Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book
I love Sandra Brown's books especially her thrillers. This is the 2nd time I've read this one and quite honestly the story is great.
Published 10 months ago by Lori

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read from a top author
I bought Play Dirty before I read any of the reviews. I then read the reviews before reading the book and was understandingly apprehensive about the book.

My expectations going into the book (based largely on the reviews) were low and they were quickly blown away.

If you are looking for a romance novel with perfect, lovable heros and heroines then I...
Published on 13 Dec 2007 by Susan Crighton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read from a top author, 13 Dec 2007
By 
Susan Crighton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play Dirty (Hardcover)
I bought Play Dirty before I read any of the reviews. I then read the reviews before reading the book and was understandingly apprehensive about the book.

My expectations going into the book (based largely on the reviews) were low and they were quickly blown away.

If you are looking for a romance novel with perfect, lovable heros and heroines then I suggest you go for Mills and Boon. What Sandra Brown has delivered is a grittier story, about real people, in which the romance is just one element. Whilst the basis of the story line isn't her best, the characters are real and honest. I take issue with all the reviewers who have called them unlikeable - I struggle with books where I don't like, or can't empathise with the main characters but I had no problem with Griff and Laura.

I will be buying Sandra Brown's next book. Her books have developed over the years from the lighter weight romance novels into the grittier thrillers that maintain some of the romance without it being the central focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Dirty (Paperback)
I love Sandra Brown's books especially her thrillers. This is the 2nd time I've read this one and quite honestly the story is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gritty emotional read - not her usual type of story, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Play Dirty (Kindle Edition)
I think Ms Brown initially doesn't want us to like the characters. We're left thinking the protagonists are sad, twisted, mercenary types. The female protagonist (Laura) has married into money (she was a senior staff member in her husband's company prior to her marriage anyway) and the male protagonist (Griff) was a super star jock who becomes a Public Enemy due to a shady deal that gets him in jail.

However, the difference in this book is that it's more than a thriller/ mystery. We begin to appreciate the characters as we engage with them. The author had initially manifested their worldly guise (Griff - money), and Laura (pleasing her husband against her principles). However, as they both engage with each other we begin to engage with them and confront issues which became startling revelations. It's a powerfully moving development. The characters are not the usual Hero and Heroine's found in thrillers. These characters are vulnerable, have made mistakes and are not interested in the limelight after a disastrous episode in both their lives.

The suspense is good. The story line is different and the romance is sweet and hot. A gritty emotional read - not her usual type of story

Synopsis:
After five long years in federal prison, Griff Burkett is a free man. But the disgraced Cowboys quarterback can never return to life as he knew it before he was caught cheating. In a place where football is practically a religion, Griff committed a cardinal sin, and no one is forgiving.

Foster Speakman, owner and CEO of SunSouth Airlines, and his wife, Laura, are a golden couple. Successful and wealthy, they lived a charmed life before fate cruelly intervened and denied them the one thing they wanted most -- a child. It's said that money can't buy everything. But it can buy a disgraced football player fresh out of prison and out of prospects.

The job Griff agrees to do for the Speakmans demands secrecy. But he soon finds himself once again in the spotlight of suspicion. An unsolved murder comes back to haunt him in the form of his nemesis, Stanley Rodarte, who has made Griff's destruction his life's mission. While safeguarding his new enterprise, Griff must also protect those around him, especially Laura Speakman, from Rodarte's ruthlessness. Griff stands to gain the highest payoff he could ever imagine, but cashing in on it will require him to forfeit his only chance for redemption...and love.

Griff is now playing a high-stakes game, and at the final whistle, one player will be dead.

Play Dirty is Sandra Brown's wildest ride yet, with hairpin turns of plot all along the way. The clock is ticking down on a fallen football star, who lost everything because of the way he played the game. Now his future -- his life -- hinges on one last play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Capitalist vices, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play Dirty (Hardcover)
Diana: Some things are not for sale.
John: Such as?
Diana: Well you can't buy people.
(Quotation from the movie "Indecent Proposal")

This book pulls a switcheroo on the "Indecent Proposal" plotline, where a wealthy man offers a cash-strapped couple one million dollars in exchange for certain favors.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Ex-quarterback Griff Burkett has just been released from prison
2. He's admitted to receiving a payout for influencing the outcome of a game to facilitate some unsavory characters
3. He may also have murdered somebody
4. He's definitely not a nice guy
5. A wealthy businessman is desperately seeking an heir
6. He's confined to a wheelchair
7. His young wife is prepared to go to any length to fulfill his wish
8. The businessman makes Griff an indecent proposal in exchange for a decent cash payment and his silence.
9. Apparently, some people CAN be bought
10. Griff has a dangerous and ruthless enemy who enjoys seeing him suffer
11. Griff suffers
12. Intriguing premise turns absurd, and despite some page-turning action, the ending is rather preposterous

If you can get past the fact that all the major characters in the book are unlikeable, the beginning and middle sections of the book are entertaining, albeit unbelievable and unlikely, but when you get down to the ending, the story unravels untidily while attempting to tie off the loose ends.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disgusting, Unrealistic Story about Unattractive Characters, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Play Dirty (Hardcover)
If you like to read stories about romance, skip this book. If there's any real romance in it (as opposed to coupling), I couldn't find it.

If you like to read stories about interesting characters, skip this book. If there are any interesting characters in it, I couldn't them them.

If you like to read stories about degenerates who want to hurt other people in disgusting ways, this is the book for you. But why would you want to read such a book?

Griff Burkett is a man everyone hates: He was convicted of taking a bribe to lose a professional football game while quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys. Having spent his money on fines, women, and good times, he leaves prison totally broke. Who would want to hire him?

He's surprised to find an invitation to meet Foster Speakman, wealthy CEO and owner of high-flying SunSouth Airlines. Speakman makes Burkett a rich offer that Burkett is happy to accept. Within hours, Burkett is out visiting his favorite madam. A little after that, the madam faces some brutal facts . . . Burkett is a marked man who is scheduled to be taken down by Stanley Rodarte, a man who wants to pin a murder on Burkett and recover a fortune in hidden loot.

As Burkett holds up his end of the deal, he's profoundly uncomfortable with his role as in-person sperm donor for Foster Speakman's wife, Laura. As time passes, the circumstances get worse until Burkett finds himself friendless and on the run.

There's a mystery here that is gradually revealed: Why did the Speakmans want Burkett as the father of their child? If that question sustains your interest, you'll probably like this book a lot better than I did.

If you do decide to read this book and don't like it, I suggest you ask yourself how you can use book reviews in the future to select books that will reward you with more reading pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play Dirty
Play Dirty by Sandra Brown (Paperback - 21 Feb 2008)
6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews