Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another super story from Mick Inkpen
about the lovable character, 'Kipper' on his birthday.

'When exactly is Kipper's birthday party?
Is it today? Or tomorrow perhaps?
Or was it yesterday?'

It all comes down to the wording on the patiently hand made invitations and when they get delivered.
I think it would be fair to say that this book has a slightly more mature theme to...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... the center of the box so I was not pleased with this purchase
Pages were coming out the center of the box so I was not pleased with this purchase.
Published 1 day ago by Gilly0361


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another super story from Mick Inkpen, 1 Feb 2008
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
about the lovable character, 'Kipper' on his birthday.

'When exactly is Kipper's birthday party?
Is it today? Or tomorrow perhaps?
Or was it yesterday?'

It all comes down to the wording on the patiently hand made invitations and when they get delivered.
I think it would be fair to say that this book has a slightly more mature theme to it with the introduction of past, present and future time implication, but it is a super story nevertheless.

In this story we find Kipper rather busy with his birthday party preparations. It is all very tiring.....and things don't go quite according to plan, mainly due to the mix up over which day the party is! Kipper is sad when no-one arrives for his party.....'He waited. And he waited. But nobody came. Not even Tiger......'

Colourful covres open to 32 high quality shiny pages, packed full of exciting, descriptive text and endearing illustrations, in the popular 2-page spread format.

Example of text:-

'Kipper slept through the evening and into the night.
He dreamt that he was climbing a mountain made of cake and dodging great cake boulders as they crashed towards him.
Even when the sun streamed through his window the next morning he did not wake, but snored peacefully until noon when he was woken by a knock at the door.
His friends had come.
'Happy Birthday, Kipper!' said Jake.
'Happy Birthday, Kipper!' said Holly.
'And many happy returns!' said Tiger.
Kipper blinked and rubbed his eyes.
'But my birthday was yesterday,' he said sleepily............'

But....all is well that ends well.....and Kipper does get his party....and some rather useful presents, after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly helps children with yesterday/today/tomorrow, 28 Mar 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
There are many Kipper books, mostly pretty good, and I think this is one of the best. Kipper paints party invites for each of his friends telling them to come at noon tomorrow, and then he leaves it until the following morning to deliver them. And at midday nobody comes, of course, so he eats the cake all himself and has a good long sleep, until noon the following day when his visitors arrive, a day late. Amusingly, Kipper then re-reads the invite and thinks his birthday is yet another tomorrow, but fortunately his friend Tiger can clear up the confusion and they can get on with the celebrations.
I bought this Kipper because we'd read it at a friend's house and I thought it helped explain the relative nature of the yesterday/today/tomorrow concepts which my daughter was beginning to grasp at nearly three. Now at four and a half she completely understands the mix up but my two year old son can't quite follow it. So this particular Kipper is probably better for a three or four year old though the younger child would still enjoy it, and although they wouldn't fully understand it yet they'd grasp the idea with a little rereading.
Finally, as with all Mick Inkpen's books, the illustrations are beautifully done, with clean lines and gently appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual good Kipper story based on slightly confusing concept, 19 Oct 2000
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
Kipper sends out his birthday invitations a day late, but doesn't change the wording ("tomorrow" should have become "today"), so his friends arrive a day late. A toddler might have trouble understanding this concept- my 3 year old does, although he still enjoys reading it, so don't let it put you off too much. It's still a very good book, well illustrated, and worth adding to your Kipper collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
a super book, the children loved this story. they enjoyed the colourful pictures and also joining in with some of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kipper's Birthday, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
arrived quickly and well packaged. The children at
the playgroup love it as part of our story sack we have made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain!, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Paperback)
An old favourite and so useful as a statrting point for endless literacy and numeracy lessons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... the center of the box so I was not pleased with this purchase, 26 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kipper's Birthday (Hardcover)
Pages were coming out the center of the box so I was not pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kipper's Birthday
Kipper's Birthday by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 15 May 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews