Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for Roman history fans
This book fits neatly into the Roman fictional history genre and has a well researched structure similar to Harry Sidebottom's books, whilst containing plenty of action reminiscent of Simon Scarrow.

The author has quite cleverly created a unique and subtle writing style where the reader learns more about Roman military life and social customs, but in a way...
Published on 6 Nov. 2009 by J. Cooper

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent cross between Rosemary Sutcliffe and Bernard Cornwell
Aiming for a cross between the old-fashioned adventures of Rosemary Sutcliffe's classic young adult adventure stories and the grittier approach of Bernard Cornwell's novels, Anthony Riches' Wounds of Honour gets off to a terrible start with an atrociously written opening chapter. It's not so much what happens as how it's described, which reads like a collection of every...
Published on 29 Feb. 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: Empire I (Paperback)
Ripping yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wounds of honour, 29 Jun. 2014
This reads really well and has many similarities to the work of Simon Scarrow and Harry Sidebottom.The story gallops along introducing the characters of what is an ongoing series.Most of them are very likeable although i think the badies lack the depth to be totally convincing. overall great fun if a little light weight.Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Drama on Hadrians Wall, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A cracking debut novel from military historian, Antony Riches, that surpasses Simon Scarrow's Cato series for tension and action.

Marcus Valerius has been sent by his father to the furthest Roman outpost. With his father declared a traitor Marcus has to hide out as a Centurion in a locally recruited Cohort. But he has to prove himself to his new Cohort and Century if he is to avoid falling on his sword, and so revenge his family. To aid him he has Rufius, a clever Roman Centurion of experience, and Dubnus, a strong local greatly respected by his peers.

This is a fast paced story of a Roman Centurion establishing his right to lead, fighting the local barbarians, and surviving, political intrigue.

I really enjoyed the book and will buy the next two in what should be an entertaining trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Empire - Worlds of Honour, 28 Sept. 2009
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Empire is a Roman historical novel rather remiscent of the Eagle series. It is the first part of a triology titled Wounds of Honour, which is great as I enjoyed every page and I am eager for the next book. I have no doubt they all will become a best sellers.
The year is 182 AD. The location is the north of Britain where Roman Legions are guarding Hadrians Wall.
Commodus is Emperor in Rome where plots abound and the hero Marcus a Roman Tribune is sent to Britain to protect him from his father's enemies. This is unsucessful and Marcus must adopt a new identity to survive.
The story then follows his fortune into history. One of the major uprising of the northern tribes is about to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast moving story and a great read, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: Empire I (Paperback)
I read this book in two days as it totally hooked me very early on.

The story of a Marcus, a soldier forced into exile on Hadrians wall due to political cruelty in Rome against his family. The story is about Marcus escaping execution, joining an auxiliary cohort and becoming accepted by his fellow officers. Running through this process of getting 'settled in' to the cohorts routine is the ever present danger of being found by 'Rome' and a battle with the northern tribes lead by Galgus.

The author had obviously researched the history of the period in detail which adds to the enjoyment. Roll on the second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRACKING GOOD READ, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
Ludovico Sforza (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The title relly says it all. This really is a cracking good read set during the reign of Commodus of 'Gladiator' fame, so we are talking late 180's or very early 190's A.D. here, and most of the action takes places around or, along, Hadrian's all. The story starts with a fight and rattles along at a fair old pace for the rest of the book. The characters are all interesting and believeable as is the story line if occassionally a 'little' contrived. It's also nice to have dialog that doen't sound like it's straight out of a US marine corps manual :-). Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
Matt the Reader (The Fens, England) - See all my reviews
Very good, in a similar vein to Simon Scarrow's 'Eagle' series (high praise indeed). Fast paced Roman action on and around Hadrian's Wall during the reign of Emperor Commodus (Gladiator), featuring battles, intrigue and treachery. A rattling good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounds of Honour: Empire I (Paperback)
At the moment there is a whole bucket full of "Historical Fiction" covering the roman Empire and a good thing too! Mr Riches offering is a good paced novel with good detail and believable action - the story is oddly familiar one not unlike Mr Scarrow's Macro and Cato novels, though set in a later period and with a strong focus on the Auxiliary Infantry of Roman Britain all mixed up with Imperial Intrigue. I've already got the second novel "Arrows of Fury" (Paperback) on pre-order and look forward to what I feel will be a Classic series of Novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wounds of Honour: Empire I
Wounds of Honour: Empire I by Anthony Riches (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews