Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic and timeless
R F Delderfield is a superb storyteller. The entire A Horseman Riding By trilogy is superb. Yes, there are a few continuity errors, but with over 100 characters, is that not acceptable? I have read and re read this whole series and will go on doing so. (Currently re-reading Diana by the same author for the third time!) and find it to be as demanding of my attention and...
Published on 26 May 2010 by White Rose

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book to far
the third part of the horseman books ,the weakest of the three,but if you read the first two its a given you will want to round off with the third,but the gauntlet is a bit of a let down,and lacks heart ,but as i said is a must if you read the other two sueb
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by sueb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic and timeless, 26 May 2010
R F Delderfield is a superb storyteller. The entire A Horseman Riding By trilogy is superb. Yes, there are a few continuity errors, but with over 100 characters, is that not acceptable? I have read and re read this whole series and will go on doing so. (Currently re-reading Diana by the same author for the third time!) and find it to be as demanding of my attention and feelings as it did the first time. No one else seems to have the great sweeping imagination to write of a whole valley and everyone in it in such depth and detail, with such compassion and genuine feeling. God Is An Englishman is a superb set of books but doesn't come near this timeless piece of nostalgia. Would that we had storytellers like this today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delderfield, 18 Oct 2012
I inherited my grandmother's series of Delderfield books and read them all about twenty years ago. I found them totally addictive; he was indeed a master storyteller and I believe his writing is so valuable as all his books provide such a brilliant picture of life in our parents/grandparents youth, from the first World War right through to the second. He describes the fabric of people's lives so vividly, I would recommend them to anyone for a good read. They are some of the few books I would read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book to far, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the third part of the horseman books ,the weakest of the three,but if you read the first two its a given you will want to round off with the third,but the gauntlet is a bit of a let down,and lacks heart ,but as i said is a must if you read the other two sueb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very moving, 12 May 2014
By 
the morgans "blade981" (manchester,up north,uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this book and the two preceding ones lots of times. They are absorbing and wide sweeping. Although they describe a life I wouldn't want, being a city type, they do teach me something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From the Second World War to the 60s, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and I was sorry to come to the end. A very good story with well drawn characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Green Gauntlet, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Wendy Ann (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read several of R.F.Delderfield's books and they are a "good read". This was no exception. His descriptions of the countryside are particularly good and he is able to portray the way his characters age exceedingly well. Perhaps there is a little bit too much about the horrors of World War One as some of the accounts are quite harrowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to a good series., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third book about Paul Craddock and his family and the denizens of his Devon valley brings to an end a classic trilogy. I have enjoyed every moment of their adventures from the time of the Boer War up to the early 1960's.
I have enjoyed many others of Mr Delderfield's books. He has become one of my favourite authors even if he is not so well known in this day and age. I am old enough to be able to remember the final 30 years covered by these stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just excellent I am reading all of Delderfields books after an absence of forty years or so. Like all good literature they truly stand the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent finale to a well written trilogy. The characters and the social and historic aspects of these three books is brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Sequel, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well up to Delderfield's high standards. It fits in well with the previous 2 books. A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Gauntlet (Horseman Riding By 3)
The Green Gauntlet (Horseman Riding By 3) by R. F. Delderfield (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews