Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful!
The Ballroom Class follows the lives of three couples learning to dance and the woman who teaches them. Working mum Katie and her stay-at home husband Ross are finding their role reversal a strain on their marriage. They take the class on the advice of their marriage guidance counsellor. Meanwhile, gawky Lauren and her fiance are there to train for the perfect first...
Published on 29 Feb 2008 by Olivia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
Enjoyed this book. But it was very predictable. Not as good as the others I have read but still a cosy read.
Published 4 months ago by Kerry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful!, 29 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Hardcover)
The Ballroom Class follows the lives of three couples learning to dance and the woman who teaches them. Working mum Katie and her stay-at home husband Ross are finding their role reversal a strain on their marriage. They take the class on the advice of their marriage guidance counsellor. Meanwhile, gawky Lauren and her fiance are there to train for the perfect first dance at their wedding. There are plenty of laughs to be had from bride-to-be Lauren's over-the-top wedding plans but, be warned, this novel also had me sobbing on a train. Lucy Dillon writes with such heart, you can't help caring for her characters. A treat from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hack of a dance-off!, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Paperback)
Lauren and Chris, engaged to be married, are finding preparing for their wedding harder than they thought. Lauren wants a fairytale, but Chris just wants it over with. Lauren's parents Bridget and Frank are very happily married and proud of their daughter, but Bridget is hiding a secret which is eating her up inside. Finally, Katie and Ross have marital woes, Katie resents going out to work while Ross gets all day with their two children, Hannah and Joe. Can the music bring all the couples closer together and heal the rifts, or is it too late for them all?

This is a novel that really gets to grips with human relationships, their ups and downs, but of course love that will get you through anything, as long as that love is there. As well as the woes, there are plenty of laughs courtesy of Lauren and mother-in-law Irene's elaborate wedding plans, and these two never failed to make me smile! The dancing element really served to bring all of the characters together in one place, and to develop the individual storylines, and I loved the dancing scenes. They were so well written, you could clearly visualise that big old Glitterball on the hall ceiling, and the swishy dresses they wore for the classes! A really wonderful piece of escapist reading, a definite much for not just fans of dance, but also for those who love a fantastic read! For a debut novel, this is superb, and I do hope Lucy Dillon continues to write brilliant books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Words Danced Off the Pages, 13 Feb 2009
By 
K. Blaxall "Book Butterfly" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Paperback)
This was an absolute joy to read. This novel follows several different characters journey throughout their time with the Ballroom Class. All of the different characters bring a certain charm to the pages, and each character draws you furhter into the book. Katie and Russ leave you wanting and willing them to get on with each other better. Lauren is planning a fairytale wedding, which leaves the reader feeling very sorry for her parents, espcially her father who is blissfully unaware. Angelica's story turns out to be very moving and you soften towards her. You really do not want the book to end, and it leaves you searching high and low for a local dance class. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Prepared To Not Do anything Else Until You've Read It!, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Paperback)
This lovely book arrived promptly from Amazon in perfect condition. And was everything I expected of the author, Lucy Dillon. The characters involve you in their lives, and you want it to all turn out right for them in the end..... Excellently written, and a real feel-good factor. No exaggerated drama, just real-life stuff, and a clever - and topical - tale.
Thoroughly good read that has comedy & romance, and makes you want to know WHAT happens next to each individual. I wish I could write as well!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Paperback)
This book is totally enjoyable escapism. Fans of Strictly Come Dancing will love it. I learned lots about dances and dancing in this book but it was all part of the story and not written in a preachy way at all. It's a well written book which you race through because you care about the characters and what happens to them, which is the highest compliment I can give. Even though it is sad in places I would still class it as a 'feel good' book which lifts the spirits and leaves you feeling great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Hardcover)
This is such a heart-warming tale. It's a great cast of characters and you really care about their stories. Lucy Dillon writes with a gentle humour and deep understanding about people's motivations and foibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ballroom Class, 4 April 2011
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Paperback)
I really enoyed this book.
It is a very easy read and it wasn't always possible to tell exactly what the ending would be.
The characters were very real and i was able to relate to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stellar read, 6 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Ballroom Class (Hardcover)
This novel is a real find. A fabulous tale of aspiration, inspiration and human warmth. Can't wait for Lucy Dillon's next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A salsa of very interesting characters, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the doggie books wondered if I would like this as much. But it is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly readable!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written entertaining story. This would be a good book to take on holiday,not too much misery! If you enjoy strictly you may enjoy this. I enjoyed it. Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ballroom Class
The Ballroom Class by Lucy Dillon (Paperback - 16 Oct 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews