Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threadbear - not surprisingly, a story of a poor old bear!
In this particular story, nobody could make Threadbear's squeaker work....not Mum, not Dad, not even the doctor!
Even the other toys tried to help.....and with 'Grey Thing's' helpful advice, Threadbear goes on a mission in search of an answer to his problem!

Large size paperback with 32 shiny high quality pages in the popular two-page spread format, with...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
I was expecting the same book I had as a child but when it arrived it was no bigger than the size of my hand. My old book was big and had a squeaker in thread bears tummy which made it more fun but as this book was so small it is less interactive for my niece. However the book was in good condition.
Published 8 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threadbear - not surprisingly, a story of a poor old bear!, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Hardcover)
In this particular story, nobody could make Threadbear's squeaker work....not Mum, not Dad, not even the doctor!
Even the other toys tried to help.....and with 'Grey Thing's' helpful advice, Threadbear goes on a mission in search of an answer to his problem!

Large size paperback with 32 shiny high quality pages in the popular two-page spread format, with bold, moderate sized text.
Wonderfully illustrated with meaningful facial expressions further enhancing this witty story.

From the back cover:

'There is one thing that has always been wrong with Threadbear. In his tummy is a squeaker that has never squeaked......'

Main text example:

'Ben's bear was called Threadbear. He was old. Bits of him had worn out. Or worked loose. Or dropped off. He had a paw that didn't match, and a button for an eye. ........But there was one thing that had always been wrong with Threadbear. The silly man who had made him had put too much stuffing inside him.
His arms were too hard. His legs were too hard. And there was so much stuffing inside his tummy that his squeaker had been squashed. It had never squeaked. Not even once.
Threadbear hated having a squeaker in his tummy that wouldn't squeak. It made him feel that he was letting Ben down.
Ben's frog could croak. His space monster could squelch. And his electronic robot could burble away for hours if its batteries were the right way round.
Even the little toy that Ben called 'Grey Thing' could make a noise, and nobody knew what 'Grey Thing' was meant to be!.......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely heartwarming story for toddlers and adults, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
Threadbear is a bear with a squeaker that doesn't squeak. The story tells how Father Christmas intervenes to help Threadbear, and is beautifully told with excellent illustrations and gentle humour. No difficult words or concepts, so excellent for reading to toddlers- it's one of my 3 year old's regular choices at bed time. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favouites., 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
...This is one of my all time favourite books. Threadbare has a problem that he has had for as long as he can remember. His squeaker doesn't and never has worked. One day he gets so cross about this that he decides to do something about it. With a special helping hand from Father Christmas, Threadbear sets off to find a squeaker tree. If you are a lover of teddy bears, you will need a hanky or a teddy handy when you get to the last page of this wonderful, magical story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How Can I Bear It?, 2 May 2014
By 
penny davies "the song" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
My FAVOURITE Mick Inkpen - a sad and wonderful adventure with such delightful pictures. You can't help but fall in love with Threadbear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super fun., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
Teaches about emotions, so much to talk about a delightful and entertaining book. I do not know a young child who has not enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
i had this book when i was a child, this is the only place where i could find one new as they are no longer making them. my son loves it just as much as i did when i was his age (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
This is another wonderful story by talented children's author Mick Inpen. My youngest will not sit for a story unless she takes a fancy to it and she loves Threadbear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book by brilliant children's author, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
As an infant teacher I have read this book to many children over the years. They all love it especially now with Christmas approaching. Big kid that I am, I thoroughly enjoy reading it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Vicki "busy Mum" (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
Another lovely book from Mick Inkpen. Great pictures and poor old Threadbear, my children fell in love with him and felt very sorry for him. But thank goodness a happy ending. A wonderful story for child to sit with Mummy or Daddy and enjoy cuddles and a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Threadbear and his squeek!, 28 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Threadbear: Threadbear (Paperback)
Top book with a happy ending. What more can one ask?
Threadbear's sad and troubled life is cured by his friendly owner who has him washed and cleaned. He's nolonger hard and uncomfortable, but cuddly and 'bear-like'.
An excellent addition to any families portfolio of children's books and one that we've passed on to many others at birthday's and christmas time. The 'pocket' version certainly kept my little ones entertained on a long journey to Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Threadbear: Threadbear
Threadbear: Threadbear by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
Used & New from: 37.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews