Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2009
I found this book to be about the best of the A level primers for this subject. Like all of the access to history series the breakdown of the subject can be understood by most 6th formers. The narrative is strong and the analysis of events very good. Leading personality and events are highlighted and made assessable. This is a book with which to begin a serious study of the Vietnam war.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
This is the most useful book I've read on this subject. It is informative and easy to read. Not like the normal dry textbooks. It is well laid out so you don't have to flip back and forth to get the authors meaning(s). As a Vietnam vet trying to get some answers to many questions still, it is a superb book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
This book is brilliant! I was using the edexcel endorsed book of foreign policy in asia from 1945-73 and found it was really good, but then I bought this and it was was even better! Everything is so in-depth yet easy to break down and put into note form, also, there are "Study guide" and the end of each chapter that are sample exam style essays that could come up in the exam - these are just the best thing ever as they tell you what sort of things you should be writing (they have ones for OCR, AQA and Edexcel, so it doesnt matter which board youre on. I reccommend this book quite a lot!
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
just what daughter needed for studies
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Very good brief summary. Aimed at students. Never ducked once however.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Excellent
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Serves purpose for son.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
This book doesn't even justify one star. The worst book I have ever come across concerning the US involvement in Vietnam. I read it during my A-level history coursework eight years ago and even then I found it extremely simplistic, particularly in the comparison of the US and Vietnamese forces. Now, with a degree in military history in my pocket, it is still the worst book I have ever read - and I have read plenty.

Do not waste your money on this. Even Wikipedia is a much better source of information if you want an introduction to the Vietnam War.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse