Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One thoroughly nice man and his desire to be a proper grown up person.
The To Do List is a delightfully friendly, positive and life affirming read. It is generously populated with Mike Gayle's many friends and family - a lovely crowd - I felt more than pleased to spend time with them all. Underneath the challenge of completing his long languishing dreams of self improvement, resolutions and ambitions, there is strong thread of the warm,...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by Mrs. Katharine Kirby

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't rush to put this on a "to read" list...
Being a list fanatic myself, I was intrigued by the premise of this book. Mike Gayle, having a bit of a crisis, decides to write down everything he has been meaning to do, from the mundane (wipe up the spilt milk under the fridge) to the life-enhancing (tell his parents he loves them). It works on the old premise that if you write it down, you're more likely to do it...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by S.M. Gidley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One thoroughly nice man and his desire to be a proper grown up person., 23 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
The To Do List is a delightfully friendly, positive and life affirming read. It is generously populated with Mike Gayle's many friends and family - a lovely crowd - I felt more than pleased to spend time with them all. Underneath the challenge of completing his long languishing dreams of self improvement, resolutions and ambitions, there is strong thread of the warm, tolerant understanding between Mike and his wife Claire that I especially enjoyed. This provides great humour - deliciously sharp. The list of over a thousand 'to do' items at the back of the book is exhaustive; sensibly he didn't write about every single aim. Love of his family beams through the prose together with abundant comfortable fellow feelings that cheer and encourage. The book is amusing, sympathetic and bereft of moans. Somehow he is able to get through the year without mentioning any real shortage of funds so hopefully he is doing well with his writing of all kinds. A contemporary theme of somehow not being quite up to the mark, will strike a chord with a good number of readers. What a clever, tidy ending, too, the perfect finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't rush to put this on a "to read" list..., 17 Dec 2009
By 
S.M. Gidley (Sidmouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
Being a list fanatic myself, I was intrigued by the premise of this book. Mike Gayle, having a bit of a crisis, decides to write down everything he has been meaning to do, from the mundane (wipe up the spilt milk under the fridge) to the life-enhancing (tell his parents he loves them). It works on the old premise that if you write it down, you're more likely to do it. Except Mike's list strays past the 1,000 mark and he gives himself a year to complete it.

Does it work as a book? Sort of. You certainly get behind the project, but his style becomes trying, particularly all the matey recreated dialogue that really starts to grate. And you don't get anywhere near enough details about the items on the list. For example, does he manage to become someone's mentor? We don't know, he doesn't say, but I guess that would have been an interesting and maybe even inspiring story to the reader. Instead we get pages on how he flies to New York to buy his wife a mug.

Gayle's summing up of the project at the very end of the book is worth the wait and he has clearly derived a great deal from it; it's just a shame that there isn't more of this all the way through. You'll spend a lot of your time reading this waiting for him to get to some kind of point and it never really arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit form MIke Gayle!, 15 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
This book is a slight departure by Mike Gayle as he is writing fact rather than his usual fiction. It is about what happens when a man ( Gayle ) decides on the eve of his Birthday to make a list of all of the things he needs to do to be a 'grown up' or like the next door neighbours who are always having posh dinner parties and seem too grown up for words.
The items on the list range from 'Clean up milk from under the fridge' to 'Can double denim ever work' with random subjects in between!
This book is not just a random lists book as Mike Gayle finds out a lot about himself and his interactions between friends , family and life in general.
This is a great book but I wish that Mike had included a brief description of some of the tasks not fully covered in the book along side the list of items at the back of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars repetitive, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
This book became rather repetitive as it went on. The guys wife deserves a medal for putting up with his obsessiveness and it made me wonder how he would have felt had it been her with the list. Ok for an easy read but for me no more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea........., 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
I thought the idea behind the book was interesting and it was an enjoyable enough read just felt it was lacking in excitement for me. His To-Do list could have been more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple idea, surprisingly compelling, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
Despite the fact that this is the type of book that only published authors would ever get paid to write, there is something oddly compelling about sneaking a peek at another's 'to-do list'. In it, Gayle writes a list of everything he has ever wanted or needed to do and sets about getting it all done before his next birthday, enlisting the help of his friends as referees. Watching him try to complete it, particularly when he frequently appears to teeter on the brink of failure, is quite addictive. A mundane topic but surprisingly able to hold the attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but instructive too, 28 Dec 2008
By 
M. Forster (HORSHAM, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
I have to declare an interest in this book because I am the "time management guru" whom Mike Gayle consults at the beginning of his efforts to complete his 1,277 item to-do list.

He writes in a very engaging and entertaining style, but there is a serious purpose too. The to-do list starts to take on a life of its own, and even when he tries to give it up he still finds himself mentally ticking off items. By the end he has discovered a lot about himself and about what is really important in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 29 April 2009
By 
S. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
I'm a massive Mike Gayle fan and have loved all his previous books. So it pains me to right anything negative about his efforts.

In places I found The To Do List very entertaining and funny. I could identify with many of his tasks. It was thought provoking and promted me to think about creating my own list. However I was left feeling partially frustrated as parts of the book are quite dull.

When I got to the end of the book and read all 1277 things on the list, there were many that sounded potentially more interesting than the items he wrote about.

Despite my criticism I still love Mike Gayle and would recommend any of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brightened up my holiday and i was determined to adopt ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The To-do List (Paperback)
Brightened up my holiday and i was determined to adopt the principle-but failed badly. Its a light-hearted and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The To-Do List (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoy reading Mike Gayle books. This one is as funny as ever and something you can imagine doing in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The To-do List
The To-do List by Mike Gayle (Paperback - 24 Dec 2009)
7.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews