Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deaver's shorts
In this second collection of short stories, Deaver shows again that he can consistently pull off shock endings even in the shorter form. All of these stories are tightly written and despite the slippery plots, credibility is never stretched to breaking point. Bravely including a period story involving Sherlock Holmes, Deaver almost manages an authentic English narrator's...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by Ray Blake

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No shock or awe
I have to confess to not having read much of the author's work, but enjoyed his James Bond book. I thought this would be a good place to start on his other work to see if I should then expand onto his novels.
Mr Deaver starts by talking about teaching writing and indeed at the end of the book slightly dissects one of the short stories presented here..

To...
Published 19 months ago by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deaver's shorts, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Twisted (Hardcover)
In this second collection of short stories, Deaver shows again that he can consistently pull off shock endings even in the shorter form. All of these stories are tightly written and despite the slippery plots, credibility is never stretched to breaking point. Bravely including a period story involving Sherlock Holmes, Deaver almost manages an authentic English narrator's voice, only two slips betraying his real nationality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good really, 3 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Twisted (Hardcover)
I have recently taken a real loving to the short story genre not getting too attached to charaters and getting through them in around half an hour makes for a pleasant break from novel reading.

This collection by Deaver is very much like his first Twisted collection which I would like to say was fantastic and better than this book if only becuase of their undeniable similarities and the fact that the first book did it first.

The stories are brilliantly written and are mostly Deavers versions of other authors award winning short stories. Deaver is without doubt a fantastic writer, the only problem I have with this collection is that the stories are very similar to those from the first Twisted. Still a good collection though not quite as good as the first Twisted series in terms of suspense and the trademark twists. If you cant decide between the two get the first collection, also worth looking into is John Connolly's Nocturnes which is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the unexpected!, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: More Twisted (Paperback)
This is a really entertaining selection of short crime-based stories, very similar in their theme to the old Roald Dahl TOTU. Jeffery Deaver's habit of pulling rabbits out of hats at the end of every chapter can be a little bit exhausting in his novels, but it completely suits the style and pace of these rapid fire whodunnits. By about halfway through you really get into the swing of the book and find yourself double- and triple-guessing the author -- and sometimes you're right. And sometimes you're not!
Each tale has some neatly drawn characters, a nice set up and a great sting in the tail. There's even one involving Deaver's regular hero, Lincoln Rhyme, and another (maybe my favourite of the collection) with a certain famous English detective from yesteryear. In all of them, you can't be entirely certain who the bad guy is. If there is a bad guy at all...

It's not quite a five star read, because some of Deaver's descriptive prose is just plain clunky (he refers to someone as 'dark-complected'. Good grief), and the tales may be just too similar to be swallowed in one chunk. You need to pace them out a bit otherwise the characters start to blur into a bit of a mush. And don't be misled by the 'featuring Lincoln Rhyme' cover blurb; this is NOT a Rhyme novel, and he's only around for one of the stories.

Overall, however, it's a cracking, easy, enjoyable and intelligent read. I didn't see the first volume when it came out, so will order it pronto...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A twist in the tale., 5 Nov 2007
By 
P. J. A. Jennings "pja_jennings" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Twisted (Paperback)
Like his previous collection of short stories, Twisted, this is another excellent collection by the master. Each one is a little gem with a twist. Some you might see coming, but most will catch you by surprise even though you will be on the lookout for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Jeffery Deaver, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Twisted (Kindle Edition)
I have read all his books so far and they are great. Deliverd on my Kindle while in New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No shock or awe, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have to confess to not having read much of the author's work, but enjoyed his James Bond book. I thought this would be a good place to start on his other work to see if I should then expand onto his novels.
Mr Deaver starts by talking about teaching writing and indeed at the end of the book slightly dissects one of the short stories presented here..

To my genuine surprise, I found this a weak and pedestrian collection with none of the clever twists I was expecting. The plots are either telegraphed or, even worse, just dull, almost in the vein of "but then he would know, because he was indeed the killer". No stand out stories, no clever twists, nothing to shock you just a collection of very very average tales. I arrived at this book with high expectations and left with bemused regret and I will be avoiding any more of his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Twisted (Kindle Edition)
Jeffrey Deaver is a great read. I love a good plot and the twists.
I would recommend this book to all who love a whodunnit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more twisted, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Twisted (Paperback)
His series of Lincoln Rhyme stories are terrific.To be able to write such contrastingly different bunch of stories..all of them surprising,exciting and satisfiying demonstrates that Jeffery has a complete mastery of crime fiction.Go read his initial group of short stories,Twisted.Just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars definitely twisted, 23 April 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: More Twisted (Hardcover)
More Twisted is a volume of sixteen tales of suspense by Jeffrey Deaver, including a previously unpublished Lincoln Rhyme story. Each of these tales, as the title suggests, has a twist. Most are set in modern times, but one is set in Victorian England and features Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. All are enjoyable, some are spine-chilling. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars barely twisted, 25 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Twisted (Paperback)
By now I have read all stories in this collection, except one (the one with Lincoln Rhyme). I hope the latter saves the day because otherwise this collection of "twisters" is really POOR. I am a big Deaver fan, and his previous "Twisted" collection of stories was marvellous, some really clever. None stands up anywhere close to that level here. Ok, they are kind of entertaining, but there is no "this is so clever" moment like in the first collection.
So this is a big disappointment for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Twisted
More Twisted by Jeffery Deaver (Hardcover - 22 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews