Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An opening stormer
I've waited until I finished the third book in this series before posting a review of any of them, and for a particular reason. Most of the historical series I've read consist of a new separate story with each book, often defined by a narrator's pause or some such device. Most series are different stories with different themes that build a series.

Wile clearly...
Published on 24 April 2012 by SJATurney

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent cross between Rosemary Sutcliffe and Bernard Cornwell
Aiming for a cross between the old-fashioned adventures of Rosemary Sutcliffe's classic young adult adventure stories and the grittier approach of Bernard Cornwell's novels, Anthony Riches' Wounds of Honour gets off to a terrible start with an atrociously written opening chapter. It's not so much what happens as how it's described, which reads like a collection of every...
Published on 29 Feb. 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast moving story and a great read, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
I read this book in two days as it totally hooked me very early on.

The story of a Marcus, a soldier forced into exile on Hadrians wall due to political cruelty in Rome against his family. The story is about Marcus escaping execution, joining an auxiliary cohort and becoming accepted by his fellow officers. Running through this process of getting 'settled in' to the cohorts routine is the ever present danger of being found by 'Rome' and a battle with the northern tribes lead by Galgus.

The author had obviously researched the history of the period in detail which adds to the enjoyment. Roll on the second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRACKING GOOD READ, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
A Happy Chappie (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The title relly says it all. This really is a cracking good read set during the reign of Commodus of 'Gladiator' fame, so we are talking late 180's or very early 190's A.D. here, and most of the action takes places around or, along, Hadrian's all. The story starts with a fight and rattles along at a fair old pace for the rest of the book. The characters are all interesting and believeable as is the story line if occassionally a 'little' contrived. It's also nice to have dialog that doen't sound like it's straight out of a US marine corps manual :-). Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
Matt the Reader (The Fens, England) - See all my reviews
Very good, in a similar vein to Simon Scarrow's 'Eagle' series (high praise indeed). Fast paced Roman action on and around Hadrian's Wall during the reign of Emperor Commodus (Gladiator), featuring battles, intrigue and treachery. A rattling good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
At the moment there is a whole bucket full of "Historical Fiction" covering the roman Empire and a good thing too! Mr Riches offering is a good paced novel with good detail and believable action - the story is oddly familiar one not unlike Mr Scarrow's Macro and Cato novels, though set in a later period and with a strong focus on the Auxiliary Infantry of Roman Britain all mixed up with Imperial Intrigue. I've already got the second novel "Arrows of Fury" (Paperback) on pre-order and look forward to what I feel will be a Classic series of Novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wounds of honour, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
I have read many historical fiction novels about the Romans and their way of life around their empire and "their" wars/ fights-land or sea over the years. I can honestly say "What did the Romans do for us?" Well they a lot for me personally with books like this!!! Buy, read and enjoy! I will be ordering the sequel asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of battles, blood & gore, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
Mrs. PJ Taylor (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book has a lot in common with the many historical novels and fantasy novels based on this period and it also shares the fault that bedevils most of them: they are rich in historical detail (that's good), somewhat thin on character development and downright self-indulgent when it comes to the battle scenes. The latter bores me - there's only so many times I want to read about Roman battle formation and weaponry.

This is right up the street for my bloodthirsty 16-year old son. Doesn't equal Rosemary Sutcliffe's Roman series but an OK read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quick simple review, 8 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
Very enjoyable book, great characters and great story! Couldn't put it down! Can't wait for the next book in the series :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow....what a read!, 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) (Paperback)
If you are in to historical fiction and you like the Roman era then this is the book for you. It is filled with action from the very start to the finish and very well written.....I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire)
Wounds of Honour: 1 (Empire) by Anthony Riches (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews