Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Deborah Rodriguez is a beautician from Michigan who went over to Afghanistan after September 11th to help in any way she could. She quickly fell in love with the country and wanted to reestablish the Afghan beauticians who went out of existence when the Taliban took over. Along with help from others, she opened a beauty school where she trained Afghan women to become...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird! But interesting
For someone who goes to Afghanistan to help local women develop independence this is a strangely self-centred book. I was shocked to realise partway through that she had left two sons in America. She also goes through an arranged marriage to an Afghan. Weird! But interesting to read about womens' lives in this oppressive regime.
Published 1 month ago by Lizlovestoread


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 19 Feb 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kabul Beauty School: The Art of Friendship and Freedom (Paperback)
Deborah Rodriguez is a beautician from Michigan who went over to Afghanistan after September 11th to help in any way she could. She quickly fell in love with the country and wanted to reestablish the Afghan beauticians who went out of existence when the Taliban took over. Along with help from others, she opened a beauty school where she trained Afghan women to become beauticians who could then open up their own beauty salons.

This amazing true story is heartwarming yet incredibly sad at the same time. The reader learns the personal and tragic story of the many Afghan women that Rodriguez befriends. We learn of their arranged marriages to men twice their age, abusive husbands who will divorce them if the women can't bear a son, and monetary struggles and desperate attempts to find that money. It is also wonderful to read about these same women becoming independent and happy due to their education from the beauty school and their friendship with Ms. Rodriguez.

This book is truly inspiring and educational. The reader learns about many customs and misconceptions about Afghanistan and its people through the real life experiences of Rodriguez. Her desire to help the kind Afghan people can inspire anyone to do the same.

KABUL BEAUTY SCHOOL is sure to please all readers who are open to learning about a foreign people, their customs, and an American woman who felt the need to dedicate her life to those less fortunate.

Reviewed by: Steph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 25 April 2014
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I originally discovered Deborah Rodriguez when I read her novel The Little Coffee Shop Of Kabul, and I immediately fell in love with her words and way of writing, so knowing how much I’d enjoyed that book, I was looking forward to reading The Kabul Beauty School.

Deborah really brings to life the realities of Kabul, how everyday life can be for women in Kabul and the daily struggles that these particular women in the book face. Every woman in the book had their own individual story, their own individual issues and struggles, and I was honestly touched by every one of them. It felt very personal and I spent my time willing these women on and wanting to reach out to them.

The Kabul Beauty School is a big insight into the lives of these women and what they face. It is heartbreaking and honest, with moments of bravery, courage and positivity woven in. A gripping book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kabul Beauty School: The Art of Friendship and Freedom (Paperback)
I loved this book. It had just the right amount of background info, cultural insight and interesting anecdotes. I cared about the people in it and about the fate of the school and also found the author a very inspiring woman as well as an excellent writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Kabul Beauty School: The Art of Friendship and Freedom (Paperback)
Excellent book - loved it! An inspirational lady changing the lives of Afghan women and teaching them skills that they can use in the future. Bought it for my hairdresser! Feel very lucky to have so much freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Cultural Differences., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. It tells a story of a brave women who goes to Afghanistan to help out the women of the country. She trains them to be hairdressers and beauticians. The story focuses on the lives of the women the author interacts with. The tales of these women's lives of hardship, male dominance and sadness is heartwrenching.
I was hooked on this book because of all the cultural differences and how the author overcomes problems, helps the women and adapts to such a different life to that of what she is used to as a Westernized lady.
There are some sad parts, crazy parts and just downright strange parts. All of which make the book captivating. I loved it and would definitely recommend it. A read that is interesting, relatively easy to read and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still reading at the moment., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I previously read the little coffee shop in Kabul which was excellent and I think it would make a good film one day.
I am enjoying this book very much and it is a real eye opener to everyday life in Kabul and the struggles of the people there which we all tend to overlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snatching a glimpse, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little gem that speaks openly of the secret hardships Afghanis face, and yet the love this writer shares through her stories sweetens the bitter taste of the constant struggles people face to maintain an even footing in a place where rubble have a fondness of appearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird! But interesting, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For someone who goes to Afghanistan to help local women develop independence this is a strangely self-centred book. I was shocked to realise partway through that she had left two sons in America. She also goes through an arranged marriage to an Afghan. Weird! But interesting to read about womens' lives in this oppressive regime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. It was funny and sad and gives a real insight into the lives of women in Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kabul Beauty School: The Art of Friendship and Freedom
The Kabul Beauty School: The Art of Friendship and Freedom by Deborah Rodriguez (Paperback - 24 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews