Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2001
I first read this in 1985 and whilst a teenager. Since then I have probably read it another dozen or so times and it loses nothing of it's power however well you know the outcome. It is easily the one book that has had a profound impact on my life and hopefully Oskar's lessons have made me a better person. On the strength of Schindler's Ark I visited Kracow to see the ghetto, and Auschwitz, and when I could choose a history course to teach, chose one involving Nazism. Although unbearably sad, it remains an incredibly uplifting tale - everyone should read it!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2002
This is Oskar Schindler' story. A story of determination, strength and courage in the face of adversity. Schindler was a German businessman and Nazi party member. Wealthy and successful, he decided to set up a factory in Poland producing supplies for the German army in Russia. He would employ Jews.
Initially, you do not picture Schindler as a philanthropist. He is an entrepreneur, his passion is money and the full enjoyment of life in luxury. As the story progresses, and he witnesses atrocities and acts of inhumanity towards the Jews, he uses his own money to bribe the SS and Police and to buy Jews to work for him, thus saving them from a very uncertain future in the hands of the SS.
As the rest of the world stood by and did little, we learn of one man's quest to do as much as he could for those in his care.
It is not fair to say that others did not help, but Schindler clearly went further than most. This is a moving and heartbreaking story. In the end, Schindler made an enormous personal sacrifice, and put himself in danger to save those his countrymen were murdering. He saved one thousand lives. The death of Oscar Schindler was mourned by Jewish communities worldwide.
This story was the inspiration for the acclaimed film Schindler's List' starring Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley and Ralph Fiennes. The film is as good as the book.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
This is actually one of my favourite films. Unfortunately, I had seen the film before I read this book which I always feel detracts somewhat from the emotional impact I get from reading. However, on actually reading the book I was surprised to find that none of the initial emotional spark discovered on watching the film had gone. On the contrary, Keneally's writing seemed to further intensify the vividness of the stories and events portrayed in the film. I actually felt that I was there, eavesdropping on conversations. I could see all the events unfolding before my eyes.
I have actually visited both the concentration camps in Auschwitz and the description that Keneally gives of them in his novel is quite remarkably. He seems to be able to convey the general feeling of melancholy surrounding them as well as their chilling visual impact. This is a true story and the way Keneally is able to piece together the feelings and anecdotes of the survivor's into one hermetically sealed book is quite remarkable.
This book was the first that I read concerning the holocaust and since then it has given me a vivacious appetite to find out more, look deeper into the accounts of the survivors. I would recommend this book to everyone. Very powerful.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 November 2013
4.5 stars.

This is not a book to read on a beach. Not unless you want other sunseekers to potentially see your weeping face and open mouth as you delve into the true story of Oskar Schindler and the 1000+ Jewish men, women and children he almost literally dragged from out of the hands of the Nazis.

Keneally tries very hard to keep his portrait of Schindler unbiased. Not afraid to recount his womanising and (what we'd call now) 'playboy' ways, the reader sees Oskar from the many perspectives of eyewitnesses who have collaborated with the author to bring this tale to life.

Yes, he had affairs. He may also have occasionally been heavy-handed with employees and other men. But yes, he also spent his own money and contacts saving Jewish people from right out of the concentration camps and kept them alive to the very end of the war, to his own bankruptcy.

It's incredibly tense, moving, upsetting and just horrific. No details seem to be spared. There are a lot of names and families, among them the almost unbelievable Goeth, sometimes seen by the author as Schindler's dark twin. Their relationship is so dark and twisted, you can see how Spielberg was able to make it the heart of his film.

As a Jewish reader, one lucky enough to not have had family in Europe at this time in history, the implications of what happened in this book really hit home for me. And though a lot of detail wasn't new, the post-war world Schindler had to navigate was quite an eye-opener, from his letter signed by Jews vouching for him to having to travel in prisoners' clothes to avoid being taken for a fleeing Nazi officer. Nothing they cover in GCSE history.

An amazing account full of detailed testimony written into an engaging and thrilling narrative, the book really is powerful. Both this and the film cover an essential man, story and period that should be remembered. Flaws only make a man imperfect, they don't limit him. I found the ending of Oskar's story very touching, his downward path after performing some of the most selfless acts of bravery I'd ever heard of.

Really an essential read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2001
I too read the novel (which won the 1982 Booker Prize) after I saw the film. I too usually find that this detracts from reading the book, but it didn't in this case. The book is depressing because you wonder how can anyone act in that way, yet uplifting because there are some people willing to act against evil - at great cost. Everyone should read the book AND see the film.
My only quibble about the book is the ugly, small typeface.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
I watched Schindlers List, and decided to read the book that inspired the film. The attention to detail in extraordinary, and Keneally draws you into the terrifying, upside down world of Cracow during WW2. What really gets to you is how the corrupt Nazi machine, slowly ratchet the Jews towards their awful fate, and how evil seems to be accepted and tolerated almost without question. Schindler's complex character dominates the story, as his sheer force of charisma keeps the hopes of the Pfferbergs, Sterns, Bankiers and the workers in his plant alive. A great book that can't fail to affect the reader very deeply.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
"Schindler's Ark" is a truthful story about a brilliant liar, Oscar Schindler, who saved more than a thousand Jews during World War Two. Thomas Keneally thoroughly examined the facts connected with Schindler and his milieu to make an objective novel about "the pragmatic triumph of good over evil".

The author describes the war as the time of a cruel game between pro-Nazi governments and Jews. All horrors of the Holocaust are depicted minutely in order to show the chaos and amorality of that period.

Hiding was the only way for Jews and their families to survive. Being a risky and enterprising man, Herr Schindler opened and developed an enamel-ware factory where he guaranteed safety and food for every Jew he could take. By means of bribes, gifts and feasts for SS inspectors Oscar created a perfect mechanism of legal sheltering for hundreds of Jews, Schindler's Jews, as they named themselves.

So, who was Oscar Schindler? A cynical German businessman who used cheap Jewish labour to become a millionaire or a philanthropic man who applied his charisma and money to save them from Auschwitz? The author gives readers an opportunity to decide whether to call him a hero or not, but his outstanding services cannot be overrated.

What makes this book so special? The feeling of reality: real names, real events and real lives. No idealization, no author's interpretation, just pure facts ably combined into a perfect reading.

In 1982 the author was awarded the prestigious Booker Prize and in 1993 this novel was transformed into a dramatic black-and-white Steven Spielberg's movie "Schindler's List".

Memorable quote: "The reason I'm beating you now is you asked me why I'm beating you."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
The book focuses not only on the actions of Schindler, but the moral issues surrounding the Holocaust. Keneally's use of certain anecdotes gives internal views of the concentration camps. The book is moving and compelling, because of its sheer sadness. The aim is not so much to learn but to understand, and Keneally writes fluently. Thoroughly gripping, but emotionally prevoking, stories plunge readers into war-time Germany.The book's power comes from its startling simplicity; the plot allows us to feel shame, anger, bitterness and happiness all at once with its recital of the atmosphere of the concentration camps.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This book had me spellbound. I got a detention in my primary school because I was reading all the way through the lesson. It is remarkably moving, and I cried all through it, then when I thought the sadness was over, at the end I cried again because it was a little sad the way Oscar Schindler deteriorated in the final few pages, but this didn't feel anticlimactic or unfinished at all. The emotion in this book was (purposefully or not) meticulously constructed and different from other books I have read on the Holocaust, which was interesting. How can you say a book like this was really 'Enjoyable'? No, it was moving and fascinating, and one of the best books I have ever read, because of its sheer literary beauty. I begged my mother to let me watch the film, but she won't let me watch it until I'm fifteen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Of all the books written on the subject of the Holocaust, there can be little doubt that Thomas Kenealy's remarkable story will be one of the most enduring. Beautifully written and extremely well researched, this book is utterly compelling from page one. Its importance shouldn't be underestimated. Spielberg clearly did the book justice with his extraordinary screen adaptation. But as ever, the book outshines the silver screen.

THE STORY BEHIND THE STORY
In October 1980, the Australian novelist, Thomas Keneally found himself in Beverly Hills having just returned from a film festival in Sorrento in Italy. He had been invited by his American publisher to embark on a book tour in the States, but having stepped off the plane, his priority was to replace his briefcase which had been stuffed to the gills with Italian souvenirs and had now given up the ghost.

Not wanting to spend a small fortune on Rodeo Drive, he found a more modest looking street with ordinary looking shops, and here discovered the Handbag Studio. Its charismatic owner was stocky and appeared to be of Slavic stock and stood in the doorway eyeing up this prospective customer clutching his broken briefcase.

"So it's 105 degrees out here and you don't want to come into my air-conditioned store. Do you think I'll eat you?"

The proprietor was known locally as Leopold Page and was impeccably turned out. Keneally explained that he needed a new briefcase, and followed the owner into the shop.

The two engaged in a conversation. Leopold wanted to know how the case had become broken and what had brought this Australian to Beverly Hills. And in return, Keneally learnt that the proprietor's real name was Leopold Psefferberg, or simply Poldek for short. And once Keneally had revealed that he was an author, the other man became even more animated, introducing Keneally to his shop assistant, his son and finally his wife, Mischa who he clearly adored.

Having found a suitable briefcase and arranged for a $10 discount, Poldek took the author aside.
"Here's what I wanted to point out ... I know a wonderful story. A story of humanity man to man. I tell all the writers I get through here... But it's a story for you, Thomas. It's a story for you, I swear."

These are words that most writers would probably dread. Keneally may well have had visions of listening to the story, nodding politely, feigning interest and disingenuously promising to use it in some way by weaving it seamlessly into his next book.

But the more this engaging shopkeeper spoke, the more the professional storyteller became entranced.

The story was, of course, a gift for anyone in search of the perfect narrative.

Poldek and his wife were Jews and had been saved during the war by a Nazi by the name of Oskar Schindler - a womanising, drinking and gambling member of the Nazi party who demanded to fill his munitions factory in Krakow with Jews who he then looked after and protected like a guardian angel - knowing full well that their fate would otherwise be certain death.

Keneally had stumbled by chance on the entire storyline for his next novel, the details of which were meticulously filed in the form of countless press cuttings and photographs that Poldek produced from several filing cabinets. There were heartfelt speeches from Jewish survivors who owed their lives to Schindler; there was a lengthy piece on Schindler written by the Los Angeles Examiner; there were countless carbon copies of letters in German; and there was a notice of Schindler's death in 1974 and the reburial of his body a month later by the Israeli government on the Mount of Olives in Jerusalem where a tree was planted in his honour in the Avenue of the Righteous.

All this documentary evidence Poldek collated and then together with Keneally carried across the road to the local bank where, having exchanged words with one of the employees, the entire pile was copied on the bank's photocopier.

Keneally came away from the handbag shop with his head reeling. In his hand he carried his new briefcase stuffed full with the photocopies from the bank. There was so much material here, and all of it was totally engrossing. Among the numerous speeches was one by Schindler's Jewish accountant, a man named Itzhak Stern whose detailed account of Schindler's single-minded crusade to pluck Jews from the shadow of death, was made from Tel Aviv in 1963. Among countless other testimonies, there were documents and plans relating to Plaszow concentration camp on the northern edge of Krakow; a camp run by an SS sadist by the name of Amon Goeth from whom Schindler secured his labour for his first factory in Krakow.

Then there came the typewritten list of names of workers who were to be transported to Schindler's second factory, Brinnliz in Moravia. The list was hundreds of names long, and among them were the names of Leopold and Mischa Pfefferberg. Mischa was marked down as a metalworker and Lepold, a welder - despite the fact that he had never attempted to use a welding iron in his life. This list would become the focal point of the novel and eventually work itself into the title of both the book and the film to follow.

Also among the material was a faded typewritten translation of a remarkable speech given by Oskar Schindler on the last day of war in which he addressed both his labourers and the SS guards who had been ordered to exterminate the camp. While informing his former labourers that they were about to inherit a shattered world, he implored the guards to depart in honour without blood on their hands. It was a huge gamble, and the atmosphere must have been unbelievably tense. But the gambit, as was so often the case with Herr Schindler, paid off and the guards fled.

Interestingly, Keneally wasn't the only person to discover the story. In the early 1960s, while Oskar Schindler was still alive, the wife of the film producer Marvin Gosch had brought her handbag to the shop to be repaired. Once Poldek had established the identity of his customer, his powers of persuasion were put to good use and within weeks an appointment had been set up for him to see Marvin Gosch at the MGM Studios.

Hearing Poldek's story filled Gosch with such enthusiasm that he got together a team including Howard Koch who had worked on the screenplay for 'Casablanca', and together they began interviewing Schindler survivors. And then over the winter of 1962-63 Gosch, Kock, Poldek and Schindler met along with other Schindler survivors in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv. And following this meeting, MGM bought the rights to Schindler's story for $50,000. It was perfect timing for Oskar Schindler since his small cement business had only recently gone into liquidation and he was living on hand-outs from his survivors. According to Poldek, he'd insisted on paying $20,000 of this figure to Oskar's wife, Emilie Schindler. And the remaining $30,000 he took to Oskar.

As with so many film projects in Hollywood, the film never saw the light of day, and the story remained unknown to the wider world.

But while Keneally sat in his hotel room meticulously going through the precious contents of his new briefcase, he was called by Poldek and invited to dinner with himself, Mischa and Schindler's former lawyer, Irving Glovin. Keneally accepted, but initially felt that he wasn't the obvious choice of author for the book. After all, he wasn't Jewish, and didn't feel qualified to tell the story. But the more he talked to his hosts, the more he came to realise that the Holocaust told through the lens of Oskar Schindler would bring the whole unimaginable scale of the Holocaust down to an intimately human and tangible level. In Keneally's own words: "I had stumbled upon it. I had not grasped it. It - and Poldek had grasped me."

In 1982, Keneally's book, 'Schindler's Ark' was published to widespread acclaim, and in the same year went on to win Keneally the Man Booker Prize. And following its success, Poldek set himself his next mission in life: to persuade Stephen Spielberg to shoot the film. According to Poldek, he called Spielberg every week for eleven years. In truth, Spielberg needed little persuasion. He was so moved by the book that Universal Pictures bought the rights to the film, which Spielberg tentatively agreed to shoot on location in Poland in 1993. And Poldek became an advisor on the film, showing Spielberg the sites in Poland.

Spielberg saw the project as his contribution to his family and refused any payment, viewing it as "blood money." In March 1993 shooting began. Spielberg was insistent that the film had to look real and for this reason chose to shoot in the style of a black and white documentary, disposing with dollies and cranes and opting instead for handheld cameras.

As Spielberg later confided, the experience for him was highly emotional. "I was hit in the face with my personal life. My upbringing. My Jewishness. The stories my grandparents told me about the Shoah. And Jewish life came pouring back into my heart. I cried all the time."

The film went on to win seven Oscars including 'Best Film' and 'Best Director', along with a host of other accolades. Touchingly, Spielberg invited Poldek and his wife to accompany him to the Academy Awards night, and on accepting the awards, made a special mention of "a survivor named Poldek Pfefferberg... I owe him such a debt. He has carried the story of Oskar Schindler to all of us."

At the box office 'Schindler's List' proved far bigger than anyone could have imagined, grossing an astonishing $321.2 million worldwide. And when it received its television premier in the United States on NBC in 1997, it received no fewer than 65 million viewers.

Poldek went on to set up the Oskar Schindler Humanities Foundation, an organisation that recognises humanitarian acts by individuals, regardless of race or nationality, and when asked about his objectives, responded with the following words: "Only when the foundation is a reality will I say I have fulfilled my obligation. Because when I am no longer here, when the Schindler Jews are not here, the foundation will still go on."

Poldek died on 9 March 2001 having fulfilled his obligation many times over.

Alex Pearl is author of Sleeping with the Blackbirds
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.