of electricity turning half the book into a Health & Safety manual. I liked some of the twists and turns but felf that the last twist was a bit of a cop out and come on has Lincoln not been in this place before asking whether he should go through with the op. Deaver please go bring back the style and class of your early 2 especially the Coffin Dancer which was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't see it coming ..., 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
Jeffery Deaver is the king of twists in stories and whenever I read his book I try to keep an eye open for red herrings and try to figure out who did it and this time I thought I'd had it ... how wrong I was.

The Burning Wire is the continuation of the Lincoln Rhyme series, which sees see him back solving crimes using forensic science with his team. The great thing about these books is that there is character development and continuation over the series so it's always a pleasure to see what is happening to what now feels like old friends. Not only this there are references to old cases and characters from other books.

The story line is based on a perp who is running around using electricity as a weapon to create arc flashes and other nasty things while Rhyme and the team collect the forensic evidence and try to piece together who has done it and where the next target will be. There is suspense and twists and turns which you do not see coming.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any Lincoln Rhyme fan. However if you are new to the series I would suggest starting from the beginning of the series, The Bone Collector, in order to understand the characters and their interactions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked Spark!, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) (Hardcover)
Someone is using the electical grid system in New York to murder people. Lincoln Rhyme, along with the FBI, the NYPD, and Homeland Security are trying to track the killer down, before they strike again.

The Burning Wire gets off to a fast start, as a small urban power station is overloaded causing an arc flash to kill a passerby. The story is very exciting for the first 100 or so pages, and the characters of Rhyme, Sachs etc, are solid. However, as the story progressed I felt it became a bit 'bogged down'. Overall, it is not a bad thriller, but not one of the better ones in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers)
The Burning Wire: Lincoln Rhyme Book 9 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) by Jeffery Deaver (Hardcover - 22 July 2010)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews