Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .
A completely honest book that gives the impression of being told to you, rather than something you're reading. It's obvious how important both her ex husband and Doctor Who have been to her (in fact, the "prologue" to the book is a section from one of her final DW scripts) - the first half of the book is desperately sad and you spend it with the same feeling she herself...
Published on 28 Dec. 2006 by R. Lewis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Honest, engaging and Interesting
I love OK magazine and any celebrity gossip and this is like a very long version of that, which is fine by me. It's not going to win any literary prizes, but it doesn't pretend to. Thankfully Piper is also clear that she didn't actually write the book herself and so saves herself from ridicule. Her story is interesting enough, thanks to Doctor Who and Chris Evans to...
Published on 24 Oct. 2007 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 28 Dec. 2006
By 
R. Lewis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
A completely honest book that gives the impression of being told to you, rather than something you're reading. It's obvious how important both her ex husband and Doctor Who have been to her (in fact, the "prologue" to the book is a section from one of her final DW scripts) - the first half of the book is desperately sad and you spend it with the same feeling she herself and her character Rose shared - that of waiting for her to be rescued. When she meets Chris Evans, somehow the whole tone of the thing changes without any major difference in style or way of telling. This continues throughout her time on DW, and there are some lovely pictures that go with that section.

I wish there'd been more about DW, but it's still a wonderful read, something that will make you happy, sad, laugh and cry, and change the way you think about both Billie and what you read in the press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories!!, 10 Dec. 2006
By 
nellie (AYRSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
I have never been a Billie Piper fan really but thought I would get this book after reading some extracts in the paper. In all honesty I wanted to know more about her relationship with Chris Evans as it intrigued me (I myself was in a similar relationship - age-gap wise, I certainly wasn't given a ferrari though! ha ha). I couldn't put the book down!! That's never been known of me!! it was well written and, being the same age as her, it brought back so many memories of the "in thing" through the teenage years etc. For example, boys covering themselves with Lynx Africa!! I still spray it when I see it in a shop because it brings back great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Raw, 12 Mar. 2007
By 
Emily Mulhall "AussieGirl" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
I read this out of interest of Billie Piper as Rose in the Doctor Who series. What comes out is a raw, honest and real account of a life that has been colourful to say the least. At just 24 years of age, this book is jammed back with what seems like a life of 50 years. Very funny in parts as you can imagine her saying some of these storeis out loud.

Good to see her set the record straight about what its really like being a pop star, married to chris evans and breaking into her her true passion of acting.

Thoroughly enjoyed it and actually couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Compelling., 9 Sept. 2011
By 
Pablo O'Hana - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
Billie might only be 23 but she's packed more into her 23 years than most people do in a lifetime. This is a brutally honest account of how a celebrity lifestyle nearly destroyed her life and how she climbed her way back to the top. Piper holds back for no one as she delves straight in to her life starting with her singing career, being the youngest artist to debut at number one, marrying Chris Evans at 18, collapsing, severe anorexia, and finally turning in to an award winning acclaimed actress. When reading that she spent the entirety of her teenage years living in hotels around the world, receiving horrendous hate mail and dealing with anorexia due to a critic's harsh view, it becomes clear that Billie was deprived of a proper teenage life. No one of any age, let alone at 15/16 should have to go to court over someone threatening to kill her family. This is the story of Britain's girl next-door dealing with more than anyone should ever have to deal with, never-mind at the tender age that she was. She doesn't hesitate to expose the exploitation she was subjected to in what critics are claiming `an honest account of Britain's most popular actress'. After a critic claims Billie Piper is a fat wannabe singer she, not knowing much better at her age, jumps straight to starvation and for over a year eats nothing but water, tissue paper and nuts. What ever your opinions on Billie Piper are at the moment, read this book, and I can guarantee you that you will put it down breathless at the end not being able to believe that she went through all of that and still came out the other end as a dignified, warm woman. An exhilarating, life affirming, compelling, hilarious and at times heartbreaking read. Piper tells her roller coaster life with astonishing honesty and doesn't gloss over anything.
Easily the autobiography of the year.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A down-to-earth account of a pretty amazing life, 27 Oct. 2006
By 
T. Gladden "English Rose" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
The papers have been full of "Billie Anorexia" stories... but that doesn't really reflect what the book has to offer. After reading a load of badly written accounts of my fame/drugs/booze hell, it's really refreshing to read a well-written book about what someone who sounds like someone you'd actually like to be mates with... Am buying one for my dr who obsessed bro too....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
DANNY LOVE (SHEFFIELD, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Billie Piper: Growing Pains (Paperback)
Okay so admittedly this is the first time I've ever read an autobiography but regardless of this I can truly say this book is such an amazing read. Ever since the book arrived from Amazon I read it all in like 48 hours. Billie Piper has led such a crazy and fulfilled life ever since she became famous at 15. The book touches upon a lot of dark times within the music industry such as anorexia and her failed attempt at breaking America where she has a breakdown.

This is an inspiring read and tells the music and acting business as they are; take away all the glamour and you can see what it does to individuals. The book is inspiring in the way that it tells of Billie quitting her career as a pop star and focusing and trying her hardest at her passion of acting.

Can't recommend this enough! Even if you're a not a fan of Piper you will still truly enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE ME SOME BILLIE, 13 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Billie Piper: Growing Pains (Paperback)
I must admit, being a pop music fan I've always liked Billie. Especially her tracks "Day And Night" and "Something Deep Inside".
What a brilliant book, Billie seems to talk and think in much the same way as I do. What I love about her, is that she is so honest, and isn't victim to her own hype. She calls a spade a spade, and you get the feeling most of what she is saying is more like a one on one conversation with a friend. I would be very interested to meet her in the flesh, I think she would be very cool.
I never knew what went on behind the scenes of her pop career, and never understood until now why she never made a pop comeback.
Love her, she is awesome. After reading this and watching "The Secret Diary Of A Call Girl" I want to see everything she's in.
Billie rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Honest, engaging and Interesting, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Billie Piper: Growing Pains (Paperback)
I love OK magazine and any celebrity gossip and this is like a very long version of that, which is fine by me. It's not going to win any literary prizes, but it doesn't pretend to. Thankfully Piper is also clear that she didn't actually write the book herself and so saves herself from ridicule. Her story is interesting enough, thanks to Doctor Who and Chris Evans to save her from the dumping ground of trashy pop has been memoirs, and she seems a bright and ambitious young woman who is personable enough to warm to. The issues with food are dealt with reasonably sensitively and her take on her situation positive enough for her to write about it without coming across as someone selling sensation rather than a heartfelt story. Not bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition and fast delivery!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Pains (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this purchase, the book was in great condition considering it's been used. The cover and back of the book has no marks etc on it, and the pages are clean (no highlights or writing on them) aswell as no rips or folds in the paper. Plus the book was delivered quicker then expected. Will be purchasing books from this seller in the future if needed!

As for the book it's self.. read the book when it was first released back in 2006 and loved it then, felt like re-reading it again recently but not sure what happened to my original copy. If you're a big fan of Billie like me then i highly recommend reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely Moving and Interesting, but..., 8 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Billie Piper: Growing Pains (Paperback)
For me, the book was enjoyable, as it flitted between aspects of her life, that I really could identify with, her unhapiness at school, (for example, the picture of her and her brother on their first day at school, Billie looked how I felt on my first day), her wanting her parents to take her away from her unhappiness, and how this resembled how Rose Tyler felt and what the Doctor provided for her. It also painted a picture of a girl, I would have been envious of at school, with the acting and dancing, and utimately stage school. It also provided a real nostalgia trip, and probably because Billie's my generation, and like someone previously mentioned, the reference to Lynx Africa and other things, took me back to when I was her age. It also help me (and probably others) see what she saw in Chris Evans, and now I understand why she married him.

However, I have only given the book three stars, because of the rather glaring consistent factual errors that peppers the book. Off the top of my head, there were many instances where names were given incorrectly, for example, a passage refered to 'Lucy Amy who played Chardonay in Footballers' Wives', she is actually Susie Amy. Luke Mably was refered to as Luc Mabbley, and even Christopher Eccleston's name was mispelt. Other factual errors included stating that Andi Peters presented on Going Live, he didn't, he presented Live and Kicking.

Whilst, this may seem petty, it's frustrating as this is supposed to be an autobiography from an actress, yet she couldn't get her peers' names right. In particular as this is supposed to be an updated version, and these errors are also in the hardback version, all it would have taken for Billie or her Ghost Writer to get this right, would be a quick glance on the internet, and I think this could have been a truly excellent autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Billie Piper: Growing Pains
Billie Piper: Growing Pains by Billie Piper (Paperback - 9 Aug. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews