Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book I actually finished! Must be good.
I am a very late comer to Russell Brand. I first became aware of him a few years ago on a very rare occasion. I was watching trashy TV ( Big Bros Little Bro). I saw this rediculous character with his seemingly contrived style and irritatingly strong accent and switched channels sharpish. My narrow mind had already sealed its oppinion upon this man as nothing more than a...
Published on 21 Nov. 2011 by Mr. Aj Des Forges

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in the fast lane, but also what its like to have mental health problems?
I don't fancy Brand but I sometimes like what he has to say, and the courage he has to say it. I liked the book more than I expected. I would never have bought this book except it was 49 pence in my local charity shop.

In the general chaos, there are a few intelligent and interesting observations, some funny parts, and even some passages of great writing...
Published 14 months ago by minty


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book I actually finished! Must be good., 21 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. Aj Des Forges (Bristol, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Paperback)
I am a very late comer to Russell Brand. I first became aware of him a few years ago on a very rare occasion. I was watching trashy TV ( Big Bros Little Bro). I saw this rediculous character with his seemingly contrived style and irritatingly strong accent and switched channels sharpish. My narrow mind had already sealed its oppinion upon this man as nothing more than a typical modern London media hawk.

It was a few years later that I randomly saw one of his stand-up shows ( on TV again, not live )... I was absolutely transfixed. I found his use of language during the performance to be absolutely incredible and like nothing I had seen before. This was like watching a one-man Shakespeare writing his entire works in one monologue without hesitation. And it was hilarious too.

So shortly after this I purchased the book. I thought the title was very silly and made me feel less inclined to read it. I mean, surely a man with such a grasp of language could come up with something better than 'My Booky Wook', a quasi child-like reference to innocent times. Perhaps.

The book pretty much grabs you from the first page, from 'I dedicate this book to the most important woman in my life, my Mum...Now for God's sake please don't read it'... and you can quickly see why. His honesty is astounding, and I truely admire it. I would never feel comfortable letting the whole world know all these dark and dirty things.

I think that because he is so honest, it takes the shame away and leaves you with essentially a nice likable bloke who had a slightly dodgy child-hood which typically influenced his adult behaviours. He also has an enviable talent in the art of communication.

I read the entire book in 2 days which is very unusual for me, I usually get bored half way through a book and give up. I found some of his use of language was inspiring and genious. In other parts it was a little contrived and un-necessary. I regularly laughed out loud whilst reading this book. Particularly the time he went to Turkey with Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon and ends up getting in trouble in a brothel.

I still do not understand the point in sex addiction clinics however, I mean... the more you deprive yourself of something, the more you want it. That's what I found anyway.

I am tempted to read Booky Wook 2 now, but for fear of over Branding myself, I will leave a gap of a few months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in the fast lane, but also what its like to have mental health problems?, 13 May 2014
By 
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Paperback)
I don't fancy Brand but I sometimes like what he has to say, and the courage he has to say it. I liked the book more than I expected. I would never have bought this book except it was 49 pence in my local charity shop.

In the general chaos, there are a few intelligent and interesting observations, some funny parts, and even some passages of great writing.

But what I was also aware from early in the book was the question as to whether RB had mental health issues e.g. Borderline Personality Disorder, Bi-polar or something else. His impulsivity, drug-taking, sexual excess etc seem to scream this. Yet he only makes reference to a possible mental health issue (depression) for one paragraph in the whole book. This is not to say I am not sympathetic - having such disorders can be extremely difficult. But maybe these same things give him the freedom to say and do whats outside normality and conventions, and there's some upside to that in Planet Bland Britain (even if at the same time the consequences of people's responses are painful to him personally). But regardless, the truths he does speak should stand alone and get credit regardless of other problems he may have.

As a few other reviewers have said, I found his father's behaviour pretty awful, though Brand himself seems to think there is nothing wrong with leaving your young child watching porn in the living room whilst you shag some bird in the next room.

But here are some of the passages I really liked:

p.3 "But it was the umpteenth time that I'd been confronted with the galling reality that there are things over which I have no control and people who can force their will upon you. Teachers, sex police, actual police, drug counsellors" ...How true!!! "In the end its just you alone"

p.21 "I ain't never really had much fun. I particularly dislike pre-ordained happy occasions. I don't mind Christmas so much, because everyone's involved, as long as theyre Christains or lazy atheists. But I've never had a good New Year's Eve, and I don't like birthdays, or any other time when you're meant to be happy ... For me happiness occurs arbitrarily: a momen of eye contact on a bus when you fall in love' or a frozen second in a park where its enough that there are trees in the world"

He also talks about the "old-fashioned sense of a monolithic working class community that had broken down" by the early 80s in Essex. Where "everything seemed broken and ugly, boring and vacant" a feeling I also get in large parts of UK. He also speaks of his dad's confident, masculine working class identity, something you also feel has largely gone.

His dad's listening to motivational tapes in the car affected Brand. He learnt "Now if I want something - a job, a woman - I will determinedly, resolutely, remove anything that's in the way, until I possess the object of my desire". Interesting!

"My dad's philosophy was (and I think still is) that life is a malevolent force, which seeks to destroy you, and you have to struggle with it. Only those who are hard enough will succeed. Most people get crushed, but if you fight, in the end life will go "Fkg hell. This one's serious. Let him through."

"In the midst of Oxford Street, with its perpetual, glum buzz, the constant dull throb of the buses..."

On the haughty air hostess "I wonder what will happen if I refuse to co-operate with this woman. I know she was just doing her job but I sensed she was enjoying being authoritative and we all know "just doing my job" is the excuse offered up for enacting genocide."

"Of all the consumer products, chewing gum is perhaps the most ridiculous: it literally has no nourishment - you just chew it to give yourself something to do with your stupid idiot Western mouth"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quest for fame, starting in Essex, 29 Oct. 2010
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Paperback)
Russell Brand is powerful with words. With an impressive range of vocabulary and an individual, charismatic style he describes his drug-, alcohol-, and sex-fuelled lifestyle from childhood to adulthood. He is (in my opinion) an unlikeable character - manipulative, calculating, selfish, egotistical, childlike, and messed up as a result of an unhappy childhood. But this is exactly what makes his book so compelling. The conundrum, and what your average reader working 9am-5pm in the office will be absolutely incredulous at, is how Mr. Brand manages to break rule after rule, get expelled from institution after institution, and get fired again and again, have complete disregard for all others, and still at the end of the day become successful in his line of work. Russell Brand is hugely talented and funny, giving him an innate ability to work an audience to get what he wants (i.e., attention and ultimately fame). This book will in places shock you, disgust you, sadden you, and enlighten you. Aside from Mr. Brand's escapades with prostitutes in the Far East, orgies in Hackney, and dives into crack houses with the homeless, the most eyebrow-raising parts of the book highlight his eccentricities. Have you ever kept a pet mouse in your hair? Or ordered room service in a hotel for your pet African snails?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but very frank, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Kindle Edition)
A very frank book about Russell's life, He writes like he talks and leaves nothing to the imagination.
Certainly not for minors or easily embarrassed readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Endearingly honest read, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Ms. A. Brooke "Anne Brooke" (Godalming, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Paperback)
First off, I have to admit Brand is not a man I greatly warm to, particularly after recent disasters, but there are moments in this book where I laughed out loud and it is written with a rather endearing honesty. There's something essentially Byronic about the man, in my opinion. And in some ways the book has made me like him better. But the astonishing thing - and the reason you must consider it as one for your reading list - is that it absolutely has the best last two pages I have ever read in any biography. Or any work of non-fiction indeed. And the utter best last line. It's stunning and it left me (a) in tears and (b) hugely impressed. If Brand can write like that with such piercing clarity and depth, then more please and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Great Read, 20 Jan. 2011
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Kindle Edition)
A book that is full of truths and events that have happened in a drama filled life for Russell Brand. A book in which he is very open in the events that have happened to him (or mainly he has brought on himself) in his life and leaves no detail unturned. From dodging public transport fares to his addictions to drugs and sex, this eye opening story of his life is a book in which i could not put down. Wrote in the way that only Russell himself could write, making it feel like he is reading it to you whilst you are reading it yourself (hand and body gestures aswell). When i evetually put this book down i felt like a knew alot more about Russell Brand, from the lows and highs to the ins and outs of clinics this book leaves you wanting more of what his later life intails. A recommendation for all that want a good honest and truthful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars S'alright innit., 20 Jun. 2015
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Paperback)
Proper funny. I'd forgotten how funny he used to be before he took up being annoying full time. You are sitting there reading it though, and thinking: Mate, you're telling me how to run the world whilst also admitting to being proper full on mental insane? (I am also mental, I'm allowed to say that). It's just like 'Mate, you're a nice bloke and that, but you ain't Jesus innit.' I also wonder about his support for Labour, when people like his mother who are grafters but live in London on low wages suffered so much under them. Anyway, the book's funny. But I didn't learn anything about politics, I just learned one should never remove ones underwear in the presence of Russell Brand. It will just end badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only book I would read more than once, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Kindle Edition)
You won't be able to put this book down. Downloaded this book to read in lunch times at work, started it one lunch time, finished it by bed time three days later, downloaded the next one straight away. It's open, honest and Russell Brand doesn't hold back with any details, thoughts, feelings, philosophies, what an extraordinary human being. I never read a book more than once, I usually give them away afterwards to prevent my house becoming a fire hazard stuffed with paper. This (and Booky Wook 2 which I have now read) are the only books in the world I would go right back to the beginning and read again, and I will! I am desperate for Booky Wook 3, is there going to be one? I really hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, shocking and funny!, 12 Jan. 2008
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Hardcover)
I liked Russell before I read this book so was pleased to get it for Christmas. An almost graphically honest account of aspects of his life including his drug addiction and sexual exploits, it was also very funny in places. I was quite shocked by some of the things I read and I seemed to have spent the duration of the book wavering between liking and disliking him. He describes his life in a very abstract manner, sometimes going all serious and then from nowhere almost, bursting forth with his unusual sense of humour.
Reading the book has definately made me think that Russell is probably the only person you can love and hate equally. He is very sympathetic and understanding in places and then the next page he seems to destroy all that by saying something selfish and self absorbed.
You have to give credit to Russell for writing his own autobiography which many don't these days.
I still don't quite know what to make of Russell Brand as a person but as far as the book go's I have given it a semi thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars self centred and totally uninspiring, 5 Dec. 2013
This review is from: My Booky Wook (Kindle Edition)
I had heard that it was an interesting look into an occasionally controversial figure's life.
He is clearly intelligent, but I do not want to waste time reading about someone's obsession with wasting their talent and opportunities in a destructive way that has no 'positive' outcome. Grow up and think of all the people worldwide who would give anything for a fraction of the opportunities he had!
He can also be entertaining, but this book ain't that.
I will definitely not be buying the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Booky Wook
My Booky Wook by Russell Brand (Paperback - 10 July 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews